We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception....”
Review of Dom Pedro Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Pedro Lagos
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 24 August 2010

No confort....
Very bad fridge...
Very noisy...
Old....
Poor assistance....
Bad "ambiance"...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_veloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here for 8 nights in August 2010 after Alpharooms double booked our original apartments(Vilabranca)
I travelled with my husband and 6 year old son. We arrived in Lagos late and it took us 40 mins to locate the apartments after several calls to the reception who had very bad english.
Upon arrival we were shown to a one bedroom apartment, there was a terrible musty smell in the room.
We were so tired we dumped our bags and went to sleep. Well we thought we were going to sleep, we were located to the front of the apartments, here runs a very busy road and a train track, I think I counted 4 trains that ran throughout the night each time waking you up! So needless to say we didnt sleep!
The next morning I went down to reception n asked to be moved I was just told "we are fully booked" and walked away. I found the reception very rude.

The apartment was actually a good size, kitchen, sitting room, bathroom and bedroom with two single beds. There was a pull out sofa bed in the sitting room.
The pool was small enough but adequate, inside reception you could buy ice creams n drinks, quite expensive €2.20 for a magnum and they were €1.50 in all other shops.
We ate in the restaurant one night, Atlantico,this was nice but was expensive €84 for 3 of us, our son got a steak and we were charged €14, we ate in other restaurants in the town and price was €4.50
The location of the apartments are 1.5km from the Marina but note there is part of the road with no foothpath and its poorly lite at night. Many people walked in or got a bus and taxi back
Plus side beach was across the road!
Would I return or recommend? No, needs a complete re-vamp.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wicklowlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

i stayed here for a week in dec 2009 in a one bedroom apartment on a self-catering basis. for the money i paid (£18.00 per night) it was excellent. with paying so little, i wasn't expecting much more than somewhere to lay my head every night. i was so pleased when i got a lovely apartment with a great sea view and a large terrace. the beach was just across the road and the staff were very friendly and helpful. overall excellent value for money and i will definitely be staying here agin next time i visit Lagos.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timmytomkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Great location, right opposite beach! A 15 minute walk into Lagos, although not safe on an evening.. need a car or cab as a dirt track! Hotel staff weren't very friendly and I don't think the guy on reception looked at us once during check in!! Could be so much better as happy staff make such a difference! Clean rooms, beds so uncomfortable! A big let down! Im a flight attendant so stay all around the world and these were the worse beds i;ve ever slept in! Good pool area, nice and quiet! Ok hotel, if you can cope with a rough nights sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horbat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Just came back from a 2-Weeks vacations in the Meia Praia Beach Club and have to say; if you look for party and comfort and some staff that carries your bottom after you - that´s the wrong place! But if you; like me, want to spend a quite nice time, relaxing in the sun and want to spend this time in a quiet nice hotel with no much "whawha" with an excellent location the Meia Praia Beach Club is your place to stay! It´s a small hotel with simple furnishment in surpiselly big rooms but it has all you need and for the price it´s probably the best you can get especially because it´s just a 3 min walk awy from the beach - you just have to cross the street! Sure; the furnishment in the apartments is a little worn out and really simple but the rooms are clean and the hotel is taken well care of! The pool-which is well sized too- has been cleaned every day and so were the rooms! The hotel offers no evening-entertainment so it´s quiet and cosy in the evenings. You can have a glas of wine in the restaurant or take a 20 min walk to the city where the night-life is fun! We didn´t have no meals at the hotel `cos there are lot of nice restaurants and bars in the city plus you can prepare your own meals in the kitchenette in your apartment if you want to safe some money. As i unterstood every apartment has a well sized balcony; many of them with a seaview where you can sit on and enjoy the view. The stuff is a little "smile-shy" which may appear as unfriendly but i think it´s just the way they are :-) At least they try to help you where ever they can. We rented some bicycles and thet was fun too! You can rent some bikes directly at the hotel but better is www.algarveadventure.com :-)
I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends - so i can recommend it here!
The only thing i didn´t like about the hotel is the fact that there is no front desk- clerk there at nighttime or in the early hours when you might have to chec out - the only person you find is a nightkeeper who doesn´t speak any other language than portuguiese so checking out could become an advanture :-) but i think there are bigger problems than that!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

compared to other hotels and apts i have stayed in in tha algarvethe hotel studios were in need of refurbishment looked very shabby.the hotel reception staff were pleasant but not very informative or helpfull about the area etc.clean apts lovely views and a nice walk to the marina.stayed for a week and the towel change was on the5th day which seemed strange. all in all enjojed the holiday lagos is wonderfull but would stay elsewere

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2007

We booked into this place the morning of. It was off season and it was well worth the 28 euros per night. The place is OK for a few days with nice beach location. The furniture needs to be replaced. It is a bit worn and quite uncomfortable. Add some new curtains and bed covers and this would be more like a 3 star. Hot water runs out pretty fast. This would be a good spot for families or spring break types. I know our son decided to return with his friends the very next weekend! This place can be hard to find at night- look for the restaurant in front.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pubprisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#18 of 53 in Lagos
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#19 of 53 in Lagos
178 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#38 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £34 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Lagos 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Lagos beach club apartments Located 100 meters from the beach of the Meia Praia, featuring a large stretch of golden sand, a calm sea and natural caves, the Dom Pedro Lagos is the perfect choice for those who wish to spend some days relaxing on the beach. Guests can choose between the comfort of a studio with kitchenette or an apartment with kitchen, all of them with a large balcony, and most with a sea view. They can also enjoy separate pools for adults and children, a playground, gardens with loungers, game room and a bar. The 24-hour front desk can help to arrange popular activities in the area such as diving, water skiing, windsurfing or boat trips. Only 4km from Lagos, a traditional city in the Algarve, there are various historical monuments, the International Marina, a vibrant nightlife and a great variety of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Meia Praia Beach Club Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing