We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location!”
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in March. The front desk staff were so very helpful in planning our time in Lagos and area. The location is fantastic, being so close to the beach and the old town, yet still in a quiet neighbourhood. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had lots of selection and was nicely presented. The garden, although small, adds a nice touch. In March it was too cool to use the pool. We trusted TripAdvisor and it worked out well for us. We would stay again gladly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustmeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went back and forth on this rating, but in the end the service won us over. It was a great location with a quick walk to the beach and bars, but it was far enough away that it was quiet and safe. We were the youngest couple staying there by far (not a pro or a con. Just an observation), and we didn't utilize the hotel as much as other people. We stayed there and had breakfast there and a drink, but for the most part, we went to the beach instead of the pool. Also, we stayed in the newer building in the back.

Pros:

- Location
- 2 pools so it's not crowded
- Incredibly friendly staff
- Inexpensive drinks
- Good breakfast (I am a vegetarian and they had hard-boiled eggs. I appreciate the protein which is rare on breakfast buffets in Portugal)
- They made us delicious bagged lunches for the bus to Sevilla when we left. It was so nice!

Cons:

- The room was tiny and the shower was tinier with no shelves in it. (In the newer part in the back)
- Getting in and out of the second building was a pain and took a while to figure out- and there is NO phone in the room, so if you are having trouble figuring out how to get in and out, you can't call the front desk. You are just kind of stuck until you try something that works.
- The desk isn't staffed 24/7. If you have an early travel schedule, you are pretty screwed. Plus, like I said, there are no phones in the rooms. So there is no way to call a cab. Don't leave early if you need transportation
- There are a lot of stairs and no elevator. Carrying a heavy suitcase up all those stairs after traveling all day is not any fun.
- The rooms are not sound-proof. We could hear every conversation had in the room next to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarmstrong0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just spent 8 nights at this lovely hotel. Good location, walking distance to everything. Room was extremely clean. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They had good restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was great, make sure to sample the delicious homemade cake (different one each day). I would also highly recommend getting a massage, one of the best I've ever had and really good value at 40 euro for 1.5hrs.

Room Tip: Top floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in the annexe just over the road from the main building, for 7 nights. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were outstanding. The room I had was large and comfortable with access to small balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was buffet style and could get a little busy in the breakfast room, but was substantial with plenty of choice. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner but there are restaurants within a few minutes walk. The old town, where there are many snack bars, restaurants and bars, is about a 15 minutes stroll away. Nothing really to criticise - it's a well run, reasonably priced, establishment which provides a comfortable base from which to explore the town and the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erictho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a hard one as all the things the other reviews say are true. This hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly. I guess my issues are two fold. Firstly we ended up staying in a ground floor room in the modern annex across the road this does not have the charm and features of the main building. The room was small with no surface space to put sun cream, a hairbrush, your camera etc, this got really annoying after a while. There is also no space between your patio and the area around the pool so absolutely no privacy. A concrete and tile structure means you hear every door that closes and every case that moves... The second issue is value for money for all of the above reasons the new building does not represent good value for money. I can't comment on the main building, only tip is check when you book precisely which room you have been allocated in which building.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank holidaygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 4 days in this superb hotel. What a find. We were greeted by Jessica who had superb customer service. It is no wonder that this hotel has been voted the 7th best in the whole of Portugal. We stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the swimming pool.

Breakfast was superb with a massive variety to cater for everybody's needs. You could eat inside or outside in the warmth of the morning sun. Breakfast was between 8am and 11am.

If you are looking for a small establishment with a wonderful ambience then look no further. A wonderful find and it is simply impossible to find fault with anything

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are very quiet and all are fitted with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AceClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This our second visit to this hotel and won't be our last. The staff are so friendly and accommodating nothing is too much trouble. All the rooms are gorgeous and spotlessly clean. We stayed in the main building last year and had a modern room this year and it was just as nice. The breakfasts are to die for and I have to stop myself from eating too many cakes!! Location is perfect as its just a 10 minute walk to city centre and very close to nice beaches. Love Lagos and this hotel makes the holiday :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bluedoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Lote 37 Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D'Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £50 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing