We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Portofino's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #35 of 402 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: It's design is contemporary and rustic with soft lighting creating a relaxing atmosphere where you can't help but unwind especially when the sliding doors are opened to make you feel part of the marina atmosphere or enjoy the sunshine in our outside terrace providing comfortable and relaxing chairs. Famous Happy hour between 12 to 2.30 & 5.30 To 6.30 Every lunch and dinner with an extensive happy hour menu of pizza and Pasta from only 4.99 Euros. Full a la carte menu available at those times aswell open all day Full Sunday lunch menu every Sunday 3 courses for 15.95 Euros. Plus free live entertainment from Jackson Rivers a multi talented musician and singer ex glitter band , Marvin Gaye, Peter Gabrial and Joan armatrading. Come and experience one of the best dining experiences with the best views across the award winning marina towards the town.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We went to portofinos and we were a party of seven and only two people thought the meal was ok one was a starter soup and the other was risotto pizza was simple wouldn't go back just warning you don't waste your money .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    215
    83
    44
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Ate here on 8th aug 2014 and felt a bit disappointed. I think it was too busy for the number of staff they had. Our pre booked table was not ready when we arrived. Restaurant was very warm. Service was slow and we did not get full starter we ordered?? My pasta was very salty and the lady next to us couldn't eat her fillet steak as she said it tasted strange?? Overall we have eaten at many restaurants in Lagos and none have disappointed like this one. Unfortunately one we will not return to. Perhaps being Saturday it was understandable that it was so busy or are they cramming too many in?

Helpful?
Thank Bromsgrovefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After reading all the reviews was really looking forward to a great meal but ended feeling very under whelmed.
We are a party of 7 and had to book a table two days in advance, out of the 7 of us only 2 people were happy with their meals, one being a starter of soup and the Chicken Risotto. The Lasagne was bland and had no visible meat, the seafood Pasta again was bland. Pizzas nothing special.
On the plus side good service and nice setting but unfortunately we won't be going again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited early evening and just caught the happy hour deal which made it extremely good value. The male waiter was friendly and knowledgable and took time to explain the history around Portofino. Sat in a window seat which had great views of the marina but be warned it gets warm! Food was very good and wine and Peroni nicely chilled. Will visit it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

When we first visited the Marina we liked the look of this restaurant and its great views of the Marina, and because it was so busy we were turned away as no tables were available. So we booked to go back later in the week.

It was disappointing. OK so the food itself was good Italian fare for Lagos. But the service was befitting of a roadside café. Up front we were told there were fixed sittings but we thought we would have enough time for a relaxing meal.

At one stage the waiter tried to physically remove a plate from me whilst I was still eating food from it. Incredible ! When I voiced my displeasure he left but was back within minutes to take it away. The main course was finished but no dessert was offered. You better eat fast and avoid looking out the windows.

The other main complaint is that the inside was extremely hot. No air conditioning was present. It was so warm that when we finished eating we looked as if we had eaten an Indian meal rather than an Italian.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Advisor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Portofino's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing