We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing with super friendly staff. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vilabranca Apartments
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and relaxing with super friendly staff. ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We found vilabranca the ideal place for a break in the Algarve. All the staff were very welcoming and ready to help. A lot of work going on behind the scenes to ensure that guests have a quiet,relaxing and seemless stay. The young Portuguese chap at the bar (never got his name) provided an excellent service, was very engaging without being pushy and made us feel very welcome. Good guitar player too! The only thing I would suggest is that you have two euro coins avaliable for the pool table, a quiet beer and a game of pool with have been a nice treat in the evening. Thank you vilabranca and see you again soon hopefully. :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Bruno,

Thank you very much for your wonderfull comment on Vilabranca. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to ensure that our guests are satisfied. So again we thank you for your appreciation and hopefully we can welcome you back again. Rodrigo from the bar will play a song or two on his guitar. :-)

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    245
    69
    10
    11
See reviews for
223
316
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have just recently returned from Vilabranca and we were expecting a lot better according to TA reviews. Rooms are ok, good size with adequate kitchen equipment. Pool had not been cleaned when we first arrived and was only cleaned three days into our stay. No sunbeds or umbrella around the pool either. Vilabranca advertise that they have a shuttle bus to the beach, not when we were there and you do need it. Walk to beach is fine about 20 mins at a good pace. But coming back is all uphill, not suitable for the older tourist or young child and the same distance to the main shopping area, downhill going but coming back is tough. Why say they have a shuttle service and then not provide it. We did ask at reception and were told it was too early in the season. Bar was not open either during our stay. Why do they then take bookings for Easter.
Cleaning and emptying of rubbish bin etc by maids-only twice in our 7 night stay. Lights on balcony, just a bare bulb with wires showing -not safe. It was relatively quiet when we were there though I would say in high season the apartments would be extremely noisy. Staff are excellent, friendly and polite. We would go back though only when shuttle bus is running and perhaps when the apartments have had safety repairs carried out.

Room Tip: Apartments closer to front of complex and ones to the rear look neglected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Meggie8,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment on Vilabranca. We appreciate it and we like to listen to our customers in order for us to improve our services. I am sorry to hear that it wasn't all to your satisfactory. We have indeed a Shuttle Service and has been running every year during the season for many years, but due to some inconvienent circumstances we were not able to have it running at the time of your presence. Which of course is not an excuse. Hopefully we can make up for it the next time you are here. We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked this accommodation via Thomas Cook as package holiday. I was very happy with my choice, location was great, accommodation was very clean and modern with air conditioning. Good value for money.
Beaches and small supermarket are close by, reception staff are friendly and helpfull , so we will definitelly come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaSE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear MiaSE8,

Thank you very much for taking your time in putting a nice comment on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate it and do hope to welcome you back again to Vilabranca.

Kindest regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were really impressed by this apartment. The price was good (35 euro per night for a couple), and the apartment was very spacious, very clean, very comfortable, equipped with everything we needed (except for toiletries and dish washing detergent). The kitched was equipped with coffee machine, boiler for tea, refrigerator, oven, cooker, cutlery and plates and cups, all clean and in very good shape, as good as new. It really made our stay very pleasurable. We also had a huge terrace of around 35 square metres all for ourselves. The place is located at 15 minutes from Praia de Mos, and 20 minutes from Praia Donna Anna. There a small shop nearby, and a supermarket at maybe 10 minutes walk. The staff was very kind and friendly. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Diana B,

Thank you very much for your nice review and recommendation. We highly appreciate it and we hope to welcome you back again one day in Vilabranca.

Best regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have stayed at Vilabranca a number of times and will continue to do so whenever we visit Lagos as they offer good quality accommodation in a nice area along with tremendous value for money.

The apartments are all in the process of being refurbished with new furniture. I agree with the previous poster that the lounge may need an extra armchair, as at present there is only a large sofa (converts to a double bed) along with a table and 4 dining chairs, which was fine for the two of us. However I am not so sure why the previous poster would want a nest of tables as there was a good sized coffee table in our apartment. We mentioned this to reception along with a request for a dressing table in the bedroom like there always used to be. I am sure given time that these minor issues will be resolved as there is a tremendous amount of investment being put into Vilabranca and I can't see them not getting it right.

We don't do any cooking whilst on holiday, however for those that do the kitchen has everything you would require to cook a meal. Electric kettle, toaster, microwave along with a four burner hob and large oven, with plenty of pans and utensils etc. all provided.

As for the cleaning staff, we have nothing but praise for them, we stayed for nine nights and in that time they came in four times and changed towels etc. Which is exactly what we have come to expect from them over the years. All of the staff go out of there way and will do everything possible to ensure that you have a good holiday

For anyone contemplating a holiday in Lagos, I can thoroughly recommend Vilabranca as I am sure that you won't be disappointed and we can't wait to book our next holiday there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear GBpublishing,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very nice feedback on your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you found the refurbished apartments to your liking and we definately have plans to improve even more. Comments like yours encourage us to continue working for the happiness of our customers.

Thank you once again for your personal recommendation and I hope that we can welcome you back to Vilabranca soon.

Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having seen such good reviews on here about this place,I decided to book it for my fiancé and I's first holiday abroad together.Being the end of March it was quiet,which suited us down to the ground,as it was to be a relaxing holiday,and we also like the freedom of self-catering.
The apartment was huge,but so sparsely furnished,such to an extent that it didn't look welcoming?? little nest of tables and perhaps another armchair in the huge lounge? a dressing table maybe in the bedroom? There was certainly enough room!
What did disappoint me was the lack of service throughout the week we were there,now,obviously being out of season I didn't really expect much....but they didn't service the apartment ONCE,would have expected at least that!
Also,went to run a bath,the water had been left standing for so long the water was a horrible brown colour,we had to flush the tank through quite a few times to get it to clear...yuk!!
All in all the staff were friendly and helpful,the location was great for us,as we like to walk and most places were about 10-20 mins away.
The last few nights we had very little sleep,because the apartments echo so much,we had some very restless people in the upstairs apartment,and they made a lot of noise.
I did state at the time of booking that we were celebrating our engagement,would have been nice to have had a quieter,more private apartment.
The place looks like it needs some TLC.
Glad we went,and we will defo be back to Lagos,but we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bikerjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Good afternoon Mrs. BikerJen,

Thank you very much for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay. We will surely take your comments into account to improve our serviçes in the future. We do however have a reception were you can report certain situations so we can help you when it occurs. I apologize if that hadn't helped.

I'm glad you enjoyed Lagos and hopefully we can welcome you back again and show you our improvements.

Best regards,
Lai Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed Oct 2013 which is towards the end of season, however the weather was amazing, the apartments were located 20 mins walk to the Town Centre, as well as to Porto De Mos Beach, there is a mini market at the entrance of the apartment complex, and a larger one a bit further away.
The apartments themselves were excellent, clean, tidy and spacious, the pools were both in excellent condition and well maintained, and the complex was also pretty quiet. Vilabranca also run a free shuttlebus service to the beach and Town Centre should the sun become a touch too hot, and the staff were very friendly and helpful when called upon.
All in all, this was an excellent choice, especially for the price and we will certainly be returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: You have to visit Porto De Mos beach, it's stunning, and right next to Antonios Restaurant, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMVilabranca, General Manager at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comment on Vilabranca. We appreciate it very much and we do our absolute best to keep our guests happy. We have refurbished our apartments this year and it looks even better. Hopefully we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Lai Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Property: Vilabranca Apartments
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing