We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chilled-out hostel”
Review of Big Chill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Chill Hostel
Ranked #74 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I chose this hostel for its reputation and location and was not disappointed. At a really decent price the rooms are busy but clean, wifi strong, showers hot (not that you needed it) and kitchens and lounge room well equipped.

5 minutes walk from all the best beaches and 10 minutes from town, the location is perfect if you want to relax for a few days (I originally booked 2 but stayed for 4).

Paul the manager made you feel at home. Really genuine guy, always keen for a coffee and chat. He knows Lagos well and has lots of connections, can offer suggestions or solve any problems if you ask.

Would definitely recommend this hostel :)

Thanks again! Emma :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the big chill, the room, kitchen and bathrooms were really clean.
The atmosphere in the big chill is so friendly and welcoming that we felt at home as soon as we walked in, thanks to Paolo, the manager who works hard and makes sure that everybody is happy and comfortable.
The location of the hostel is amazing, it is right across the street from the beach and only 10 minutes walk from the bars.
You can also book daytrips with them and they will make sure you get picked up at the hostel!
Thanks so much for everything, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninaveerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We came from a hostel that was by far the best we've ever been in so Big Chill had a really tough job from the start. But within a day or so we were more settled in and quite enjoying our stay. Paul the manager is a really nice guy and very helpful. The chill out room is really good for "chilling out". The bean bags are ridiculously comfortable and there is always something good to watch on the cable tv. The best part of all is obviously how close it is to one of the best beaches in Lagos/the world! The only negatives were there tends to be sand on the floor all the time although the cleaner comes every morning but being that close to the beach it's pretty hard to avoid and it's pretty tough without AC but you do get used to it. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at big chill for 3 nights and it was great! Paulo is a legend, very helpful about all things Portugal and fun to chat to.
The hostel is very close to the beautiful beaches and only a quick walk into the main town.
Rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable especially the upstairs rooms with the big patio area. The shared common room and both kitchen areas were kept tidy and well stocked.
Overall a great hostel, will be back for sure!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed at big chill for about a week. Overall it was pretty average.. The floors were disgusting. There were 2 used condoms under one of our beds, the toilets were rarely clean and there was never any toilet paper! I told the manager there wasnt any toilet paper and he got ridiculously defensive. I don't think it's much to ask for toilet paper when you're paying over 20 euros a night.. The pub crawl was free but sh1t! We were all supposed to meet to go out at 11 but Paul didn't rock up until 12. He then took us only to the bars where he got free drinks. We ditched the pub crawl after the 2nd bar. paul wasnt very happy about that.. On the plus side, there are 2 kitchens and a spacious common room. Handy on those hungover days when you just feel like lounging around in front of the tv. I probably wouldn't stay there again particularly after hearing reviews from people who stayed in other hostels in Lagos and had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexxx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had a stay for one week and we`ll definitely come again!
Especially the top-situation of the hostel is great: nearby there is a small shop where you can find anything you need for breakfast or the beach, which is also very close (~ 3 minutes, Praia Dona Ana). This beach is really great and there is a little restaurant/cafe, too. If you go right (along estrada da ponta da piedade), there is another beautiful beach ~ 10 minutes away (Praia do Camilo). Close to the marina of lagos, there is a third, really big beach (Meia Praia). Don`t miss to go there after a long day in the city :)
Within 5-8 minutes you reach a SPAR-supermarket and within 10 minutes the city of Lagos. Next to the hostel is a little bar with cheap beer and food.
The hostel is very comfortable , with a small balcony on the upper floor, where you have also big floor cushions to chill, play videogames, guitar or djembe :), a terrace on the ground floor and even a roof terrace. There are two well equiped kitchens with big fridges.
Paulo, the manager, is very nice and helpful!!!
It was a great stay and we were really impressed by the kindness and incredible hospitality of the Portuguese People!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bayerischebreze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely hostel more like a home. Paulo was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and next to amazing beaches, a little bit out of the centre but only a problem at night being a girl travelling alone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#39 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Chill Hostel

Address: Estrada da Ponta da Piedade | Lt 23, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: £9 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love the Beach, we got the Location! Welcome to Big Chill. Come as a stranger, leave as a friend... Enjoy our prime beach location and the best that Lagos has to offer. NEWL HOSTEL with a brand new Lounge, Games Room, cinema and more!!! There is always something happening at the BIG Chill! BIG Chill is more than you would ever expect, it's unique, and it’s different because we want to offer you your home away from home!! If you like...Activities - There is always something happening at the BIG Chill. Our Tour Desk sells awesome tours from Surfing, Bike hire, Theme Parks the list is never ending!If you are looking to book your amazing Southern adventure or more look no further! We are the local experts in Algarve, boat trips/parties, Jeep safari adventures and much more!Every night of the week there is something going on around the hostel, such as: Our Famous Dive Inn Movies, BBQ parties, The Backpackers Big Night Out (Club Crawl) (Wednesday and Saturday) and more! What more could a backpacker ask for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Big Chill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing