We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Lagosmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagosmar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A lovely hotel in a great central location which made getting around very easy. The hotel is kept exceptionally clean and the bedding and towels are changed very frequently. The staff were very friendly and helpful. For me, the rooftop terrace was an absolute delight as I was able to sit in the sun and still hear the musicians playing in the central square. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone but especially for those who do not want the noise and annoyance of children playing around the swimming pool, as there is no pool, just the fabulous roof terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbClose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

There is no doubt about it, The Lagosmar is a dated hotel, but that does not necessarily mean that it is not an enjoyable stay.

The hotel is centrally positioned on a quiet street adjacent to the main town square in Lagos. All facilities and attractions within Lagos easily walkable from the hotel. There is an abundant amount of café, restaurants, shops close to the hotel. You can walk to the beach in about 10 – 15 minutes. The train station is about 10 minutes away.

Whilst the appearance of the hotel inside is somewhat dated, this is no reflection on the quality of service, attentiveness of the staff at the hotel. All staff were friendly, spoke good English and were knowledgeable about the resort.

Our hotel room was on the third floor. It was basic but clean and tidy. It was a twin room to the rear of the hotel and had its own balcony, air con and ensuite. It was a decent size and there was plenty of space for clothes etc. We went in May when it was relatively quiet.

If you are after a cooked breakfast The Lagosmar is probably not your best bet because it is only a European breakfast of bread, toast, cereal and ham and cheese. It made a pleasant change for me. Although the breakfast room is poorly lit, the breakfast is fine and the service was good. At basement level there is also a bar with a pool table and sitting area which we never used. I don’t think the hotel was busy enough for it to be open.

There is however a nice roof terrace with seating, tables and sun lounges. There are good views over Lagos and beyond although it was a bit windy for us in May.

If you are hiring a car, there is no car parking directly outside the hotel. In addition, the streets around the hotel are really narrow and not really suited or deigned to accommodate large cars. Most of them are one-way and are only one car width wide. If you are not a competent driver I would not advise trying to find the hotel. There is a new fancy looking car park on the front which is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel (and is signposted). The hotel offers discount to the car park. We were lucky because we found a car parking space on a side street close to the hotel, but it took us 20 minutes of driving about to find.

Lagos as a resort is predominately filled with elderly couples and families with young kids (at least in May anyway). At night (after 11pm) it is a different resort with the night owls coming out to play from the various hostels. The good thing about the Lagosmar is that it is detached from the main strip of bars so it is not noisy.

I’d recommend the Laogsmar to anyone wanting clean and tidy accommodation on a budget. It represented better value than most of the hostels in the area and far better accommodation. It is in an excellent location for exploring Lagos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more centrally located hotel in the heart of the old town. The hotel is within easy walking distance of both the bus and railway stations. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The towels in the bathroom were changed regularly. We requested and got our own balcony which had adequate furniture. The view was mainly of the road and other buildings but we could just about see the sea. On the floor above was a large roof terrace with good views and plenty of furniture to be used by guests. There was a good basic breakfast. Free WiFi was provided. This hotel provides excellent value for money and should we ever visit Lagos again we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel or recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Hotel is basic, clean and in a very good location, on a quiet street, very helpful staff, lovely town, beautiful beaches, cliffs and panoramic views of the area. Typical breakfast, but could be more fruits and vegetables.Comfortable and clean rooms, beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicja09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was the quaintest of hotels, very clean, excellent continental breafast, shower accessable in low bath, Loved the quaint bells from the church. The sun roof was a dream lovely view. The room was cleaned every day.It was a very quiet and relaxing hotel. Most of all the staff were very kind and accomodating, a smile every day, thankyou so much for a delightful stay. This hotel is in the centre of Lagos up a cobbly road but only a few yards to the centre, so it is not too difficult if you have mobility problems. All restaurants and shops are within a few meters away. A delightful town so relaxed and friendly.

Room Tip: 110 has its own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel is clean and basic, with an excellent location: central but very quiet. There is a roof terrace affording splendid views of the marina and city, and in twenty years of international travel I have seldom met such friendly and helpful receptionists as I encoutered here.

The one reason I do not give five stars is the absolutely parlous nature of the breakfast coffee. A tremendous disappointment in a country famed for its excellent coffee. Sort out the coffee machine before I come back - and I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, basic and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P3333t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location it's a short stroll to the old town precinct which is full of shops, restaurants, bars and culture.
The hotel location is convenient if you are arriving by train, the staff will email you clear directions if requested.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#38 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#18 of 53 in Lagos
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagosmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagosmar Hotel

Address: Rua Doutor Faria e Silva 13, Lagos 8600-734, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagosmar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lagosmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagosmar Lagos
Residencial Lagosmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing