We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly staff, ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, with a special mention for Francisco the night porter. The rooms were clean and the breakfast a self-service continental style, with nice cooked meats, breads, coffee and fresh fruit. There was a rooftop pool which was a bit cool in September but I would imagine perfect in the summer.

Two of us went surfing and two golfing and there was plenty of both within short drives if hotel carvi. The beach literally at the end of the road was picturesque. Shame about the derelict hotel next door but there's nothing they can do about that.

I loved Lagos and plan to return and for the price I wouldn't look any further than Hotel Carvi.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BoroboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear BoroboyG,

Glad to hear you had a great stay with us! I will pass along your comments to Francisco; I'm sure he would love to hear that he made your stay better!

Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    265
    107
    33
    20
See reviews for
82
385
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This beach hotel is very close to the ocean and you should request a room with a sea view otherwise the back of the hotel is not a view at all. It’s a very plain hotel, but the staff are friendly. The only drawback with the room is the sand, and being a beach hotel I understand that can be a problem. They should consider putting a broom and dustpan in the room because you don’t know how much sand is hidden inside your swimsuit until you take it off ☺

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town where all the restaurants are and it’s not a scenic route by any means. The economic troubles for this town are visible with many hotels and restaurants closed for business, but inside the town walls is where all the action is.

The beach near the hotel is wonderful and has little inlets and caves and depending upon the tides you can either walk to or take a quick swim around.

Across from the stairs to the beach is a slippery slope to the bluffs that run along the edge overlooking the ocean. This is too steep and do not attempt it, there is an easier and safer way. Walk back towards the hotel and before you get to the traffic circle, on your left, beside the white chain link fence is a path, very easy to walk and many, many trails that will take you along the coast to another beach as well as the lighthouse on the point. If you like to hike it is an easy walk and the views are wonderful, I highly recommend it.

Along the way you’ll come to another beach with a huge staircase that goes down to the water, but the real treat is the restaurant before you go down the stairs. Wonderful seafood and the staff is busy, busy serving all the vacationers. The grilled fish was wonderful and the beer was tasty too.

Back on the trail and just before the lighthouse is another stairway down to the water where you can hire a boat for 12 euros a person to take you on a half an hour trip to the caves and grottos along the cliff side. This is a great way to take photos of the shoreline and much easier and safer, than maneuvering a kayak in the surf.

This was one of my most favourite days on our trip. Don’t forget the sunscreen!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AppleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cheryl F,

Thank you for the great review! It certainly sounds like you explored all of what Lagos has to offer! The views along the hiking trails are definitely amazing, I believe all our guests should give hiking a shot!

Hope to see you again,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The best things about the hotel : location next to beautiful beach, in quiet residential area close to some good Portuguese restaurants (Paraiso and O Briol my favourites), the helpful and friendly reception staff, the roof top terrace (sadly underused during my visit in October) the cleanliness of the hotel - it was a joy to come back to our ultra clean and tidy room at the end of the day.
Could do better: breakfast area very cramped (though I understand that this will move to rooftop terrace next year), decide whether hotel is boutique or 3 star – for example, in bedroom trendy industrial pendant lights but no mirror above socket for hair dryer (not provided), in bathroom trendy shower head but no bathroom storage shelf for toiletries and no sink plug provided (except on request), bar/breakfast area a mixture of Moorish lighting/style and modern lighting/style – should be one or the other, breakfast a bit repetitive but there was always a good choice of fresh fruit.
It is a bit of a walk into town (and especially back) and out of season the bus back to the hotel stops running fairly early in the evening. You can walk via the old town which takes about 20-30 minutes depending on which part you are going to or via the main road following the coast and river.
On a wet morning we took the train to Portimao – there is a big shopping centre called Aqua not far from the station with Primark, H & M etc. We also took local buses to Praia de Luz, Burgau and the zoo which are good value especially the one day tickets. If you like walking there are walks from Praia de Luz to Burgau, Salema and back towards Lagos. Also the boardwalk at Alvor. Sagres and Cabao St Vicente well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we had a 'garden view' looking out onto a bird of paradise plant and orange tree. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear SarahNorthumberland,

Thank you for the great review! We love reading comments that inform future travelers of the activities outside the hotel!

We are very glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable even though you had a "wet" day instead of a sunny day. We are always looking for ways to make our property better for our guests so thank you so much for your "could do better" section. These ideas do not go unread so they are greatly appreciated.

Hope to see you again!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

First of all the staff are just excellent, happy, friendly and very helpful. We stayed in October as the season was winding down but at no time did we feel the staff lacking. So ten out of ten for them.
We had a sea-view room (none of the rooms actually face the sea square on but the view was still delightful.) The room was minimalist and being on the fourth floor the balcony was small. I saw other rooms that were much larger and had excellent sized balconies so try to book one there.

As others have said the location is ideal for Praia dona Ana, town is a pleasant short walk to town (good exercise) and taxis are cheap (4 euros) back up the hill after a heavy meal at night.
There is also a bus service and the little "train" which goes to town. Both stop outside the hotel.

If you really can't do without internet then it definitely is possible to get it even on the fourth floor and there are a few non-Portuguese TV channels.

aw I mentioned we travlled towards the end of season when the hotel was far from full. perhaos this is the reason we fiound the bar area to be rather soul-less. That was about the only disapointment in the whole stay.

Thanks to all who made this a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davesurrey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear davesurrey9999,

Thank you for the lovely comments and hope you had a safe trip home!

Our staff is always very happy to hear when they make guests stay's better so I will definitely pass along the message for you.

Please do return to us in the summer for a much more lively bar area! As for the larger balconies...request a room on the second floor in the front of the building; those rooms have the elongated balconies!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I will start by saying, the pictures are a lot better than the actual hotel, however it was good. The staff are friendly and helpful, one even recommended that their hotel transfers are 2 expensive.. Breakfast is a hit, but you can't really go wrong with continental(I love it). People say wi-fi is unavailable in rooms, but we got it in our room(thanks) and we were 3rd floor up. Definitely get the sea view as it is well worth the little extra! However here is the problems... 1. On our last day we were sat in the lobby waiting for a taxi, only to hear a whole conversation of the room cleaner to the receptionist about how much of a state one of the rooms is always left, and that she found 10 euros and kept it and the day before she found 20 euros and kept it(my golly I was glad it was my last day)! No offence but it's your job to clean guests room, not moan about having to clean them and stealing their well earned cash!! And 2. We had ordered sandwiches and espressos and ate the on the roof top terrace on our second day there, and to our dismay we went to sit there on our last day for a bit and they hadn't even cleaned our plates(probably be there now if you want to check). 3. The bartender was having a chat and drinking an espresso well I waited at the bar to be served for 10 minutes, gave up and got my bf to do it....gr.

I would have definitely come back and stayed again, but the cleaners/receptionist made me think twice.

Room Tip: Sea view, 301 gets wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megmog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello Megmog88,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us some comments about your stay.

First off, I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in Lagos! The weather and view of the sea certainly make for a great beach vacation.

As for the conversation among the housekeepers, I am a very surprised to be hearing this because we have never had a single complaint regarding theft of money. I apologize if what you may have heard made you uncomfortable but I assure you we take security very seriously and theft is not accepted.

Hope to see you again if you decide to visit Portugal!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. Carvi Beach was the third one and we stayed one night September 30th 2013. Price: 60 Euros with breakfast. Pros: big huge room, bathroom ok, shower very good, free easy parking, TV with English and French channels, good breakfast. Cons: no Internet Wi-Fi in the room we have to go in the lobby, far from downtown you need a car to go. We recommend that hotel if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear milorr,

Glad you enjoyed your time in Portugal and thank you for the great comments! If you do happen to return to Portugal, we will have Wi-Fi in all the rooms starting next year!

Hope to see you again,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Carvi for three nights in the middle of our two week trip to Spain and Portugal. Since we were staying towards the end of October (and the off season) we didn't know what to expect; but what a wonderful experience! Everything at this hotel was open! The pool...the pool bar...the terrace and the hotel bar. The staff was very friendly and always available to answer any question. We took advantage of renting the in-room safe for 2 euro a day. It was very secure. Towel rental was also an added bonus. The towels were very big and thick and better than we expected to receive. Breakfast was great. Every day came with a different assortment of fresh fruit, sweet breads, meats and cheeses.

As for its location, the Carvi is one step ahead of its competition; as it is situated on a cliff side beach in Lagos. This type of seaside location is hard to come by in Lagos. We paid a few extra euros for a sea view balcony and were glad we did. When you check in I'd recommend asking for the 3rd or 4th floor, because those rooms have the best views. We were originally given a key for a room on the first floor and we asked if there was anything available on a higher floor and she quickly gave us a different key. She also said that it was easy for her to do that because it was the off season and there were plently of vacant rooms. As for the room, the beds were very soft and comfortable. The size of the room was perfect for two adults. The bathroom had great water pressure and lots of hot water in the shower. The room was simply decorated, but very clean and modern looking.

Parking was free and available on a first come first serve basis. We always had a spot (with about 20 spots left over), however I could imagine parking to be a bit difficult in the high season when beach goers start competing for spots. We always left the car at the hotel and walked into town. It was about 20 minutes to the commercial area and 30 minutes to the marina.

This hotel surpassed our expectations and we would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Lagos!


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mad880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear mad880,

Wow thank you for such a great and comprehensive review! Glad to hear that we were able to help everything go perfectly. Hopefully you make it back to Portugal to stay with us again. We are going to being serving breakfast on the rooftop instead of the dining room next year! Hope you had a safe trip home!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Property: Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Address: Alameda Dr. Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing