We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location - shame about the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good location - shame about the road”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

good clean small hotel but unfortunatly there is a busy road runs right in front of it so you can't really open the doors onto the small balcony for the exhaust fumes. In saying this we enjoyed the hotel it had a friendly feel, staff were helpful but there was no roof pool, however there was one on the 1st floor and a small terrace to sit on. The location was good as in previous reviews. There was a great chinese on top of the marina and a brillant italian just as you were entering the old town (mama mias). Position good if you have slight mobility problems as I do as everything on the flat.like previous person we also had to get up at 5.45am for our flight although no-one from the hotel got up and although we had paid for 14 breakfasts and only ate 13 we asked if they could make up a couple of rolls and pieces of fruit but they refused. This let the hotel down badly as far as I am concerned. The rooms are also small but adequate, and Lagos itself was brill!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool as it would be quieter and you would be able to open the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobsieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mr cobsieboy,

Thank you for staying with us!

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The location couldn't have been better (although it was a little confusing for us at first because we didn't have a number for the street address). It was a 5 minute walk from the train, a 10-15 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute walk from the historic center. The rooms were modest and charming and clean with a balcony. The restaurant where the breakfast was served was traditional and clean and comfortable. The staff were more than accommodating and pleasant and caring. For the price, it was a bargain. It's perfect for active people looking to go to the beach and enjoy the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxwelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mr & Mrs maxwelle7,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 9day stay at The Hotel Marina Sao Roque. The staff were all friendly and they went out of their way to make sure everyone was ok. The manager was extremely funny and his little stories made us laugh and we enjoyed having a drink with him in the bar. The reception staff speak very good english and the young girl especially was very helpful and called our transfers for us. Breakfast was lovely just what you wanted to wake up to every morning. The room was a nice size and shower did take some getting used to but was fine. If you want 5* then book 5*. The location was perfect!!! Bar Paris is to the left of the hotel and they do some lovely food and its very reasonably priced. Its a couple of minutes walk to the marina where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The town is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and its a lovely walk we wouldnt have wanted it any closer. There are many lovely places to eat but the best one by far was "Maharaja's Tasty Indian". We walked past it in the day many times but one evening thankfully we decided to eat there. The staff were so nice and they cook in an open kitchen which is wonderful. The food was the tastiest I have ever eaten in a restaurant anywhere!! Do not eat in the Kohninoor unless you like everything creamy and cooked in yogurt. The staff in the Shalimar were very rude so we decided not to bother and the Pashmina seemed to keep shutting earlier because they were quiet. The "Piri Piri" did lovely food and their salads were a work of art. Make sure you go to the english pub "Fool's and Horse's" you won't have a dull moment. The beach is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and is absolutely stunning! Make sure you go on a boat trip to see the grottos its 10 euro's and the views will blow you away. All this right on the doorstep of the really lovely Hotel Marina Sao Roque . We left at 6.45 am and they even opened reception early so there was someone there to see us off and thank us for our visit. This was a lovely thing to do and made us feel very special. Do not read the bad reviews on this hotel they are NOT true!! Book yourselves in and make up your own mind. I can assure you that you won't be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Marina Sao Roque we will see you soon :) xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Birchys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mrs por Birchys3,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Would thoroughly recommend Marina Sao Roque to anyone wanting a good value hotel to stay in Lagos. The location was excellent, approximately 10 minutes walk from a wonderful and unspoilt 5km sandy beach, less than 5 minutes walk from the Marina (with bars and restaurants) and about 15/20 minutes walk from Lagos itself. This meant that during our 10 night stay we could walk everywhere - no need for taxis etc! The hotel itself had a quaint, traditional feel - and a great breakfast every morning! The staff were very helpful and freindly, and really made the stay very pleasant. We also enjoyed the little roof pool and sun terrace. The only downside would be the close proximity to the road - although we still slept incredibly well! Completely fell in love with Lagos itself, and staying here only enhanced our trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mrs Jen T,

Thank you for staying with us!

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The B&B overall was lovely except it was right next to a very busy road. By the end of the week I did get used to the drone of traffic which was a surprise. It was very difficult to sleep in the room at the front of the B&B but had a small balcony which caught the evening sun which wasn't all bad. The room was very hot with the air conditioning as it went off after a short period of time and you would manually have to turn it on again which was slightly frustrating. The twin room was fairly small but was very clean and the towels were changed everyday. Sadly the shower leaked everywhere as the shower head was not heavy enough. Managed to place the shower curtain in a certain position to stop water from flooding the floor. Did report this but nothing was done. The women on reception were very friendly and tried to move us to a quieter room which sadly we couldn't get as it was very busy.The breakfast was very well organised and offers a basic choice of cereals, juice fresh fruit, bread rolls, meats and cheeses etc. It would have been nice to have fresh coffee and tea instead of a machine drink. The waitress who looked after the breakfast was excellent and was highly efficient. The pool was small but very quiet which was lovely. There was ample space to sunbath including a sun terrace, just need a few more sun loungers. The B&B has great potential to have a gym and extra seating on the sun terrace. The bar wasn't really used as well which could have been promoted better as it looked a nice place to chill out if you didn't fancy going into town.
The B&B is located very close to the bus station and a large supermarket up the road which was very helpful to get provisions. I have been to Lagos before and food can be quite expensive so it was good to get shopping as well as eating out. The beach is a short walk from the B&B and the Marina. There was a great cafe next door to the B&B which had free internet and printer. The food was really nice and reasonably priced.Being a B&B if you are staying out after 1am you need to get a night key. Families/couples etc tend to stay out later as it is a bustling town. Overall I would go back to the B&B but I would like to chose my room next time. Thankyou to all the staff at this B&B.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the B&B overlooking the pool as it is noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mr & Mrs artyWestMidlands,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

It's a very average hotel, slightly overpriced I'd say. Our room was clean and light.
Pros:
- Free wi-fi (works VERY slow in the room, but fast in the lobby)
- Close to the main beach (15 min walk)
- Close to a supermarket where you can buy drinks and some snacks or have a coffee
- Very friendly and helpful staff
Cons:
- Our room was overlooking a noisy street which made it a bit difficult to fall asleep
- An extremely basic breakfast for a 3* hotel. Breakfast time only till 10 am which is strange for a resort hotel.
- Old beds, therefore very "crunchy"
- Called one day ahead before check-in with a request to arrive at 12 pm. They confirmed, but upon arrival refused to allow check-in before 2 pm
All in all, it was ok. The only reason I'd stay there again if there were no other available hotels at this price.

Room Tip: Preorder a room with a backyard view to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mr topguyspb,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Today we returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and were impressed with the high standard of accommodation. The twin bedded room and the double room at the rear of the hotel were very quiet, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable and the linen etc. was changed almost every day. The continental breakfast was adequate and the hotel was within walking distance of the fresh fish restaurants, the railway station and the beach. The owners and staff were pleasant and very helpful. They will be closing at the end of the month for redecoration. K.M.Richards

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Valued Guest Mrs katchen,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
1.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#30 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Property: Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Address: Estrada Meia Praia 23 | Lagos Marina, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina S. Roque is ideally located in the commercial and residential area of the Lagos Marina, around 500 m. from the beautiful, sandy beach of "Meia Praia" and the enchanted historical centre of the bustling town of Lagos. Privileged for the practice of outdoor activities, with the prestigious Golf courses of Palmares and Boa Vista close by. This family-run Hotel, exclusive and genuine, offers a welcoming atmosphere and a personalized service. Equipped with 26 comfortable and functional Individual, Double rooms and Suites - smoking and non-smoking - traditionally decorated, furnished balconies with views over the city, garden and pool, air conditioning/climate control, telephone, cable TV, individual safe and private bathroom, with bath, shower, bide, air dryer and complimentary toiletries. The public areas are completed with a Breakfast room, a Cocktail Bar, a Lounge with free Wi-Fi, a Reading and a TV room, a spacious, pleasant and sunny Terrace with a fresh water Pool, a Sunbathing area and a shaded Veranda. The hotel is completed with free parking, private garage, air conditioning in all areas and 2 lifts. Complimentary: tours and various recreational, cultural, sports and leisure activities, bookable at the reception. Buses and trains run regularly and the main stations are located at about 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotel. This charming Hotel, offers modern standards of comfort whilst maintaining the friendly and efficient service of a privately-owned and family-run business, offers the ideal base for a relaxing time and invites you for the best holidays in the sun. Fill out your free time strolling along the beaches, visiting monuments, dinning in same of the best and finest restaurants, knowing places you would not even imagine to exist. The family-run, enchanting, charming and unique Hotel Marina S. Roque, with its friendly staff and excellent location, it is the idyllic retreat in the South-east of the Algarve. Integrated in one of the most beautiful and historical sceneries of Portugal, is the ideal option for those seeking an unforgettable holiday and a memorable stay. It is a perfect starting point to explore Lagos and the Algarve Coast, of romantic cliffs, infinite beaches of fine sand and transparent waters. Whatever your holiday preference is, the Hotel Marina S. Roque is the ideal location for your dream holiday. Come and see the best the Algarve has to offer you. Come and enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing