We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 in 1: hotel + beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvi Hotel Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 in 1: hotel + beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Carvi in May 2014 with my wife and daughter (in separate room) and that was really fantastic having Praia Dona Ana beach just near the hotel. The Lagos downtown is in 15 minutes walk. The staff was attentive and very friendly, rooms were clean, breakfasts were good, free wi-fi operated everywhere. The only disadvantages were too cold water (IMHO) in a roof top pool and absence of a table in the room (we had a table at a balcony). The hotel does not have its restaurant so we had to make some efforts to move our bodies for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vserge1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear vserge1960,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write us a review. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us! I do apologize about the pool. Unfortunately it is not heated so in the early months it can be a bit chilly when the sun is not hitting it all day.

Hope you had a safe trip home!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    259
    103
    33
    20
See reviews for
81
372
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic for the price. The buffet breakfast had a great selection every day (eggs, meats, cheese, breads, cake, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, sausages) and the staff were very friendly. They were happy to help with booking trips and lent us a beach sun shade for free. The roof top pool is lovely and there are a few communal areas to relax in and out of the sun. We were initially a little disappointed by the 'garden' as we were in a garden view room, but soon grew to like the privacy and quietness that it offered, as well as the afternoon/ evening sun. The location is perfect for the beach, and it's only a short walk into town to the bars and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS60girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear RS60girl,

Thank you for the lovely review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast service; we have worked very hard on it!

See you again soon!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is located just outside downtown Lagos, an easy 10 minute walk into town. If you are visiting for the beach, Carvi Hotel is on the best beach presumably along the coast - Dona Ana. Just at the end of the street are the steps down.

The hotel itself was clearly recently updated. The room was nice, freshly painted, clean and with a balcony - and at a great price, we were very pleased. There was a blow dryer in the room. Our AC didn't really work which for the time of year didn't matter and I am sure I could have called the front desk and had them look into it.

Front desk staff was very friendly. Spoke English. Helped book a kayak tour in town and provided other suggestions such as walks to do and other sites to see in town.

The roof top pool was nice. It was pretty cold but we were there just before the main summer heat so no need for a heated pool and once in, your still cold but refreshing. They offer a mini rooftop bar.

They also have a bar downstairs which is open fairly late at night. We didn't order a drink but there were others staying at the hotel who took advantage. They also had a pool table in there.

Breakfast was included. Typical breakfast: Bread, cheeses, meats, eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee. The breakfast room was nice, bright and clean - same area as the bar. Friendly attentive serving staff to help with the clearing tables or if running low on items.

Wifi in the hotel was also really good.

Only unfortunate thing isn't about the hotel but the abandoned building next to it. Nothing the hotel can do about it.

All in all, we absolutely would stay here again. If staying in Lagos for the beach, suggest staying here and walking into town - rather than stay in town and walk here.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Not sure if they all have one - but we had a nice view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear GoGlobalTravel,

Thanks for taking a few minutes to leave us a review! It seems like everything went right during your time in Lagos! You got some great pictures of the hotel & beach!

Hope to see you again!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We first stayed at Carvi in May 2012 and returned again for a May 2014 break. It was even better this time!

The hotel has made a number of improvements which we noticed and appreciated, these included expanding the breakfast selection (fresh breads, cake, meat, cheese, scrambled and boiled eggs and lovely fresh fruit as well as cereals) and moving the breakfast area into a lighter and more spacious part of the hotel.

In our 2012 trip, we stayed in a land room view which we didnt mind as they had lovely flowers outside. This time we stayed on the first floor right at the end of the hotel closest to the beach so we had a bit of a sea view which was lovely. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and all linen and towels replaced.

The hotel staff are really lovely and friendly. Maria Jose and Angela on the front desk were especially helpful and helped us plan trips out, telling us the cheapest options which was much appreciated. The hotel is right next to Dona Ana beach which is a lovely beach with a beach cafe that is second to none (the house squid is superb).

It is about a 5-10 minute walk to a Spar which sells everything you need and has a laundrette, hairdressers and salon inside which would be handy for longer stays. It is then another 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Lagos which we think is beautiful - winding streets with a mixture of traditional and tourist shops that sell some great stuff. We never used the local taxis as we enjoyed the walk but I think taxi fares are very reasonable there.

Prices in general are very reasonable in Lagos - a taxi to the zoo was about 13 euros each way. Restaurants varied in price but we usually paid under 40 euros for 2 people having drinks, starters and sometimes dessert on top of a main meal. Food in Lagos is wonderful, the fresh fish dishes are the best. Our favourite restaurants were Imperio do Mar (their Tapas menu is especially good value for money) and A Petisqueira Dois Irmaos which served the best steak my boyfriend had ever eaten.

All in all, another great holiday. The hotel is a great base - the only slight complaint we had is that other hotel guests tended to make quite a lot of noise at night and the layout and nature of the hotel doors meant that it could get quite noisy. However, as it was low season, the hotel wasn't too busy so this problem was solved with earplugs and wasn't the fault of the hotel. We already want to go back and will most likely stay at this hotel again as for the price, the standard of service, cleanliness and location is completely worth it :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teixeira0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Teixeira0709,

Wow! Thank you for being such great and loyal guests! I am so happy to hear that our staff was so good to you; I will definitely be passing along your comments.

Thank you for noticing our improvements! Hopefully we see you again and you notice even MORE improvements!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel didn't impress me from the outside, it looks very average and worn. Once inside it felt very welcoming and clean. Reception ladies were very attentive and nice, spoke perfect English and nothing was too much trouble. Our room on the first floor was very basic and small but clean, the balcony was huge and sunny with plastic table and a set of chairs. Lack of minibar was a bit annoying as there was nowhere to keep bottles of water or cold snacks. We have experienced a minor problem with hot water but it was all dealt efficiently. We were offered another room on the higher floor while having problems with our shower, refused it as although it was described as same standard as ours, the second room looked very old and tired. I guess then it's down to luck wether you receive a nice room or not. They also have only few rooms with double beds so if you want one don't forget to request it prior arrival. It's always more comfortable rather than sleeping on two beds pushed together. Another downside of the room was lack of hooks or additional furniture. It literally consisted of two bedside tables, a drawer, armchair and obviously the bed (squeaky by the way ;) ). Housekeeping ladies were doing their job well, could not fault anything regarding cleaning. The whole hotel is very tidy. Rooftop swimming pool was great and empty most of times, water was very cold and it seemed to be always a bit windy in there. Views from the pool area are amazing, there's a little snack/beer bar few steps down that serves beverages, burgers and stuff so easy to get lazy. Breakfast was very limited and boring but their pastries were delicious. Not many healthy options though and I'd say you'd be bored with a choice after third day. Night bar was dead, no atmosphere during evenings/ nights so went there not once and didn't bother. Gym area was out of order at the time we were there but one of the ladies from the reception let us in few times to work on whatever was there (not much and most of stuff not working). If you're active I recommend having a jog along the promenade and harbour area or visiting Shinobi Academy that is located 5 min walk from there.
Hotel is located 1 min walk from a stunning beach where you can take a boat to go around the cliffs (€12 pp), it's a 15 min walk to the centre of Lagos that is full of restaurants and bars. Taxis are fairly cheap and there's also a shuffle bus available (didn't use it so can't tell much). If you go up the road at the roundabout in front of the hotel you'll get to the top of the cliffs, very relaxing and calm. In general hotel was very quiet, perfect for couples and people looking for a noise free time. Not sure if I would recommend it to families as I didn't see much of stuff for kids but you'd have to double check it yourself. This hotel is a strong 3 stars, good value for money. Nothing fancy but if you're looking for a budget holiday stay and don't mind the above downsides then it may he for you. Wherever you go, enjoy it :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kivunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kivunia,

Thank you for such an extensive review of our hotel! I am happy to hear that everything was clean and in order during your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and warm hospitality to every guest so it makes us happy to read the results!

Although it does seem your stay was a good one, we will take your suggestions (mini-bar, hooks, etc.) into account as we are always looking for ways to improve our property. Reviews such as your help us accomplish that so thank you!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks Angela for the great service, and recommendations of the local restaurant. i have requested the best seaview room, which they managed to give me the best one. This hotel is very clean and the bed is very comfortable. Our room get clean everyday. The breakfast is lacking, but it is good enough for the start of your day. The pool is lovely. We recommend to hire a car, as they have free parking. The location of the hotel is not too far. For a 3 star hotel, their service is excellent compare to those 4 or 5 star, they are willing to help you at their best. me and my boyfriend had a great time there, and beautiful Lagos.....WE WILL BE BACK CARVI.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beanie9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear beanie9394,

Thank you so much for the review! I am so glad to hear that our staff was willing and able to help you whenever you needed! I will certainly pass along your review to Angela; I'm sure it will put a smile on her face!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed in Carvi Hotel in Lagos on a number of occasions and each time our stay exceeded our expectations. This hotel feels like home. All staff members are incredibly helpful and kind, and will always greet you with a smile. They will make your stay as enjoyable as possible and will advise you which magical corners of Algarve to visit if you wish to explore the surroundings of Lagos. Silvia is absolutely phenomenal! She is always smiling and will always do everything in her power to make your stay as smooth as possible. Silvia, the manager, is also amazing, as are other people working in the reception area, Angela, Maria, Fabio and Francisco! All staff are just wonderful. We travel a lot and we have never experienced such a warm welcome and friendliness on an every day basis! The staff of the hotel are its true gem!!
The hotel itself is fantastic. It is 30m (or less!) from one of the most beautiful beaches in Lagos and a walking distance from other incredible beaches. In 10 minutes you will be in town if you wish to go for a meal (there is a huge selection of amazing restaurants; ask staff members for recommendations! they know what they are talking about!) or do some shopping. There are also two small shops by the hotel and a few very good restaurants. If you don't feel like walking, a bus stop is less than 30m from the hotel! The hotels and all the rooms have recently been renovated. It actually feels like a boutique hotel! The rooms are comfortable and super clean. You will have a balcony either overlooking the ocean or some greenery. Both options won't disappoint you. The only downfall is the wifi which often doesn't work. We also missed an extra drawer unit or some kind of storage to keep our things. The contemporary feel of the hotel interior is complemented by a sun deck, lounge area and a swimming pool on the roof with views of the ocean and nearby cliffs. Breakfast is fantastic! You will get a selection of absolutely delicious Portuguese bread, fresh fruit and yoghurt, milk and cereal, different types of cheese and ham, and, to top it up some warm choices!
There is one disadvantage which we hope will change soon. The hotel is not open the whole year round! This is such a shame as on a number of occasions we wanted to visit Lagos in December or February. Hopefully, this will change!!
There are no words to praise this hotel enough! We never come back to the same place twice, apart from Carvi Beach Hotel. We know that staying here will be enjoyable, relaxing, smooth and truly heavenly. It is a combination of people (we cannot emphasise enough how incredible the staff members are), the hotel itself and the magical surroundings. You'd better try it for yourself and we are certain you won't regret it! We definitely recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bas_mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel Lagos, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear bas_mf,

Wow! Well this is why we do what we do! We are elated to hear that our hotel, and more importantly our staff, was so accommodating to you! I will most definitely pass along your comments to Silvia and the rest of the staff as they love hearing about the positive impact they had on our guest's stays!

In regards to being open year round...it is something we have been thinking about for some time now. It is definitely a possibility in the future so keep your eyes out!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel Lagos

Property: Carvi Hotel Lagos
Address: Praia Dona Ana, Lagos 8601-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel Lagos 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Carvi Hotel Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing