We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Right on the most Beautiful Beach in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The pictures online are a little deceiving for what the hotel really is. Despite some of the bad reviews, you absolutely cannot beat the location of this hotel in Lagos! I personally have been to most of the towns in the Algarve and this one is the least touristy, most beautiful and authentic little beach town with the most jaw dropping beaches. The rooms are OK but the bathrooms are nice, and the view is unbeatable. I would definitely stay here again when I visit Lagos and this place is not to be overlooked if you want to get a great bang for your buck.

Room Tip: You must get a beach facing room with a terrace it's worth the extra cash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alex K,

Thank you for the great review! I would have to agree that Lagos is less touristy than your average Algarve destination such as Vilamoura. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us; be sure to check out our New York City location!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Carvi hotel Lagos is cosy, clean, with a great location and the best staff ever!
You can really feel "at home" and relax there.
Rooms are quiet, clean and nicely designed.
The only thing to make the stay even better would be a mini fridge.
I recommend it :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Heyd_Mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Heyd_Mas,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad we made you feel at home!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a fantastic little hotel. Clean, well run and in a great spot. We stayed for a week in room 1 and although at first thought it may be noisy, NO, not at all. Big patio and side view of the sea. The Hotel is used by American students on organised European tours, but don't let this put you off, they were very well behaved and well mannered. The breakfast is continental so don't expect a full English. However, there is plenty of scrambled eggs, fruit, cold meat, bread and cereal. A tip if you enjoy a nice pot of tea is to ask at the bar for a pot of boiling water, just add your bags and hey presto. Staff very helpful and always very attentive, the pool on the roof can get a bit breezy. No fridges in the room but a small mini market 50 yards away has plenty of chilled drinks. Overall a no frills, very functional, clean and well kept Hotel. We will be back. Thank you Carvi Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mrwriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mrwriggs,

Thank YOU! I'm happy to hear that we were a great part of your vacation in Lagos. Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Carvi is a wonderful hotel made wonderful by its staff. After so many bad experiences with other places, even the smallest faults at this hotel could be overlooked, because of its smiling customer service. The only heads up I would give you is there is no mini fridge, which after having paid for a balcony with sea room, would have been nice to have some cold drinks and water ready for the evenings. We learned you could just ask for an ice bucket and ice and it did the job.

Side note tips.
1. Girls, don't bring wedges, Lagos is very 'hippy chic' and the cobblestone to and from the hotel will slow you down.
2. you can get a bus from faro airport to train station at 2 pounds (which come hourly) but taxi is a tenner, its also only a tenner from lagos train to hotel though once you get your bearings its an easy walk if you have suitcases with wheels!
3. Check out Praia de Luz beach.. again a tenner each way but if you are doing watersports, the prices you save at this beach will make up for the cab fare, plus the guys are an amazing help and the sand beach is gorgeous!

Room Tip: I paid a bit more for "side sea view" we never used it though as when you sit down you cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gylleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear gylleigh,

Thank you for the comments! I will certainly pass along the message to our staff; they are very happy to hear that guests recognize how hard they work.

We apologize for the lack of mini-fridge in the room. We do have one available by request but providing them in every room is not feasible for us to do as we are only a 3-Star hotel.

Thank you again and hope to see you next season!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for 5 days in July 2014 and thought that the hotel was great. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the pool was lovely and quiet and you are minutes from the beach. Really great place, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Lucy G,

Thank you for the lovely comments! Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked the Carvi for it's beach location at Praia D. Ana.
Since it is only a 3 star we did not expect a Spa, but noticed a flyer at reception.
My wife booked a massage and what a surprise!
She had the most wonderful, relaxing massage in a long time. The therapist seems well trained with "healing hands" and is very friendly.
It is called "The Spa Room" - and you need to book at reception!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Algarvi,

Thank you for your review! The Spa Room is an amenity that we added just this summer so I am glad that your wife enjoyed her massage! Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Carvi for 3 nights in early July 2014. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer! The location was great-right beside the beach and about a 15 minute walk into town for all of the shopping/nightlife, etc. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice variety! I've stayed at hotels where they stop putting food out when it starts to near the end of breakfast, but not at Carvi. 5 minutes before the end of breakfast, the staff was still putting out fresh food and refilling trays that were running low. Speaking of the staff, they were AMAZING!!! They were constantly on top of things there: cleaning non-stop, making sure any needs you had were met, etc. They were extremely polite and helpful! Since we had our toddler with us, we needed lots of milk. Each time I asked for some, the staff ran and got it and/or poured it with a smile (and most of the time with some sweet cooing at my daughter). I even went into the bar area at 12:30am to request some and they were more than happy to accommodate me! I could go on for hours about how wonderful they all were! We truly enjoyed our stay there and will for sure be back again during our next trip to Portugal!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alyson M,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your time in Portugal so much. Hotels are such an integral part of the vacation process so I am glad that we could be a rock for you! We have worked very hard at improving our breakfast so thank you for the lovely comments!

Hope to see you again!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve

Address: Alameda Doutor Armando Soares Ribeiro | Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £35 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing