We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but noise an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 1 October 2013

You cannot fault the location of the hotel in Lagos and its cleanliness is first class, staff are also very helpful. However, it does show you sun loungers on each of the balconies on their website - there are no loungers on any balconies. It also states that breakfast is served on the roof terrace - this is not the case, it is served in the bar area which is very congested and warm - a choice of even 2 hot items would be an improvement.

The doors of the rooms are made of thin wood and therefore do not act as a sound buffer to the noise in the hallways which are like echo chambers and make even the slightest noise amplified.

These are all issues which could be addressed very easily and quite frankly put me off staying in the hotel again despite its good points. Will be visiting Lagos again however as it is a lovely town.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get a view across the water
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhotscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear redhotscooby,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a review! Sorry to hear that you did not get a room with sun loungers. The loungers only fit on the balconies of the second floor rooms on the south side of the building, I apologize for the confusion!

As for breakfast, we are moving the service up to the roof-deck next year when the weather permits. If it rains, the breakfast will be at the bar. Hopefully we will see you again but if not, enjoy Lagos next time you visit!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

After a 9 hr delay from Gatwick, yes 9 hrs! I arrived at the Carvi and was met by a very warm welcome by reception (quick and very efficient), my room was very clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and a gorgeous view....throughout my stay I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and obliging and all gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble....unfortunately my stay was for only 4 nights but I will definitely return....by the way the little train that stops outside the hotel every hour is brilliant should you not feel like walking into Lagos.

Room Tip: Side seaview rooms are fab
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear cat52,

Glad to hear that we were able to erase the poor start to your holiday! See you next time!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very nice hotel right in front of the beautiful beach of Dona Ana. It is a great choice to spend
a few days Lagos. There is a very nice atmosphere, friendly staff and clean rooms. Wifi at the lobby and a pool at the terrace with a bar to have a nice snack.

You will not regret, and i would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear joseluisvilaonieva,

Thank you for the review! I am glad to hear that you had a good time and we hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location :
- A one to two minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches, Dona Ana
- A 10-15 minute walk to the city center
Beach:
- Beach was beautiful but crowded , can be difficult to find a spot
Pool
- water cold but nice place to relax - snack bar on the top with beer + snacks
Meals:
- Free breakfast was awful, hardly any selection - not many nutritious options
Rooms:
- Basic bed, bathroom + shower
- balcony
Staff:
- helpful

Overall, I would recommend Carvi beach hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Alexia K,

Thank you for such a great informational review! Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

had a great holiday ((September 2013). Staff great, rooms very clean but could do with a mirror in as there was only one in the bathroom not very safe for hairdryers etc. Excellent breakfast but could be in a better place than the bar, it got very noisy when we had a group of young students for the weekend! Having said that a great holiday and we found the "train" that runs through Lagos ( if you dont fancy the walk!))it also goes to other beaches. We also found some good places to eat within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms dont get any sun but you do get a good nights sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear val l,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! I am glad to hear that we were able to be a part of a great holiday. Breakfast next year will once again be served on the roof-deck, weather permitting of course, so hopefully we will see you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Brilliant location short stroll to Lagos. Breakfast ok but chaos as room to small by far, crowded couldn't get to food, hot and noisy, the staff though worked very hard under trying circumstances. Our 2nd room ( asked for move from terrible room on high floor) had a large balcony with sunbeds but no chairs or table either in or out also no shade (a parasol would have been nice) and not private, consequentially we didn't much use it. The gym was very disappointing. The hotel staff though were always very helpful day or night. Pool on roof would benefit from some shade too. Beach lovely but very busy, surrounding area also lovely, countless brilliant restaurants in Lagos. Can walk to lots of places, also hired bikes and caught local buses, no car needed. A medium hotel, clean, comfortable, great location. Did have a brilliant holiday though points made are minor and didn't spoil things

Room Tip: higher rooms are very (and I mean very!) small, we swapped to 2nd floor much bigger and looked more...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 671Diane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear 671Diane29,

Hope you had a safe trip home and thank you for leaving us some great comments! Our staff is always very happy to hear that they made a guest's stay better so I will surely pass along your message.

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have been working with the Carvi Hotel for a good 5 years now, and I must say, it is the perfect place to stay!! 2 minute walk away from what has been voted as one of the best beaches in the world, as well as only a 20 minute walk into the center of town.

The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable, good spread for breakfast. and in no time at all you can be down at beautiful Praia Dona Ana (Beach) and when you get tired you can take advantage of the roof top terrace swimming pool, which has breathtaking sea view.

Not only this, the staff are very friendly and will help you with what ever you need 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benninojets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear benninojets,

Thank you for the lovely review! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.6 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#7 of 52 in Lagos
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Address: Alameda Dr. Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £46 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing