We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks at this hotel and we were overall very satisified with it and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of holidaying in beautiful Lagos. The room was basic but always kept spotlessly clean by the staff. On small complaint would be that the beds were two singles, rather than one double,and the mattress was a little hard. As previously mentioned by another reviewer the room had no fridge which made it a little awkward to keep items cool. There is a fridge available downstairs, but it involved the hassle of asking the staff to put things in and get things out again.
The staff were very friendly, especially the young lady on reception-it is a family run hotel and this gives it a special charm. She made sure everything was in order for us, including changing our requested smoking room from the road side of the hotel to the quieter pool side, provided we agreed to only smoke out on the balcony.
Breakfast was adequate and served by a very friendly assistant each morning between 8 and 10am. The pool was small but lovely to dip into in the morning to freshen up.
Location was excellent-close to the train station, main beach and a lovely walk along the Marina across the footbridge and into the town.
We would definitely like to return, in fact it's a bit of a pity the hotel closes during the winter because it would make a lovely place to go to during the winter months for a short break.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back-quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Milica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Guest Mrs Milica Z,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

My fiancé and I spent a week at this hotel. The hotel is in a very convenient location within walking distance from the beach, marina and old town. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel could do with some refurbishment. However it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is good value for money.

Unfortunately, we had problems logging onto the wifi and this was ongoing. There is however a computer at reception with internet access for the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fossyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Guest Mr & Mrs Fossyo,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Breakfast had a good variety for a continental cold breakfast. Server was very attentive, constantly refilling anything close to running out.

Room nice but very small. Good balcony near pool. Quiet.

Friendly staff.

Easy to park in front of the hotel, and then a short walk over the pedestrian bridge into the town. This is much better than staying in town where it is impossible to park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Guest Mrs Pam933,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a really nice, very friendly family run hotel. Exceptionally clean with some lovely touches, such as free internet access with a pc available in the main lobby (other hotels please note!!). Breakfast is plentiful with a wide choice and a very helpful waitress. The location is ideal, a few minutes stroll through the marina to access the town. A ten minute walk takes you to the main beach, a fabulously sandy and wide beach.
One (very) minor irk. If you intend to stay out past one am (and on holiday this is likely, ha!) you have to remember to ask for a night key as the doors are locked. Next morning they take the key back off your fob so you have to ask again every night, "just in case", ha! I would suggest buying a few extra keys and leaving each guest with one.

We will definitely use the Marina S. again

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seanwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Guest Mr & Mrs seanwest,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Booked on Hotels.com where it looked OK, with OK reviews. On arrival, our first impression was a roadside motel with a dark reception area. The staff was friendly enough, but the room was really small and stuffy. The balcony doors opened out on a quite noisy road. The manager promised wifi, but after 6 tries with the printed password, we gave up. Breakfast was OK, but no highlight. The atmosphere and interior design of the hotel was like taken out of an 1983 travel catalogue, unfortunately without umbrella drinks and Julio Iglesias cover songs. The hotel is near the large beach, Praia Meia, but pretty far from the historic old town and the more picturesque beaches. On the plus side, the pool is nice and clean, and the female receptionist is really attentive and helpful. After two nights we moved to a hotel in the old town, and had a much more pleasent experience of Lagos. Sorry, Hotel Marina Sao Roque, I won't see you again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank terjefjeldsg_rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Gerente at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Sir,

We regret and apologize if the quality of your stay did not match expectations and the hospitality standards you were expecting to find, were not meet.
However, we would have been appreciative of your comments, during the time of your stay.
If you had advised us of your discontentment, we would have been able to provide adequate arrangements, to suit your requirements, within appropriate time.
Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and for bringing your considerations to our attention.
In this context and concerning the mentioned, we would like to convey the following:
Although we are a small hotel, our facilities have sizes matching any other 3 star hotels in the area, all of which being very practical, functional, comfortable and the space optimized at its best.
Regarding location, we are situated on the Marina residential area, less than 1 km away from “Meia Praia” beach and the historical city center, as listed in all the agents and our own website.
For any Wi-Fi technical issues, we offer a complementary internet point.
The Hotel advertises facilities, amenities and policies, with accurate information, regularly updated property description and photos.
We aim to create in our establishment, a welcoming atmosphere and being a privately owned, family run business, all our rooms and facilities have a unique character and genuine features that make the difference for many of our return guests but, we thank you for highlighting points we can improve.
In our constant endeavor to assist our customers, we would be very pleased to renew your holiday experience with us and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve future lodging purposes, in a more satisfactory and positive manner.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I travelled here with my sister in June. We were greeted by owner at arrival and from then until we left we found the family and staff and Suzanne to be most helpful and pleasant. We didnt use the pool as the beaches localy are fantastic, and there was no need. Good breakfast. Very close to the train station, a walk to Marina, and just over the bridge to the town. The owners lent us beach towels and parasols for the beach and were very helpful with and questions we had on the area. I would not hesitate in retuning to this hotel, for the price it is the best quality I have found in ages.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClairetDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

we stayed here in October for 11 nights and loved it, nice size family run hotel and the staff were all so nice, like a home from home, lovely breakfast as an added bonus, 2 mins from the marina and a short walk over the bridge to the town, so great locatation as well. hope to go back next year and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a central but quiet place to stay. thanks again to all the staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back which looked out to the pool area, ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Dear Valued Guest Mrs joanderry,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.2 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#41 of 53 in Lagos
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Avenida Hotel
Lagos Avenida Hotel
#30 of 53 in Lagos
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Address: Estrada Meia Praia 23 | Lagos Marina, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £54 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina S. Roque is ideally located in the commercial and residential area of the Lagos Marina, around 500 m. from the beautiful, sandy beach of "Meia Praia" and the enchanted historical centre of the bustling town of Lagos. Privileged for the practice of outdoor activities, with the prestigious Golf courses of Palmares and Boa Vista close by. This family-run Hotel, exclusive and genuine, offers a welcoming atmosphere and a personalized service. Equipped with 26 comfortable and functional Individual, Double rooms and Suites - smoking and non-smoking - traditionally decorated, furnished balconies with views over the city, garden and pool, air conditioning/climate control, telephone, cable TV, individual safe and private bathroom, with bath, shower, bide, air dryer and complimentary toiletries. The public areas are completed with a Breakfast room, a Cocktail Bar, a Lounge with free Wi-Fi, a Reading and a TV room, a spacious, pleasant and sunny Terrace with a fresh water Pool, a Sunbathing area and a shaded Veranda. The hotel is completed with free parking, private garage, air conditioning in all areas and 2 lifts. Complimentary: tours and various recreational, cultural, sports and leisure activities, bookable at the reception. Buses and trains run regularly and the main stations are located at about 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotel. This charming Hotel, offers modern standards of comfort whilst maintaining the friendly and efficient service of a privately-owned and family-run business, offers the ideal base for a relaxing time and invites you for the best holidays in the sun. Fill out your free time strolling along the beaches, visiting monuments, dinning in same of the best and finest restaurants, knowing places you would not even imagine to exist. The family-run, enchanting, charming and unique Hotel Marina S. Roque, with its friendly staff and excellent location, it is the idyllic retreat in the South-east of the Algarve. Integrated in one of the most beautiful and historical sceneries of Portugal, is the ideal option for those seeking an unforgettable holiday and a memorable stay. It is a perfect starting point to explore Lagos and the Algarve Coast, of romantic cliffs, infinite beaches of fine sand and transparent waters. Whatever your holiday preference is, the Hotel Marina S. Roque is the ideal location for your dream holiday. Come and see the best the Algarve has to offer you. Come and enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing