We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and comfortable stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant and comfortable stay..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Excellent location for the two prettiest beaches Praia D'ana and Praia D'Oimbro, both a 5 min walk. Also within walking distance of Point de Piedades. The walk to town was fine for me but I imagine some might find it too hot and tiring.
Excellent grounds and well maintained pools. The room was very clean and kitchen well equipped. I have tried to load photos but it keeps freezinf so my review is also getting shorter!
Overall recommended (I had a massive suite which would be great for a family to stay in).
Restaurant food was better than town but a but pricier as one would expect.
Lagos is a lovely quiet and relaxing place to stay - take a visit to the other beach Porto de Mos -fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sareetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    112
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
178
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodø
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

We were in Portugal on our honeymoon and stayed for three days in Lagos in Costa D'Oiro Ambiance Village. This is actually the first time I feel like writing smth nice about the place we have been to. Certainly, Lagos itself is a really interesting and romantic place, but choosing this hotel is probably accounted for 1/3 of our successful trip. The villa itself looks good and nice and romantic. The room we were staying in was big and really clean (nothing to complain about!), with a nice terrace near the swimming pool. Good breakfast. But the main feature is that the personnel is friendly and helpful in all ways. Not like "american" style with big smiles, but nothing behind. I mean they actually helped us with all our requests and problems and you feel like they are trully interested. The hotel is close (5 min. walking) to a beatiful beach and about 15 min. away from famous cliffs Ponta Pedaide. We felt that city centre was easily accessible and it was not a problem to walk there for supper (though villa has a nice restaurant). Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank marinap102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

First of all we got off to a bad start. We spent hours online trying to find a suitable hotel in the Lagos area. We booked apx 2 months in advance. We read the reviews from tripadvisor.

The hotel was a little hard to find. We arrived and there were no problems checking in. We were very dissapointed with the room we got. It was very clean, however this was the only good thing about it. It was very small, had only a shower (no bath), was very dark and had little privacy, we felt very exposed. As stated when we booked, we were given a terrace. The terrace was very small, only enough room to 'get in' to your seat if you wanted to eat.

This would have been ok for us had we not spent apx 75Euros a night for the room. We could have quite easily got this standard in the center of Lagos much cheaper.

The room we were given was not that expected of a 4* hotel.

We brought our concerns to reception and they informed us that the hotel was fully booked but they would try and do their best. Early on they only were able to suggest that we move to their 'sister' hotel which would be apx 2.5km from the town or the beach (ideally you need a car). We would not accept this as we wanted to stay in Lagos. The staff were then able to leave us in the room over night and asked us to come back the following morning. We went back and to our amazement they had managed to find us a nice room in the complex.

The room we were given was everything we expected. It had a nice modern bathroom, modern bedroom with nice decor and a renovated feel. The main thing that this room had which we felt we needed were the balcony (nice modern, wood with lots of room) and a microwave (as there was no oven). We also had a bath too. None of these features were anything close in the other room.

Overall we had a fantastic stay. I think its only fair to warn other readers that this hotel does not have equal rooms.

The staff on the otherhand very very helpful. They did everything they could and were very friendly. The staff offer a 5* service, its just a shame that the hotel does not in every room.

The location of the hotel is good too, its a fairly long walk to town (15mins) but there is a lot of bars and shops on the way so the hotel is not 'in the middle of nowhere' which is what we expected. There some nice beaches nearby.

TIP: rent a car and visit the west coast of portugal, it has 100% sand beaches and giant waves!!!

  • Liked — Balcony in new room
  • Disliked — Room on 1st night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

We spent 5 nights at this hotel on B&B basis.

Location for the beach is excellent - 5 minutes walk to one of the best in Lagos. However, the walk to/ from town can be tiring if hot. We had a hire car, so used this on some occasions. There are numerous good restaurants in town for the evening meal, and the walk back afterwards does help the digestion!

Our room size was no more than adequate - there is a variety of accommodation. The bathroom was small; the door touched the basin when opened, and there was no bath, just a shower (although this was 'walk-in' and almost as big as the bathroom!). However, everything worked and was clean, so no complaints.

All rooms have a 'verandah' with table and 2 chairs. Ours was adjacent to a road/ pavement (not all have a pool view), but was OK and we did use it a couple of times.

There is a large car park next to the hotel, and road access out of Lagos is good. We spent several days exploring e.g. Sagres, Monchique, west coast beaches.

We found staff to be friendly and helpful.

We would stay here again if in Lagos (but would prefer a different room!).

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

I've stayed in Lagos over 15 times, but never that far out of town. Surprisingly, this wasn't a problem and probably more relaxed than before. However, we had been booked to stay at the main complex, but when we arrived, we were told that only a studioowas available. We were the next day moved to a beautiful Apartment, some 5 minutes walk away and received a fulsome apology from the manger with a free invite to a Portugese night and bbq which was surprisingly enjoyable. Sadly, we would not return as we could not guarantee our accomodation would what we booked.. At least we retuned a week before XL went bust!
The facilities and cleanliness were 1st class, so if you're prepared to take a chance with the accomodation......

'It was Lagos, Jim, but not as we know it'

  • Liked — Sacios. 'chill factor', facilities
  • Disliked — Not getting the apartment /complex we'd booked!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LagosLoverAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

Nearly everything in these villas-apartments is great!

Smooth check-in with nice staff, ultraclean and tastefully decorated room with kitchenette, well located for the beaches and the city centre, ..

Summing up, a great discovery!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale Lancashire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2008

A lovely place for a quiet holiday - staff always very helpful and courteous. Two lovely beaches minutes walk away and whilst a 10 - 15 minute walk into town, the exercise does you good!
Accomodation clean and lovely decor in true portuguese style.

Next time would take up Bed and Breakfast opportunity instead of Self Catering. Always room by the pool at any time of day.

We will definitely visit again

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank GNP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village

Property: Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Address: Rua Costa D'Oiro, Lote 38, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small 67 rooms & apartments Boutique hotel Costa d'Oiro Ambiance Village is located only 3 minutes’ walk from Praia D Ana and Praia do Camilo. The historic city centre of Lagos is 1 km away. The spacious guest rooms& apartments are uniquely decorated in different styles, all focusing on a Mediterranean theme. There are 4 outdoor pools, 1 covered swimming pool, massage room and free Wi-Fi. The “Restaurante do Village” offers bright, contemporary décor and a range of Portuguese dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa d`Oiro Ambiance Village Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing