We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it!”

We Hate Tourism Tours
Ranked #40 of 68 Tours in Lagos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take A Trip With Us. Really make the most of your visit to Lagos with We Hate Tourism Tours Menu! WHTT take you everywhere worth visiting in and around Lagos and the south-west coast as well! WHTT`s locals show you their favourite places through their eyes. Always different and always fun
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved it!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What an amazing day out. Not the normal sightseeing day at all. Tiago picked up my friend and I in his 'police van' on our 'Discover the Southwest' tour.
The day is very relaxed and fits around what the customers' want rather than a prescriptive tick off list.
The other couple on our tour were chilled and so we spent the day pootling around beaches, sights and eating and drinking. Tiago was full of interesting information and opinions about life in Portugal.
I loved lunch in a shady picnic spot in the national park. Simple, tasty and fresh.
I loved the after lunch nap on the beach even more!
This is a great concept. If you want to see anything in particular just ask. A flexible, fun filled day.
Well done!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kay_mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our tour of the South West started just after 10.00 when a white van marked 'Politizei' roared into the supermarket car park where we'd arranged our pickup with We Hate Tourism Tours, out leapt Tiago, our lovely guide, and kissed us both soundly on both cheeks. A bit disconcerting for some Brits but in Southern Europe they're a warm and tactile bunch - deal with it.

Off we raced to pick up a lovely couple from their hotel and the tour began with the security guard from their hotel left standing in a cloud of dust gazing after a Politizei van with a bunch of folks inside grinning like maniacs!

Tiago explained that he would be showing us a piece of the real Algarve and we headed off to one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in many a while. Unspoilt, gorgeous white sand and just a handful of folk dotted here and there.

The rest of the day was in much the same vein with Tiago taking us to amazing, unspoilt beauty spots, all the while chatting in his easy, amiable way about life in Portugal. His passion for his country shines through.

Tiago also prepared a simple but delicious lunch and we ate at a beautiful picnic spot. The whole day was glorious, Tiago is fabulous and made us all feel like friends on a day out.

When were dropped off at the end of the day we were again kissed on both cheeks and hugged warmly.

Fantastic day, recommended for those who like to take things at a relaxed pace. We loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you do one thing in Portugal.. take a tour with WHTT!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I cannot say enough amazing things about these wonderful people! Tiago and Jo showed us a different side of Lagos on the Beach Bum tour, which included wine and a picnic to wrap up our amazing day visiting the best beaches in Lagos. Both guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We were a large group of 15 International travel and tourism students and one instructor, this different type of tour felt different from everything else we had experienced in Portugal. Portuguese hospitality is amazing in general, but these guides brought it to a whole new level. Thank you again so much guys! It was a day I will never forget! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lexie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Love "We hate tourism tours"”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Tiago & Jo, treated our group like we were friends visiting. We visited Lagos area the beaches, light houses the picnic everything was amazing. They have a way of reading the group and knowing how long they should stay at each stop. Truly enjoyed the day! Would have loved to had a few more days with them as our guide. Cheers! Kim Garron, St. Andrews, NB Canada

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Excursion :)”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just went on the Southwest tour at the end of April with my International Travel and Tourism class of 16 and we had an absolute blast! Tiago and Jo were our guides for the day, but they didn't even seem like boring old tour guides - they treated us like friends! They also tailored the tour for our group by feeling out how long we wanted to stay at each location they brought us to. They were full of all kinds of knowlege about the popular touist attractions as well as the favorite local places. Lots of laughs, beach time, and yummy local snacks and drinks were provided. I got a bit of a sunburn so if you decide to go make sure to bring sunscreen like they advise you to :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Darrby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed We Hate Tourism Tours also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to We Hate Tourism Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing