We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel on great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel on great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 night at the hotel. Upon arrival we felt welcome right away. Check in very smooth and friendly.

The staff are very friendly and always able and willing to help, make reservations and give their advice.

Rooms are spacey and the bed is nice. We had the room with pool view. Everything we needed was there.

The location was perfect for us. Although the hotel has no parking of its own we had no issues finding parking space for our car. About 6 min walk to the historic centre (lost of bars, restaurants, etc). To the beaches ( praia don ana in particular) are about a 6-10 minute walk away.

Breakfast was always very good!

Special thanks to jessica who was always willing to answer our questions with a smile!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank marv313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    87
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
268
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a lovely hotel. We booked via LowCostHolidays.com and the one niggle was that we were under the impression we had booked one of the 'classic' rooms rather than the 'standard' rooms. When we arrived we were shown to a standard room, and whilst I think the room (and particularly the bathroom which was beautiful) was very nice, it wasn't quite what we had expected when we booked in terms of décor. So if you do go through a site like that, be sure to look at the photos on the hotel's site too to check what room type you are getting. The standard rooms also have a different pool, although you are still allowed to use the pool for the classic rooms if you wish.
The bonus of having a standard room for us was that it was very quiet because it was out of school holidays, so we were pretty much the only people using our pool. The busiest day was in fact our arrival day, with 2 other couples. It was lovely to be able to walk out of your own French doors from the bedroom, to your own little seating area (complete with small drying area for towels etc which was handy) and then straight into the pool. Once we had relaxed into having the room, we were quite happy there.
The breakfast spread was particularly good; I partook of the yogurts, bread with cheese and fruit, and my partner sampled the eggs and very crispy bacon which he said was fantastic. It was plentiful and no one made you feel rushed. We sat outside under a pretty pergola each morning to eat which was very picturesque. On our last evening there we also sampled cocktails at the bar - I can definitely recommend the Long Island Ice Tea as one of the best I have had.
We asked the hotel receptionist for restaurant recommendations and both were fantastic. It is worth asking as they will have the local knowledge to prevent you from falling into any tourist traps. She also recommended a walking route around the Old Town, which was stunning at twilight when the heat is less overbearing.
In terms of location the place cannot be beaten. Our transfer from Faro took little over 1.5 hours and the nearest beach was a 5-10 minute stroll. The main beach is a little further, but worth the trek. For restaurants and bars, again about 5-10 minutes. The main feature of this hotel was that it felt incredibly calming and quiet, which was just what was needed.
One tip for the reception staff: We never knew whether the hotel has WiFi and if so whether we'd need to pay for it? For 3 nights this wasn't an issue but we didn't have time to go and find out - please can you ensure you include that information when you welcome guests.

Room Tip: Check whether you have a classic or standard room before you arrive ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie_Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Was a very pleasant stay and breakfast was good, the hotel is located in close proximity to some great beaches and not far from the Lagos centre. The staff are amazing and very helpful. The only one down side was the balcony wasn't really overlooking anything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trearddur Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a one night stay last week - as soon as we arrived, we regretted not booking a longer stay. Lovely clean room, bed really comfortable. Hotel in a quiet part of the town but easy to walk into the main old town area for bars etc.
Can't thank Bernadette at reception enough for her help in organising a car for us to hire.. she went out of her way to assist us with this, also providing train timetable information etc. She also makes a fantastic mojito!!! Would really recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Me and my partner stayed for 10 nights and could not fault this hotel at all, on arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to out room, the room was very big, with fridge, safe, hair dryer, kettle to make yourself tea. We were on the ground floor and our balcony area had 2 sun beds, seating area etc, the other door in the room lead out to a small private pool which was quiet with plenty of sunbeds. You can hire towels from reception for 10 euros if needed. Rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels etc.
You get free wifi aswell.
The breakfast had lots to choose from and you could eat as much as u like.
The beach is about a 10 min walk from the hotel and the main town is about the same distance, Lagos has lots of lovely restaurants to eat at and bars etc.
On leaving the hotel we had a late flight so you can have a shower in the reception area and they supply you with a clean towel and shower gel.

The staff at the hotel were so helpful with everything and I would recommend this hotel to anybody and we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank access1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of June. It was perfect place for a young couple who wanted to relax but it is also close enough to the beaches and the centre of town if you want to get out and about. We stayed in a deluxe double that was in the more modern villa across the road behind the main hotel. It had it's own separate pool, everything was very new and modern. We stayed for 5 night but would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Second time we have stayed here. When we arrived we were booked in by Bernadette who served us a drink as it was very hot and were told it was on the house.
We had a classic room over looking the pool in the old part of the hotel. Plenty of room and balcony.
The breakfast in the morning is very good. Plenty of selection for everyone.
The location of the hotel was very good for us, not too far from the beaches or the town and bars.
Good places to eat is the Norte Onde. Big portions and very reasonably priced. The terrace next to the fish market or the local bar at the bottom of the hill just to the left of the roundabout facing you. They do an excellent steak on the stone.
We would have no hesitation of going back to the Dom Manuel again. Jessica , Oksana and Bernadette who work in reception are all very helpful along with the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a classic room over looking pool in Dom Manuel 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swerviehervy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#12 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Property: Dom Manuel Hotel
Address: Rua Gago Coutinho, Lote 37 | Vila Praia D'Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing