We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. Carvi Beach was the third one and we stayed one night September 30th 2013. Price: 60 Euros with breakfast. Pros: big huge room, bathroom ok, shower very good, free easy parking, TV with English and French channels, good breakfast. Cons: no Internet Wi-Fi in the room we have to go in the lobby, far from downtown you need a car to go. We recommend that hotel if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear milorr,

Glad you enjoyed your time in Portugal and thank you for the great comments! If you do happen to return to Portugal, we will have Wi-Fi in all the rooms starting next year!

Hope to see you again,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    265
    107
    33
    20
See reviews for
82
384
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Carvi for three nights in the middle of our two week trip to Spain and Portugal. Since we were staying towards the end of October (and the off season) we didn't know what to expect; but what a wonderful experience! Everything at this hotel was open! The pool...the pool bar...the terrace and the hotel bar. The staff was very friendly and always available to answer any question. We took advantage of renting the in-room safe for 2 euro a day. It was very secure. Towel rental was also an added bonus. The towels were very big and thick and better than we expected to receive. Breakfast was great. Every day came with a different assortment of fresh fruit, sweet breads, meats and cheeses.

As for its location, the Carvi is one step ahead of its competition; as it is situated on a cliff side beach in Lagos. This type of seaside location is hard to come by in Lagos. We paid a few extra euros for a sea view balcony and were glad we did. When you check in I'd recommend asking for the 3rd or 4th floor, because those rooms have the best views. We were originally given a key for a room on the first floor and we asked if there was anything available on a higher floor and she quickly gave us a different key. She also said that it was easy for her to do that because it was the off season and there were plently of vacant rooms. As for the room, the beds were very soft and comfortable. The size of the room was perfect for two adults. The bathroom had great water pressure and lots of hot water in the shower. The room was simply decorated, but very clean and modern looking.

Parking was free and available on a first come first serve basis. We always had a spot (with about 20 spots left over), however I could imagine parking to be a bit difficult in the high season when beach goers start competing for spots. We always left the car at the hotel and walked into town. It was about 20 minutes to the commercial area and 30 minutes to the marina.

This hotel surpassed our expectations and we would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Lagos!


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mad880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear mad880,

Wow thank you for such a great and comprehensive review! Glad to hear that we were able to help everything go perfectly. Hopefully you make it back to Portugal to stay with us again. We are going to being serving breakfast on the rooftop instead of the dining room next year! Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

So close to the beach. Perfect view! Hotel has a pool and bar and free breakfast! Rooms were kept clean everyday. Staff are there 24/7 when ever you need them and very informative. Not too far from the city centre but taxis were around 4 euros if you are in a hurry.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thanu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Thanu89,

I'm happy to hear that we made your weekend trip easy and fun! Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a superb week in April we returned for a 10 day break in early October. We managed to secure the same room - 305. On entry, we were amazed to find a gift of a beautiful bottle of red wine, from Victor, the manager. The service at this hotel continued in this vein, with a special mention for Monica at the pool bar. if you ask for it - she'll get it !!.
The Carvi is now a permanent fixture in our holiday calender and we'll be back next year.

Thanks for that great welcoming gesture, Victor, we hope to meet you on our next visit

Room Tip: Always choose the front rooms in the hotel, 305 is a favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILSINHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear WILSINHO,

Glad to hear you had another great time! We will definitely have to meet on your next visit. It's great to hear that not only, Carvi, but also Portugal has been good to you!

See you next year,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This has got to be the best location in Lagos. 50m from a beautiful beach and although about 1km walk into town the hotels there are actually further from the beaches.Staff extremely friendly and helpful, we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5p1d3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear 5p1d3r,

Wow thank you for the great review! We certainly won't be moving anywhere so we hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel was booked by our small tour group company - tours comprise a maximum of 12 people. We were there two nights, and were very comfortable. Our room was clean, bright and spacious. The included breakfast had good variety of options, the food fresh and tasty.

The hotel overlooks a beach if that's your interest, and is a pleasant 10-15 mins walk from the centre of Lagos.

Our only complaint was the wi-fi. It was not available in the rooms, and was flakey in the foyer unless you sat in the dark corner opposite the reception desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sue T,

Thank you for the lovely comments! In regards to the Wi-Fi, we are working on adding more router's throughout the building in order to improve the signal strength. This upcoming year, every room will be able to access our Wi-Fi without issue.

Hope to see you again!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We chose this hotel strictly on the location near the beaches. The hotel itself was clean but was lacking. There was no available internet in the rooms and even in the lobby it was quite slow. Be sure to get a room on the 2nd floor or higher.. the 1st floor is really the basement. Breakfast in the morning was just okay. The staff however, were very friendly and gave excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area. Also, parking is available on site for free. The hotel is what it is.. a basic hotel with a 1 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Greg B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some comments! I hope you enjoyed your time with us; it does seem that we met, but did not exceed your expectations. We are working very diligently to improve several parts of our property, some of which you did touch on. Next year the breakfast will be on our roof-deck and internet will be available in the rooms!

Hope to see you again in order to amaze you!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Property: Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Address: Alameda Dr. Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing