We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lagos Hostel
Ranked #57 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crazy party hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hostel is pretty cool, although a bit cramped. There aren't many communal areas you can sit in and not get rained on (which was the sitation when I stayed), however when it's good weather there is a nice outdoor area near reception. The staff are very friendly and seemed to refer to themselves as one big family, and perhaps staying in a dorm across the road interfered with that a bit, but I didn't get quite the same vibe... but it was still fun. There are organised trips to bars each night so I spent most of my time in Lagos nursing a hangover. It's a 10 min walk to the closest beach, but there is a supermarket nearby and it's a quick walk down into the main streets, which are overrun with shops selling souvenirs and restaurants with menus in 6 languages. The directions you are given through hostelworld.com are appalling and you will get lost if you arrive at night, so look it up on google maps before you try to navigate using their instructions.

Room Tip: Female dorm is in a separate building across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavieenrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I came for a night and stayed for over a month and to blame are the beautiful, crazy fun loving staff. Every guest is made to feel welcome and apart of the lagos family. Everything you would want from a hostel, clean, interactive, great party vibe and importantly places to escape to when traveling becomes just that little bit overwhelming.

Room Tip: If want your own space or a quiet room ask to stay in the little shangri, located just across the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_fitz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I loved my stay at this hostel and was sad to move on. The staff were awesome and very friendly introducing me to everyone when I arrived. The garden was the best part about the hostel, in all honesty I can't remember the rooms that well as when in Lagos party until you pass out :)
That said there was lots iof things to do which the staff would always be happy to give lots of information for those non party animals
Overall great vibe! Great value for money! Great staff!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream_eee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Shangri Hostel in Lagos during the summer 2011. We met fantastic people from all parts of the world. Lagos is small, touristic, but adorable !
The Hostel is perfectly located, 5 minuts away from grocery store (kitchen available !!), seconds away from all the bars and stores.
Staff is excellent and will recomend you the best spots in town.
There is breakfast included, and a great terrasse with couches and tables.
Living-room area with a tv, movies and books: very cozy
Bedrooms are clean, spacious and accomodating. Very safe !!
I don't remember if there was wi-fi, but definitely some laptops available.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

One of those you happen upon, where you stay longer than initially intended, just because you can and it makes perfect sense. A lovely home-from-home place, very relaxed due to the genuine warmth and extra lengths the hosts go to to make your stay enjoyable. For travellers in the Algarve wanting a place to just 'be' - this is the place. I visited in December, and whilst not warm temperature wise, the welcome most certainly was.

Room Tip: Any, they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airbourne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in Lagos in september for 3 nights and booked this hostel. It's perfectly located, close to the beaches, the bars, the restaurants, etc....
The room were clean, the beds are okay and the staff is very friendly! The breakfast was more than adequate, although the kitchen is a bit small, but that's nitpicking. We had a wonderful time here and we will definitely return!

In general Lagos was a very friendly town, but with a lot of British people and bars. It still has charm and authentic elements, but I heard more English than Portugese, which was a slight let-down for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sekhmet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Cute little hostel in a quieter area of Lagos (still only 5 min walk to shops and beach). Very "family" orientated with extra effort by staff for guests to hang out together-lots of hostel activities organized almost daily. Awesome garden area to relax in! Rooms and bathrooms were small, but all hostels in Lagos seem to be at a similar rate/facilities. Chloe was extra awesome :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jussie1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Old School Guest House
Old School Guest House
#56 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold Coast Hostel
Gold Coast Hostel
#24 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest House Enseada
Guest House Enseada
#23 of 61 in Lagos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Pinhao
Aparthotel Pinhao
#72 of 132 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagos City Center Guest House & Hostel
0.1 mi away
Racing Mackerel Hostel
Racing Mackerel Hostel
#42 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lagos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lagos Hostel

Property: Shangri-Lagos Hostel
Address: Travessa Gil Vicente 15, Lagos 8600-638, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-Lagos has been open since the spring of 2011 and is one of the most popular hostels in Lagos. Staying with us is considered as one of the tick lists for those who seek for a unique and authentic experience. Our clients tend to become our friends and the Shangri Family keeps on growing. We promote Friendship, Fun and "Fiesta" in a homely environment where comfort and harmony are always present. Our completely restyled house is a mix of colors and positive energies where our team will always give their best, whether working or playing, to ensure you are Happy and Comfortable. Our stunning garden is a magical canopied tropical oasis - perfect for lounging and dreaming and inspiring your soul. By day and by night its atmosphere transforms with the light, offering you the perfect set for making new friends. There are meal nights, themed parties and even limbo dancing nights - all around our garden bar! This jewel is set in the heart of Lagos within the Old City Wall where you can find great shops, amazing restaurants, tons of history & culture and last but not least its famous night life circuit. You will get to meet "some of The Most Beautiful Beaches in the World" and be where the sun shines longer than anywhere else in Europe!!! Being alive ourselves we love the abundance of activities available in Lagos. A few of these have become our favourites and we can help planning your day to make sure you will experience the most of what the City offers. Our passion and knowledge for Lagos will make your days unforgettable. Surfing, Kayaking, Dolphin Tours, Boat Trips, Waterparks, Trekking, Cycling and much much more... Shangri-La(gos) has become synonymous with an earthly paradise but particularly a mythical Himalayan utopia - a permanently happy land, isolated from the outside world. A Fusion of Funk & Feng-shui A Blend of Buddha & Bass Beats A Mix of Manners & Madness Everything is Possible The Shangri-Way!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shangri-Lagos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing