We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back again and again!”
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would come back again and again!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Nothing shy of fabulous! We moved to this hotel after leaving a very disappointing hotel that was more expensive. This place is amazing and I could not believe the value! Very clean rooms! The maids vacuum the decks and then mop them! That's what should be done.
We had complimentary wine and water in our room as well.
Our room was not in the main building but in the newer building behind. It was so relaxing to have another pool over in our building with less people. We had a large bed that was so comfy. The bathroom was trendy and stocked with toiletries.
Breakfasts were great with an assortment of regular buffet items.
Walking distance to the 3 main beaches...10-30 min walk, depending which beach.
Reception staff were very helpful and cheery! (Thank you Jessica and the other girl with long brown hair).
This hotel made leaving the beach easy, but made leaving Lagos difficult! I will hopefully come back soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    90
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
288
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel and staying here has really raised the bar of our expectations for other hotels.

The rooms were very clean and serviced daily, the staff were very friendly and the environment of the hotel was great. It is a really charming place with good facilities, granted the swimming pool was a little cold (we did however travel in April) but we had use the of a small gym, a sauna and a steam room at no extra cost!

There was a very comfy lounge/bar area where you could have a drink or two. So we did! The bar was very fairly priced and it also offered the use of a computer that was hooked up to the internet, great for planning your days/trips out. The breakfast was fantastic and I dare to say that it had something for everyone. It seemed fresh and it was really tasty, it really set us both up for the day! When the receptionist found out that we had an early morning flight she ensure a breakfast pack was made up for us so we didn't go hungry, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

The location of the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town center, this wasn't a problem for us as there were great views and great photo opportunities along the way. I'm sure if you decided to get a taxi back to the hotel it wouldn't be more than a couple of euro's.

There are a couple of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel if you don't fancy a walk into town. I must recommend Pizzaria Pizzolino, great pizzas to eat in or takeaway, owned and run by such a funny and generous man.

The hotel is for adults only, which is great. We are in our mid 20's and thought the place would be a bit dated for our tastes, but it wasn't, we didn't feel out of place at all.

This was a fantastic holiday for us and I know if we were to come back to Lagos we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Perfect little 4 start hotel, nice pool (a touch cold but great when the weather is hot!) Most of the staff were very nice and willing to help when ever they could. Breakfast was good. Location of the hotel was perfect, 5 minute walk to the historical centre and 5 minutes to the beach. All in all, would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in a room of the second building. It was very spacious, cool and we had a large balcony. Bathroom was very clean and also enough space. Very comfortable bed.
Parking: If you don't find a space in front of the hotel, there are more in the back (between the hotels two buildings), but you can ask at the front desk and let them show you where to park.
The staff is very helpful, professional and friendly. And the breakfast was very good. It's Portugal, so you get sweets for breakfast (at least in the hotel you do), but you can also choose from different breads, jams and so on.

It's a 5 minutes walk to town, where you find good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbinistrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have just returned from this hotel. The hotel is one of the friendliest that we have stayed in. The girls on reception cannot do enough for you.
At breakfast there is plenty of choice for everyone. The bar area is very pleasant.The hotel itself is very clean and well situated for both beaches and bars.
We will certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swerviehervy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel so peaceful and relaxing. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, you felt instantly at home, the rooms comfortable, I travelled with my parents. The breakfast was substantial with plenty of choice such as cereals, fruit juice and fresh fruit salads to choose from. My parents room was on the ground floor which was a great help to them. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel to friends and family. There was a handy bus stop right outside the hotel with buses to take you into Lagos Town centre. Lagos itself is a lovely city not too big but packed with character, and lots of activities available, we went on a boat trip to the Grottos, well worth a vist but do opt for the small boats as you go right into the Grottos not like the large boats who anchor further out so would not get to see as much

Room Tip: If possible request a classic room in the main hotel complex as these rooms have the Azulejo tiles a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Romantic hotel with a great service.
Standard room is big enough with balcony, seats and fridge
Small but clean swimming pool with approx, 10 free sunbeds
Breakfastbuffet was okay but with lots of cakes, chese cake and chocolate cake for breakfast?
Bar for drinks but without any snacks. Beach and old town are 10minutes away
Taxi at night from old town to hotel only € 4.10

Room Tip: Take a poolview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
16.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Property: Dom Manuel Hotel
Address: Lote 37 Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D'Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing