We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want local knowledge about Lagos and some cool kids to party with this is the one!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelter Lagos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Shelter Lagos
Ranked #17 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
1 review
“If you want local knowledge about Lagos and some cool kids to party with this is the one!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've been travelling across the world almost always staying in hostels and this by FAR was one of the Best hostels I have ever stayed in.
The crew at the Shelter have great local knowledge for: surfing, kayak tours, surrounding towns and the whole Algarve.
And if you want to go on one of the most legendary party boat trips ever, The Shelter Lagos will definately have you covered!!
Staff are amazing and that's what really makes the place so be kind to them they really are Awesome and get yourself to "The Shelter Lagos!!!"
Rusty, Australia/UK

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motiv8rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Best hostel I have stayed in through Europe!
Tania, Wendy, Linda & Elin are so welcoming and friendly!
It was just like hanging at a mates house... Perfect after a boozy night in Lagos!
And make sure your on the next Boat Party!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Shelter is such a great place to stay.. Not only does it serve amazing breakfast, it is immaculately clean and close to the beach BUT the atmosphere in this place is what makes it so great. Tania and Wendy are THE BEST hosts you will ever come across and all the other staff are so friendly and welcoming. I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becdvrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Staying at Shelter is more like staying at a friends house than at a hostel. We got in very late after a long bus ride and Tania met us with a smile. She even fed us scones as we had missed supper. The breakfast cooked by fabulous Linda is by far the best breakfast any of us had had at a hostel. She whips up amazing fresh home made recipes every morning. Wendy is also fab, and always made sure we had everything we needed. We were also lucky enough to be there for their first boat party (which was a freaking blast). Our whole group loved Lagos (and hope to visit again) and Shelter played a huge role in that. Thank you ladies for the short but sweet stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marinalilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The shelter is an excellent hostel where you're made to feel like family and this is down to the excellent staff who put their heart into the place. I was only there for three nights but in such a short amount of time I was made to feel extremely welcome and my only regret is I wasn't there longer. Brilliant location excellent people and couldn't recommend it any higher.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave84457832222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

One of the best hostel i've stayed in portugal.
The crew there is super sweet and fun. They make you feel right at home. Great location near some sweet beaches and the historic center. Will definitely recommend to my friends and other travelers looking for a chill place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-RocioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed in The Shelter for just under 2 weeks and they were two of the most unique weeks of my travelling life. The two girls that run shelter, Wendy and Tania, put their heart and soul in to this place and they have created a one of a kind, warm, welcoming, fun-filled, chilled and crazy hostel which is more of a home than a place to stay. The breakfasts are beaut and they girls can't do enough for you. There's stunning beaches and cliff walks a stroll away, great restaurants, awesome surfing trips and great night life. They say it is dangerous to stay here for longer than 3days as ull never want to leave and I agree. By the end of two weeks everyone is more like family in The Shelter than passing travellers and that's down to how brilliantly the hostel is run and how people are brought together. Couldn't recommend the place high enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyD569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#12 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Lagos

Property: The Shelter Lagos
Address: Rua Eca de Queiroz no 7, Lagos 8600-588, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Shelter Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing