We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay in Lagos”
Review of Lagosmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagosmar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Looking for a one night stay in Lagos recently I came upon this delightful hotel where the welcome was more than anticipated. Very friendly and helpful staff make your stay that much better. The rooms are on the small side but quite adequate and the situation so close to the town center and the beaches makes this an ideal place for families and other holidaymakers. A filling continental breakfast and free internet round off a very good value experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Gozzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

its been 2 years since i stayed here,and i must say its still great value,clean,quite,nice small breakfast menu,great views from the roof with seating and sun beds,its central,near bus station and train station also the mariner,beaches,bars restaurants and shops on your doorstep,friendly helpful staff well worth stay,will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel Lagosmar is in the old citycentre of Lagos. The hotel rooms are oke and very clean. Ask for a room in the front of the hotel with a balcony. The breakfast menu is good. Some people complain about the coffee, but complaining is always easy. There are enough other drink options. Only 30 m from the hotel starts the citycentre with all restaurants and terraces. The beach is 10/15 minutes walk. When you arrive from the airport in Faro the taxistand is 50 m. from the hotel. Its cheaper to plan taxi to and from the airport in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Lagosmar has to be one of the best bargains around! For less than €30 we had a smallish but clean, bright room with 2 pairs of French doors leading onto a balcony from which we had views of the estuary. The location is excellent, being on a quiet (but steep) street just a stone's throw from the main square, and within easy walking distance of everything. Breakfast is included in the price and is reasonably good. Staff are very helpful.

Rooms vary a lot in size with those to the back being generally larger and only some rooms have balconies, so make your preference clear when booking.

The negatives? The mattress on our bed was thin and uncomfortable; a certain amount of noise carried between the rooms; and finally, the bathroom fittings and décor were definitely vintage but not in a good way. However, we have had greater problems in hotels charging three and four times as much.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot in size, and only some have balconies.........request your preference when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice place and staff at the Lagosmar run it very well. Situated in the center of the city, in 2 minutes walk to shops, restaurants, cafes. Great combination price / quality, ranked with 2 stars, but in fact I would say it should be evaluated at least as 3*** hotel. Rooms are very clean (or at least rooms where we stayed), hotel personnel is very friendly and ready to help 24 hours a day. The only thing I really missed - a cup of good coffee at breakfast. Stayed in the hotel 10 nights during the first visit to Lagos and 2 nights during the last vacation.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank OlgaR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise.Great location, great and spacious room, great and helpful service, !! Free breakfast with a good choice. Definitely good value for the money for a stay at Lagos!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Situated close to the river and many restaurants this hotel is great value. The room was spotless and appeared freshly painted. The bathroom was somewhat dated (yellow and brown colour scheme) but was clean. The check in staff were courteous and spoke good English. The breakfast room was in the basement and had many tables. There was a good selection to choose from - cereals, yoghurt, breads, meat, cheese. The coffee was a bit strange.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#39 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#27 of 53 in Lagos
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
1 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagosmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagosmar Hotel

Address: Rua Doutor Faria e Silva 13, Lagos 8600-734, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £29 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagosmar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lagosmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagosmar Lagos
Residencial Lagosmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing