We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location, OK food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Cavaleiro

O Cavaleiro
Ranked #308 of 386 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: phone number: 282 762 911
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Handy location, OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ate here in early evening, we both had the piripiri chicken served with chips and salad. The chicken was nice but a bit dry, could have done with some sauce. Restaurant seemed nice, quite clean. Handy place if you're stuck in the area and don't know where to eat, although would probably have chosen to eat elsewhere next time

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edcresdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    62
    52
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best garlic bread ever...... A gastronomic highlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Yes garlic bread a gastronomic highlight!! In the form of a pizza with cheese this is a fantastic starter or bulk it out with a salad. We enjoy sitting out watching the world go by. A good value restaurant. Good location

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great to eat and people watch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Go here every time I am in Lagos. Food always good quality. I love their piri piri chicken, friends have the fish. Still have my glass of wine or port after dinner and people watch as its in an excellent location.Efficient and friendly customer service always,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roamingali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Unassuming little place - great Swordfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

You know the situation, it's hot you want lunch, you can't remember some of the tips you were given... it's quiet so you sit down at the first place that looks ok.

Only 1 person was eating when we sat down, and no one joined after... I was hoping we'd be an attraction for others (until we realised there was another side to the place!).

For a quick lunch, Grilled Swordfish was in order and when it eventually arrived - typical slow service which is fine... it was cooked to perfection. Simple but effective... served with a little salad, all fresh & mixed.

I gave this a 4 rating more so as I think for a lower end place, it served the food as well as we'd expect somewhere more expensive to do...
It's not all about the Fur coat when there is no underwear!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrymac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“There are better options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We wandered around the square and ended up here because we felt like Italian. In retrospect, I should have gotten the pizza. What I actually ordered was the spaghetti carbonara, which was passable but very bland. The noodles had a slight "ramen noodle" taste to them, almost like they were chicken-flavored. Nothing really tasted fresh.

The waitstaff was small but just attentive enough. Nobody was going out of their way for the diners, but they got the job done. It was almost like eating in a local pizza parlor. We wouldn't go back. If you want REAL Italian, try Portofino's at the marina.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Cavaleiro also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to O Cavaleiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing