We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hostels!”
Review of The Shelter Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shelter Lagos
Ranked #18 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite hostels!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

You have to stay here!
This place feels like a friends house with a great atmosphere! The women who run the place are amazing and very friendly. They invited me out for dinner as soon as I arrived, and we all had a good time.
The breakfast is amazing! And it's included with your booking.
The ladies who work there are very helpful with anything you need (looking up bus/train schedules, surfing/kayaking tours, ect.) so don't be afraid to ask!
The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and it's in a nice neighborhood close to everything. I was referred to this place by someone I met along my travels. New owners of this hostel with very few review but its a great place! And I'm glad I stayed there. Thank you for everything ladies!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse9215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Everything about this place is awesome! The rooms, the location, the staff (the staff really puts the top to the notch here) the surfschool, the breakfast,the guests, everything really is amazing! Gotta love it! I will always return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a truly amazing stay at Shelter Hostel. The girls who run it felt like family after just two days and we even extended our visit by one night so that we could spend more time with them!! The house is very cozy and clean. The (free!!) breakfast is delicious and different every morning. Amazing baked goods and cooking. If you are there on a Friday you can join the sister hostel for an awesome BBQ and night out on the town. It was hands down the best experience we have had at a hostel and we can't wait to go back one day! If you are visiting Lagos this is the place to stay! Also, do the kayak tour!! It's awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnikaMcGivern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It sounds like these reviews are exaggerating a bit, but I assure you they are not - this is the best hostel I have stayed in, and I've been traveling for a long time. The girls who run it are amazing. They are responsive, accommodating, know where to party, and make the best breakfasts ever (incl. in hostel price). They are also just lovely people, make you feel at home immediately. I was sad to leave this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlekChakroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Probably one of the best places in the world ;) Amazing location, very close to Lagos old town, beaches, but still in a really quiet and calm little street. The hostel is really a home (i forgot what my place looked like after just a week there). The atmosphere is just what one needs at a holiday like mine. The girls running the place were super friendly and welcoming from the moment I booked my stay till the last day. Each day was just lovely - you wake up to music and fresh breakfast and then it's a perfect mix of fun, activities (surfing in my case but also kayaking and stuff) and relax. As I was traveling alone it felt like girls where making sure I had good time.

Also the algarve surf school is awesome - all instructors were really helpful and encouraging, seemed they were happy with every wave the students caught. I really can't say a single bad word about the whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Best hostel I have ever stayed at. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and it's in a great location. The breakfast girl Carla does a great job, amazing food. Tania and Wendy make you feel so welcome and look after you so well you won't ever want to leave. Definitely recommend this hostel to everyone travelling to Lagos.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best hostel I have ever been to very welcoming and homey staff are nice and can help you out with anything you need, everything is clean and always kept tidy, in the morning they cook a excellent buffet style breakfast with plenty to eat and different types of juices coffee and tee I defiantly recommend staying here if you are looking for a welcoming home style hostel that's not just a party mad house, a place where you can get a good night sleep and feel at home

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#15 of 51 in Lagos
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
1.0 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#3 of 134 in Lagos
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bura Surfhouse
Bura Surfhouse
#9 of 134 in Lagos
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Lagos

Property: The Shelter Lagos
Address: Rua Eca de Queiroz no 7, Lagos 8600-588, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Shelter Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing