We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third visit to the montemar - be realistic :)”
Review of Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montemar
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
lincolnshire england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“third visit to the montemar - be realistic :)”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have family living near Lagos so usually stay with them , however on this occasion, as on two previous occasions this was not possible so we booked the Montemar .

This is my third stay in this hotel and I must say that it still does exactly what is says on the tin !

As previous reviewers have stated the hotel may need a bit of tlc in terms of the frayed flags , the wall hit by a car and the empty fountain ( never a swimming pool !) but in these tough economic times I can understand that these things would be quite far down the "to do " list .

We stayed for a week , we hired a car at the airport and after a journey of only one hour arrived at approx 11 , and could check straight in . we had a room on the ground floor and I was a little concerned but had no problem whatsoever .and yes the "double" is 2 beds pushed together which always leaves a gap !

The room has air con and tv that receives bbc1 and itv but we lost these after 2 days , we reported this on two consecutive days but still nothing , on the third day we returned to the room to find two staff members trying their best ! we got bbc in time to watch andy murray ! they were very apologetic about the loss of the other channel.

Ihave found the staff quite reserved but i always try my limited portugese and this seems to help !

as reported , the breakfasts are more than adequate if a bit samey , there are croissants , and fresh rolls with jam , cheese and ham and a couple of choices of cereal and yoghurts , there is only one staff member working in the morning and on occasion when something had run out , we asked and it was replenished , if you want a full english go into town and pay 5 or 6 euros ! the coffee machine is ok , I found that having a large coffee with a short coffee fit in the same cup and made it to my liking !

toiletries , personally I prefer to take my own , but if you dont they only provide the very basic , dont go expecting jo malone freebies , lol , consider the price you are paying , if you want the best of everything check in to the gale lagos ( and REALLY pay !!!)

I love lagos and we out a couple of times , Adega da Marina always excellent if you dont mind the very busy waiting staff that defo dont do " smiley " customer service , check out how many people eat there , it is worth it ! locals and tourists alike !

we didnt get chance to eat at Pizzalino this time , just across the roundabout from the hotel , they do takeaway too ! always great , I heard people leaving there as we came back from a night in town and they were singing its praises !

location - yes a bit of a steep walk back up to the hotel at the end of the day / night but it got easier as the week progressed , couple of lovely beaches nearby and even a little mini market and some eateries a couple of mins away , rather than walk down the main road into town ( past the fire station ) we crossed the roundabout an just headed down the hill , left at the spar shop then turn right and keep walking down hill and you will come out near to the golden chapel of st antonio / the square with prince henry the navigator statue . we passed the don toro steak house every night and was going to eat there but always got sidetracked ( the advertise rib eye steak with chips and salad for 10 euros - i guess we will just have to go back and try it !)

so overall - value for money , you get what you pay for !

Room Tip: higher floors would get you a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawncolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    63
    70
    35
    19
See reviews for
23
116
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Lagos and stayed in Hotel Montemar. Having read a few of the reviews we were sceptical however we were pleasantly surprised (and relieved!) that Hotel Motemar was as great as you could expect for the price you were paying.

Contary to the previous reviews; staff were welcoming, friendly and happy to help! Breakfast was served and replenished until 10 (we never got there before half 9 and there was always enough). It was reasonably simple - rolls, cereal, savoury croissants and ham/cheese - but what else would you expect for the price paid?!

The rooms were always clean, basic but more than adequate! Always had hot water - and as for the soap... bring your own?! Surely you always bring your own shampoo despite this being provided?!

Location was PERFECT! Quick walk to the nicest beaches! and not far at all into the old town - great restaurants.

All in all... you get what you pay for! And you're not going to just sit in the hotel all week (I'd hope!) so it makes a great base!! We really enjoyed and would 100% stay in Hotel Montemar again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel is a good walk from anywhere, outside is a show, walls all bashed, flags were all ripped an a small pool at the front that was just neglected, reception area was nice and clean and the only place were you can get wi fi, so hotel looks busy because alot of guests sit there to use it, the staff were very helpful though, breakfast is very sparse a plate of meat and a few bagels and as for the rooms there very minimal but were clean , felt like a prison cell (not that I have stayed in one) Lagos is beautiful an would defiantly return but would avoid staying at the Montemar even on a budget!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madalina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagos hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I wouldn't usually go on to complain about anywhere but this hotel was so bad my partner and I thought we should go on here to warn people not to go here!!!

Awful staff/service- staff were so miserable and unhelpful- management seemed the worst of bad bunch!!!

Awful breakfast- hard coissants, undrinkable coffee and hardly anything else!!!

Room- no kettle, "double room" was two single beds pushed together! Gave us two tiny bars soap at start and even though cleaners come in each day we had no soap last 3 days!! Never enough hot water- Luke-warm showers at best!

Lagos however is a great place to holiday- just stay somewhere else!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel quite close to the departure date at a very good price for bed and breakfast. As usual there was some trepidation after reading some reviews on here. Thankfully the fears were unfounded; the hotel was in a great location, was clean and the breakfast was plentiful if a little repetitive.
It was an easy stroll to a number of beautiful beaches, or into the walled old town, where bars and restaurants were situated.
A couple of negatives; our room was next to the laundry room so it was noisy after 8 in the morning, and the hotel could do with some TLC (especially outside where a car had knocked down a portion of the wall!). WiFi was free which was a bonus and the staff were usually friendly and helpful.
If your planning a stay in Lagosand you wants base to stay, this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bath_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Hotel is very good located close to center, workers are very friendly, rooms are clean and big enough for a relaxing holiday with balcon. it is a 3 star hotel, but breakfast is awful. it is a general problem in portugal, mostly breakfast is not what we waited for. Internet is only working at lobby and free. from the hotel you can easly go to the famous beach Don Ana. I recommend the hotel coz of it"s cheap price but only for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniztuzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

just got back from a great holiday, This hotel was cheap, cant fault the staff and couldnt find any faults with the cleaning. great location for us there was a short walk to town and a quiet beach just down the road. As me and my boyfriend havnt traveled abroad much the one thing i wish i had know was how cold it can get in the night! if your planning on walking from this hotel to the town you will need a warm jumper.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannahbannaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Residencial Sol a Sol
Residencial Sol a Sol
#32 of 50 in Lagos
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 50 in Lagos
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#34 of 50 in Lagos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#20 of 50 in Lagos
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.6 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Property: Montemar
Address: Lote 33-34 Rua da Torraltinha, Lagos 8600-549, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Lagos
Comfort Inn Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing