We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I just came back from Lagos! I went on 13 days of summer vacation there and I find it great. I made new friends there. I love that a family owns and runs the hotel.The hotel staff is great! Hotel too! I recommend it! I might spend my next summer vacation there ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Mrs Ivanita28,

Our deepest, most heartfelt thanks for your kind words.

We are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to seeing you again in a very near future.

Best regards,

Tavares Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

we stayed there in the beginning of June 2013 for a couple of days and it was nice!!! rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice, the service was good and staff were quite friendly. the receptionist girl, I think her name is Suzana, was more than friendly and helpful when we would ask her about recommendations for places to eat and visit in Lagos and in Portugal! nice location, quiet and safe, despite the busy road nearby!!! definitely recommend!!! :)

Room Tip: try for a room with a pool view, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Gerente at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Sil V,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Lagos and for taking the time to post your kind review .
We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and a nice holiday experience.
It was certainly very encouraging to learn that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our Team and myself personally.
We are pleased that you have found the hotel’s location to be of convenience, as well.
It is certainly ideal for moving around Lagos with ease and for visiting the major attractions and sights of the city.
Thank you again for your valued and positive feedback.
We do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Marina S. Roque Hotel, in the near future.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting and welcome you back once again, very soon.

Kind regards,

Susana Tavares
Manager
Hotel Marina S. Roque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks at this hotel and we were overall very satisified with it and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of holidaying in beautiful Lagos. The room was basic but always kept spotlessly clean by the staff. On small complaint would be that the beds were two singles, rather than one double,and the mattress was a little hard. As previously mentioned by another reviewer the room had no fridge which made it a little awkward to keep items cool. There is a fridge available downstairs, but it involved the hassle of asking the staff to put things in and get things out again.
The staff were very friendly, especially the young lady on reception-it is a family run hotel and this gives it a special charm. She made sure everything was in order for us, including changing our requested smoking room from the road side of the hotel to the quieter pool side, provided we agreed to only smoke out on the balcony.
Breakfast was adequate and served by a very friendly assistant each morning between 8 and 10am. The pool was small but lovely to dip into in the morning to freshen up.
Location was excellent-close to the train station, main beach and a lovely walk along the Marina across the footbridge and into the town.
We would definitely like to return, in fact it's a bit of a pity the hotel closes during the winter because it would make a lovely place to go to during the winter months for a short break.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back-quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Milica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guest Mrs Milica Z,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My fiancé and I spent a week at this hotel. The hotel is in a very convenient location within walking distance from the beach, marina and old town. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel could do with some refurbishment. However it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is good value for money.

Unfortunately, we had problems logging onto the wifi and this was ongoing. There is however a computer at reception with internet access for the guests.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fossyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guest Mr & Mrs Fossyo,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Breakfast had a good variety for a continental cold breakfast. Server was very attentive, constantly refilling anything close to running out.

Room nice but very small. Good balcony near pool. Quiet.

Friendly staff.

Easy to park in front of the hotel, and then a short walk over the pedestrian bridge into the town. This is much better than staying in town where it is impossible to park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guest Mrs Pam933,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a really nice, very friendly family run hotel. Exceptionally clean with some lovely touches, such as free internet access with a pc available in the main lobby (other hotels please note!!). Breakfast is plentiful with a wide choice and a very helpful waitress. The location is ideal, a few minutes stroll through the marina to access the town. A ten minute walk takes you to the main beach, a fabulously sandy and wide beach.
One (very) minor irk. If you intend to stay out past one am (and on holiday this is likely, ha!) you have to remember to ask for a night key as the doors are locked. Next morning they take the key back off your fob so you have to ask again every night, "just in case", ha! I would suggest buying a few extra keys and leaving each guest with one.

We will definitely use the Marina S. again

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seanwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Proprietário at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guest Mr & Mrs seanwest,

Thank you for staying with us.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Your words are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Tavares Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Booked on Hotels.com where it looked OK, with OK reviews. On arrival, our first impression was a roadside motel with a dark reception area. The staff was friendly enough, but the room was really small and stuffy. The balcony doors opened out on a quite noisy road. The manager promised wifi, but after 6 tries with the printed password, we gave up. Breakfast was OK, but no highlight. The atmosphere and interior design of the hotel was like taken out of an 1983 travel catalogue, unfortunately without umbrella drinks and Julio Iglesias cover songs. The hotel is near the large beach, Praia Meia, but pretty far from the historic old town and the more picturesque beaches. On the plus side, the pool is nice and clean, and the female receptionist is really attentive and helpful. After two nights we moved to a hotel in the old town, and had a much more pleasent experience of Lagos. Sorry, Hotel Marina Sao Roque, I won't see you again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank terjefjeldsg_rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinasroque, Gerente at Hotel Marina Sao Roque, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Sir,

We regret and apologize if the quality of your stay did not match expectations and the hospitality standards you were expecting to find, were not meet.
However, we would have been appreciative of your comments, during the time of your stay.
If you had advised us of your discontentment, we would have been able to provide adequate arrangements, to suit your requirements, within appropriate time.
Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback and for bringing your considerations to our attention.
In this context and concerning the mentioned, we would like to convey the following:
Although we are a small hotel, our facilities have sizes matching any other 3 star hotels in the area, all of which being very practical, functional, comfortable and the space optimized at its best.
Regarding location, we are situated on the Marina residential area, less than 1 km away from “Meia Praia” beach and the historical city center, as listed in all the agents and our own website.
For any Wi-Fi technical issues, we offer a complementary internet point.
The Hotel advertises facilities, amenities and policies, with accurate information, regularly updated property description and photos.
We aim to create in our establishment, a welcoming atmosphere and being a privately owned, family run business, all our rooms and facilities have a unique character and genuine features that make the difference for many of our return guests but, we thank you for highlighting points we can improve.
In our constant endeavor to assist our customers, we would be very pleased to renew your holiday experience with us and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve future lodging purposes, in a more satisfactory and positive manner.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#19 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
1.5 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#30 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Property: Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Address: Estrada Meia Praia 23 | Lagos Marina, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina S. Roque is ideally located in the commercial and residential area of the Lagos Marina, around 500 m. from the beautiful, sandy beach of "Meia Praia" and the enchanted historical centre of the bustling town of Lagos. Privileged for the practice of outdoor activities, with the prestigious Golf courses of Palmares and Boa Vista close by. This family-run Hotel, exclusive and genuine, offers a welcoming atmosphere and a personalized service. Equipped with 26 comfortable and functional Individual, Double rooms and Suites - smoking and non-smoking - traditionally decorated, furnished balconies with views over the city, garden and pool, air conditioning/climate control, telephone, cable TV, individual safe and private bathroom, with bath, shower, bide, air dryer and complimentary toiletries. The public areas are completed with a Breakfast room, a Cocktail Bar, a Lounge with free Wi-Fi, a Reading and a TV room, a spacious, pleasant and sunny Terrace with a fresh water Pool, a Sunbathing area and a shaded Veranda. The hotel is completed with free parking, private garage, air conditioning in all areas and 2 lifts. Complimentary: tours and various recreational, cultural, sports and leisure activities, bookable at the reception. Buses and trains run regularly and the main stations are located at about 10 minutes walking distance from the Hotel. This charming Hotel, offers modern standards of comfort whilst maintaining the friendly and efficient service of a privately-owned and family-run business, offers the ideal base for a relaxing time and invites you for the best holidays in the sun. Fill out your free time strolling along the beaches, visiting monuments, dinning in same of the best and finest restaurants, knowing places you would not even imagine to exist. The family-run, enchanting, charming and unique Hotel Marina S. Roque, with its friendly staff and excellent location, it is the idyllic retreat in the South-east of the Algarve. Integrated in one of the most beautiful and historical sceneries of Portugal, is the ideal option for those seeking an unforgettable holiday and a memorable stay. It is a perfect starting point to explore Lagos and the Algarve Coast, of romantic cliffs, infinite beaches of fine sand and transparent waters. Whatever your holiday preference is, the Hotel Marina S. Roque is the ideal location for your dream holiday. Come and see the best the Algarve has to offer you. Come and enjoy our hospitality. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing