We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Lagosmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagosmar Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

An excellent refurbished hotel which is in central Lagos. Despite being in the centre, it is up from the main street and is very quiet.
Friendly staff, good breakfasts and clean bedrooms.Some rooms have balconies and it's worthwhile asking for one when you book. Prices are extremely reasonable.
I stayed there for the first time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obrigadinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    109
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
17
161
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heath Hayes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Cracking start to July, the hotel is cheap, central and very clean!
Good but basic continental breakfast, the bread rolls are wonderfully fresh!
A/c & Tv controls distributed on arrival- no hint of a deposit as in a lot of more expensive places!
The safe is the key type( which I think is a pain).
A/c fabulous! plenty of choice on the tv, I think 8 English channels.
Lagos is great, but if you want Roast beef dinner and a pint of John Smiths it wont be for you!
Thoroughly cracking.
I didn't get a balcony and there is no pool, there is a sun terrace.
Restaurante a Forja fab and reasonable!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It was hard to choose what rating to give this hotel - the hotel itself a 4, and the whole experience 2, so has to be a 3 overall I guess.

We made the booking via Booking.com, with the money, oddly, being taken the day before our stay. Unfortunately, the day before we went on holiday I lost my card that was used to book the stay. I emailed the hotel that day to say I'd lost it and would be in Lisbon before a week before coming down to Lagos, but would happily give replacement details - no reply. I luckily logged in to my email 3 days before going to Lagos, when in Lisbon, to find that my booking had been cancelled due. No phone call or previous contact, nothing. They had apparently emailed me, but there was no sign of this. After lengthy phonecalls to both Booking.com and the hotel itself, it was, apparently, impossible to reinstate the booking so we had to book again at a more expensive rate. Out of necessity, we did this in the hope of sorting out the mess on arrival.

Alas, when we arrived, we then were asked to pay for our stay at the rate the more higher rate. We asked to speak to the manager and the receptionist just said, "No, it's not necessary". We therefore had to pay the higher rate, despite it not being our fault. It wasn't much more than our stay, but it could so easily have been sorted with good customer service, such as a free glass of wine or just knocked off the extra, but nothing. Not the best start.

The place itself is very nice, and has a great location. You can walk to the beach of Meia Praia (or catch the water taxi for 60 cents) very easily, and it's at the nice end of town. It's very clean, the room was a decent size, quiet and had an excellent shower (make sure you bring your sunglasses for entering the yellow and brown bathroom). The bed was comfy and the air con worked a treat to save you after a hot day on the beach. The reception staff were generally helpful, apart from at check-in.

One of the things that stops this from getting a higher hotel rating (should really be a 3-star), is it's breakfast. It just feels cheap. The juices are very poor, it doesn't get filled up enough so get there early to avoid missing out on the croissants and other popular items. It's like they wait to see whether anyone will ask, and if they can get away with it, they won't put anything extra out. The quality is pretty low, so don't go expecting anything from average fare - but it's free which is a nice gesture. It's just a shame as it could be really good.

Overall - a very good budget option with a great location, but marred by the pre-booking process and poor problem resolution.

Room Tip: Go higher up for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed there for one night, and it was awful! A dirty toilet, hairs in the shower, and all over the night drunken persons on the floor. It was one of the most horrible nights of our life, but you get just what you pay for ...!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank saeculumZeitreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandria, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you are looking for a good and cheap hotel in Lagos this could be your best choice!!! I stayed in this hotel for a week. Everything was really good. The room was big enough, I had a terrace too. The bathroom was ok, everything was clean and the people working is very nice. The position is excellent, you need just a 10 minutes walking to the nearest beach and 10 minutes walking to the bus station. I couldn't ask for more!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefania r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A very good budget hotel. Rooms cleaned thoroughly every day, sheets and towels changed every couple of days and the comfy beds ensure a good nights sleep. Free aircon was very welcome. The staff are always friendly and helpful, they will confirm transfers and help carry luggage down the steps to the main square as there is no parking in front of the hotel. The location is excellent, in the centre of Lagos but in a quiet street, the only noise is the banging of doors from other occupants! The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the water taxi which takes you to a lovely beach. Breakfast was fairly basic but there was a selection of breads and cold meats to choose from. Our only gripe was that we didn't have a balcony/terrace which would have been nice even though there is a large roof terrace. Overall I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure that you specifically state that you require a balcony/terrace when booking although they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A good hotel in a city centre location. As I've found, two star hotels are outdoing 3/4 star hotels in the local area. Very affordable with free breakfast.

Room:

The room was spacious, clean and had a good view. TV, AC and bath and shower. Good room.

Hotel:

The hotel is located in a fantastic central location, with a terrace on the roof which has fantastic views of Lagos. They also had free wifi throughout which was very quick and reliable. We also got free breakfast which was standard but was still great value.

Staff:

Very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The staff were fantastic.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#4 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagosmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagosmar Hotel

Property: Lagosmar Hotel
Address: Rua Doutor Faria e Silva 13, Lagos 8600-734, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagosmar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagosmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagosmar Lagos
Residencial Lagosmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing