We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet getaway, beach and pool holiday, we'll be back!”
Review of Clube Porto Mos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clube Porto Mos
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

we stayed here in june 2011 with our 2 children aged 3 and 5. we booked based on the reviews this property recieved. we were not disappointed! had a lovely apartment next to the pool. had some cloudy mornings but kids were happy due to heated indoor pool. grounds are well kept and standard of cleanliness excellent. Apartment was cleaned every day and we were given fresh towels every day. not overly impressed with breakfast and chose to cook or eat out on the beach on an evening. This is a very quiet location on a stunning stretch of coastline. Caught bus to Lagos one day took about 15mins and cost 1.45euro adult. Loveley old town and marina. You need to druve or get a taxi to supermarket, it cost 6 euros. There is also a Lidl and Aldi in Lagos. It was very quiet at the property with only a few people around the pool. in july and august the staff said they have an average of 50 people staying. Want to get away from it all? This is the place to come.If not hiring car beware transfer from airport at least 70eur.

Room Tip: worth paying for sea view its stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

We enjoy traveling southern Europe during the low season with our kids, now 7 and 8. Clube Porto Mos is directly on the beach (i.e. on one of the fantastic Algarve cliffs overlooking the beach). You can reach the beach either directly from the resort through a small stairway, or - if you have smaller children or are less adventurous - over the sidewalk around the front of the resort.

The beach is stunning, and - advantage of low season - we had it all to ourselves, for the ultimate feeling of exclusivity. Same goes, of course, for the resort. We had our choice of apartments and opted for a second floor unit on the first row (uninterrupted seaview), but we also looked at one of the higher rows and the seaview from there was excellent as well.

Our appartment, and indeed the entire resort, looked brand new. The kids enjoyed the small indoor pool - it was still too chilly for the outdoor pools - and, as we spent most of the day on the beach, did not use all of the facilities the resort has to offer. Front desk service, however, was outstanding; front desk manager Edna, who clearly has a passion for hospitality, was extremely helpful and quickly became our best friend in Portugal (and her colleague Patricia is equally cordial).

There is a nice little restaurant on the beach ("Antonio's"), so parents can indulge in fresh fish and the like while keeping an eye on their kids. Beyond the cliff at the far Eastern end of the beach, there is actually another, small, beach - like having your own Dona Ana Beach as a bonus. (The famous Dona Ana beach is actually a three minute drive from the resort).

Any downsides? We were lucky to enjoy the best of both worlds, i.e. warm weather during the low season; the experience with high season crowds might be different. Also, we noticed that our apartment had just one climate control unit, in the living room. Whether that's powerful enough to reach the bedroom in August (or in December) we cannot judge. In our case, both of these were theoretical; we absolutely loved the Clube Porto Mos!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank dmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here 4-8 August in apartment 1201.
Accommodation: It was lower level apartment with a lovely little garden which was great for the kids, a little home from home. It was very clean with picture postcard surroundings. 1201 was at the top of a hill which was a bit annoying but some of the apartments further down the hill weren't as private.

Location: a very peaceful location away from the centre of Lagos but a bus service just outside the hotel takes you into Lagos for 1.20 euros and a taxi coming back costs 5 euros. There is no local shops nearby,and its an uphill 20 min walk to the nearest supermarket. I would recommend going into Lagos ang going to the 'pingo' supermarket just across from the marina. Get everything you need there and pay the 5 euro taxi journey back but make sure you get a taxi tel number as the taxi rank is a fair trek away.

Beach: what can I say, the beach is to die for. Very clean and only a 2 min walk away from the apartments. The sunloungers are free (well no-one asked us to pay the three occasions we visited) and are close to the beach bar, which was a blessing for my husband. He sat at the bar while I lay in the sunlounger and the kids played in the water all in three different locations but in sight of each other. Everyone happy.

Eating Places: Only two places to eat and both are at the beach front unless you eat at the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel as we felt it wasn't value for money ie set menu was 22 euros and children 12 and over were charged an adult price. Our kids don't eat enough to make this worth while. We did try the two at the beach front and they were reasonably priced and the food was fine. For eating out you do have more choice in Lagos town.

Would I go back, in a minute!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k999Cbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by it considering we paid €100, and we were a family of four. The staff were warm and welcoming, and it has a large pool with a smaller one for children, as well as an indoor pool right beside in case you want to do laps, or shade the kids from the sun. The rooms are big and clean with a clean well equipped kitchen area. We had a great view of the sea and you can walk down the hotels beach path to get onto the beach (a moment away) where there is are two bars serving food, one more casual and one more upmarket 'Antonios' where the food is wonderful - if you love seafood try their Cataplana! I agree the only downside is their restaurant which is sterile and uninviting, but who wants to eat there anyway when there is Antonios with it views across and azure ocean anyway. Rooms closer to the beach are a little more expensive and have gardens for the kids. Hope this helps you chose.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank MsP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I stayed with one friend in november, but we did arrive late and left the next day. I was not impressed with the restaurant at all, except for the fact that it was open at 9pm. It was very plain and uninviting.

The room was basic, plain and not much to it, but the price was also incredibly low (50 euro in november, sea view) so it was worth the cost. We had a sea view and slept with the windows open to hear the ocean.

I wanted to do one of the walks to the grottos as mentioned in the previous reviews from this hotel, but the lady behind the desk had no idea what i was talking about and just wanted to sell me a map. I said that i didn't want a map but just wanted to be pointed in the right direction, and she said she didn't know. I find that unacceptable, and therefore we weren't able to do that walk with the limited time we had available.

overall, the hotel was great for the price, but i would not pay higher for what we received during the summer months. The walk to town was nice, about 20 minutes but not well marked at all. We ended up taking a boat around the rocks and caves, and for that we would have been better staying in one of the cheaper places downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

went with my adult daughter, we did a big supermarket shop on arrival and ate daytime in the spotless apartment. Evenings, after hanging round the pool all day, reading, we were glad of the 40 min stroll into town.(4-5 euros taxi) Pool cold initially, but only for a second, not a problem. Everywhere spotlessly clean.If you just want to unwind in total peace and quiet, this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterbabe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Just come back from a 5 day holiday at this hotel. The site itself is only about 5 minute drive from the city centre (or €5 in a taxi, which are regularly available), located on the cliff top overlooking Porto Mós beach. For all those thinking its walkable, think again, unless you really enjoy a 40 minute walk in 35 degrees! So car rental is a must!

Great looking surroundings, even if there is construction works just across the road (although we couldn’t hear any noise from the hotel). Swimming pool is lovely and never had problems finding a sun lounger. The apartment was clean and someone came every day to tidy it up and replace towels, etc. Reception was also very helpful, dealing with any problems we had very efficiently.

Lagos is a great city, boasting of a good atmosphere at night for all ages, quiet during the day and there is always something to do. Netherless to say, the beaches are amazing but just be prepared for the water to be a bit cooler than in the Med (as it is the Atlantic Ocean).

Overall though, a great experience and would consider going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdsre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#20 of 53 in Lagos
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Porto Mos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Porto Mos

Address: Estrada Porto de Mos - Apartado 837 | Praia do Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-902, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Family Hotel in Lagos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £41 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clube Porto Mos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunplace Clube Porto Mos' magnificent location is undoubtedly one of its main assets. Right on top of a cliff, the Clube Porto Mos offers a unique view over the beach of Porto de Mos, one of the most charismatic in the Algarve. Your family holiday in the Algarve will definitely have the sea as its focal point, since it is just one step away from the golden, sandy beach of Porto de Mos. In close connection with the surrounding nature and with an architecture that is fully focused on the ocean, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is an excellent choice for an unforgettable family holiday in Lagos. Aside from being so close to the beach, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is only about 2 kilometers (1.4Mi) from Lagos' historical centre. The Town of Lagos is home to a vast history and offers visitors today a strong cultural component to add to their holiday list. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos includes holiday apartments in Lagos where guests can choose between studio (T0) and 1 bedroom apartments (T1), as well as apartments with Twin Rooms. The apartments in this resort are tastefully decorated and very functional. The way the units are architecturally displayed ensures the sea is always present, no matter your choice of accommodation. If you dream of a family holiday in the Algarve, where you constantly have the sea on the horizon, then Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is just what you asked for. The complex also offers a beautiful pool, strategically placed amid the green and well kept gardens. In Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos you will not only enjoy a traditional beach holiday but you will also be able to relax and keep in shape in the resort's Health Club, with facilities such as a jacuzzi, sauna, gym and indoor heated pool. Guests can also play tennis at the Vila Mos - Tourist Apartments, located nearby. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos has everything you need for an absolutely unforgettable family holiday in Lagos: the superb location, within walking distance from the beach of Porto de Mos, nice and comfortable apartments and outstanding quality facilities. We're expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Clube Porto Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Porto-Mos Hotel Lagos
Clube Porto Mos Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing