We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for a peaceful holiday.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clube Porto Mos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clube Porto Mos
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location for a peaceful holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Very well designed low rise development of 14 two storey 'villa' blocks with central reception/bar/resturant facilty. Large outdoor pool with separate kids section, and small indoor pool. All this well spaced in lovely landscaped grounds. Each 'villa' has 5 appartments 3 on ground floor and two above. Our 1 bed appartment was a good size with good self catering facilities (hob and microwave no oven). Parking onsite for your hire car. Very close to beach which has a snack bar and pretty good resturant. Only downside at the moment is that Porto Mos beach area is undergoing a major development and time will tell how sympathetic this development is. Opposite the hotel is a very large building project which is nearing completion, the road outside is consequently very dusty but building noise is minimal and we were not disturbed by noise or dust at all either in our appartment or by the pool. Lagos town is walkable but took us about 40mins to get to the main bar resturant area inside the town walls. There is access to the coastal cliff walk from the hotel grounds and this is a very scenic walk east passing several coves, beaches and lighthouse on the way into Lagos. (Allow 2 to 3 hours ) with a stop at the cafe by the lighthouse. Walking west you can also get to Praia de Luz. This hotel was ideal for us but might not suit if you want to have a lively holiday close to the facilities of Lagos town. I would recommend a hire car for at least part of your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    75
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
52
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

Clube Porto Mos is a great place to stay if you want some peace but still within walking distance of the town of Lagos.
We stayed in was a one bedroom frontline apartment and there was plenty of space for us and our 15 year old daughter.
The staff were all very nice and as usual spoke perfect English.
Daytime snacks were fine at the hotel, only had one evening meal which again was very nice.
There is not any entertainment at the hotel but that is what we wanted. Lagos is about a 25 minute walk and a 5 euro taxi back to the hotel. If you don't want to bother with town there are also several restaurants about a 15 minute walk away with a great Chinese.
Lagos town is very busy in August, but plenty of places to eat and drink and if you want to stay out drinking there are plenty of bars open very very late !!
The beach is a two minute walk away and is huge, but the sea was very cold so didn't do alot of swimming in the sea. The hotel has two pools. A large family pool which again was cold and a small adults only pool.
Managed to get sunbeds whenever we were staying around the pool as there only seemed to be a few people who left towels on sunbeds all day but never used them !!
A good mix of people staying at the hotel and was always peaceful and drama free.
There is lots of building work going on, so I would imagine that this area will get more touristy and busy.
A car is great as there is only one small supermarket within walking distance (about 10 mins up hill).

  • Liked — Plenty of space
  • Disliked — No sea view
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikenchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

Just returned from a week in Cub Porto Mos wih my husband and our 2 13 year olds.Lovely big clean room with 1 bedroom and double sofa bed in lounge.Pool was surprisingly cold to the point the children only went in it once.,they much preferred the indoor pool and the jucuzzi.Beautiful setting overlooking the lovely beach.Mostly German Portugeese and Dutch families with young children.The minus points were the cold pool ,the lack of a nearby supermarket,lack of any entertainment but the biggest low point was the vampire mosquuittos!! My husband had 42 bites in total in 3 days!! My daughter had 15 !.Would defienately recommend a car so you can sample Lagos which was very quaint but very very busy.Save yourself alot of driving around and park by the Marina.
Would return with some hesitation regarding the Mozzies !!

  • Liked — VIew out to sea
  • Disliked — Mosqitos and cold outdoor pool,
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

First of all the resort is not in the middle of Lagos, it is located about 5 minute cab ride out. But it is also an easy half hour stroll and not hard to navigate. It takes two minutes to walk to beautiful Porto de Mos beach either by the road or a track from the pool, track is better as it leads you right to a top little beach side bar. The beach is great with two good bars/restaurants right on it both overlooking the sea. The resort itself is very nice with self contined apartments being the norm. It has lovely grounds a great pool and nice restaurant although a little quiet when we were there. The breakfast buffet is great and staff are very polite. Would be a fantastic place for families as it seems very kid friendly. There is a great walking jogging trail that goes all the way from the beach car park over the Praia da luz. Just watch out for the mozzies at night, and maybe not worry about paying extra sea view rooms unless you are one of the few right on the front.

  • Liked — Quality and location
  • Disliked — Mosquito's can be agressive
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

A beautiful setting, as close to the beach as you could get! A very nice pool, all outside areas being very clean and also very peaceful.
We were given a ground floor self catering apartment, which gave us everything we needed, although we had requested a higher apartment with balcony and were disappointed not to be even offered this.
Self catering needs were not well catered for in this area of Lagos, the nearest shop was at least a ten minute walk each way - and even then choice of goods were quite limited.
We had been warned of the building site opposite before our arrival, but there was absolutely no disruption or noise from this site. In fact, there are so many new complexes being built that I would imagine you would find a building site close to wherever you were staying.
Would I go again? No, but only because I like the convenience of easily being able to buy a paper or have an ice cream if I fancy it, or even enjoy a cake with a cup of coffee whilst watching the rest of the world go by.

  • Liked — Location to beach
  • Disliked — shortage of shops for self catering apartments
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

We just returned from a wonderful week in Portugal. We stayed at the Clube Porto Mos apartments in Lagos. The apartments were spacious and clean with stunning views of the coastline. We had a rental car for the duration of our stay so we did not use the facilities at Clube Porto Mos. They do have a beautiful large outdoor pool but the weather was a little cool to be spending time around the pool. We stayed in apartment 1205. This apartment was quite the hike up a steep hill. We had 2 balconies in our apartment - one from the bedroom facing west up the coast and the other facing south over the ocean and roof tops. There was a large construction site across the road from the Clube Porto Mos but it was not noisy or dusty as it was almost complete. The visual pollution from the 5 large cranes in the area was my biggest complaint. if I were returning I would ask for Villas 1 to 7 for better views and the lower elevation. The front desk area was friendly for the most part but limited English on the part of some staff members. (not a complaint on my part) They have a computer near the front desk that you can use to check and send your messages. Just insert a 1 Euro coin for 10 minutes time. The beach at Porto Mos is beautiful and clean. There are 2 restaurants at the beach that you should experience during your stay. Antonio's was our favourite. The old city of Lagos is beautiful and not to be missed!! I would highly recommend staying at Club Porto Mos and exploring the surrounding area during your trip to Portugal.

  • Liked — The fully equipped kitchen and living area
  • Disliked — The hard twin beds
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

We stayed here for the first week of October 07 in one of the sea view apartments. The sea view cost a bit extra but it was so beautiful that we were almost transfixed every time we went out onto the balcony!! Off in the distance was the azure sea, the golden beach
and sandy cliffs at Porto Mos beach, and all this natural beauty was framed by a foreground of well tended mature gardens with vibrant exotic flowers, palm trees and a smattering of deep green lawns. It was idyllic!!

The pool area, complete with overflow large pool and kiddie pool was equally attractive and we also made good use of the small indoor pool
as its water was less brisk!

The apartment was spotless and cleaned daily. But like ours, a number
of the apartments are situated up a steep slope with cobbled paths so
it might be worth requesting one lower down the hill if travellers are less able for a vigorous climb.

We were on the lookout for the 'rude' barman that other reviewers mentioned, and on the second night he duly arrived - with his morose face and unbelievably snarly manner (he should really think about leaving the service industry if he detests people so much!!). It was a pity that he let the place down like that, as all the other staff at reception and the bar were very pleasant at all times.

The only other downside of Clube Porto-Mos was that there is no shop within quick walking distance - taxis to Lagos are around 4 euro and there are two good restaurants on the beach so that wasn't a major problem after all. There is a big development being built right across the road (noise was minimal and not disruptive) so maybe a shop will open there in the future??

Highly recommended for a really relaxing time in gorgeous surroundings!

  • Liked — The view, and the pool area
  • Disliked — No shop nearby
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TreyCK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Porto Mos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Porto Mos

Property: Clube Porto Mos
Address: Estrada do Porto de Mos | Praia do Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clube Porto Mos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunplace Clube Porto Mos' magnificent location is undoubtedly one of its main assets. Right on top of a cliff, the Clube Porto Mos offers a unique view over the beach of Porto de Mos, one of the most charismatic in the Algarve. Your family holiday in the Algarve will definitely have the sea as its focal point, since it is just one step away from the golden, sandy beach of Porto de Mos. In close connection with the surrounding nature and with an architecture that is fully focused on the ocean, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is an excellent choice for an unforgettable family holiday in Lagos. Aside from being so close to the beach, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is only about 2 kilometers (1.4Mi) from Lagos' historical centre. The Town of Lagos is home to a vast history and offers visitors today a strong cultural component to add to their holiday list. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos includes holiday apartments in Lagos where guests can choose between studio (T0) and 1 bedroom apartments (T1), as well as apartments with Twin Rooms. The apartments in this resort are tastefully decorated and very functional. The way the units are architecturally displayed ensures the sea is always present, no matter your choice of accommodation. If you dream of a family holiday in the Algarve, where you constantly have the sea on the horizon, then Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is just what you asked for. The complex also offers a beautiful pool, strategically placed amid the green and well kept gardens. In Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos you will not only enjoy a traditional beach holiday but you will also be able to relax and keep in shape in the resort's Health Club, with facilities such as a jacuzzi, sauna, gym and indoor heated pool. Guests can also play tennis at the Vila Mos - Tourist Apartments, located nearby. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos has everything you need for an absolutely unforgettable family holiday in Lagos: the superb location, within walking distance from the beach of Porto de Mos, nice and comfortable apartments and outstanding quality facilities. We're expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clube Porto Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Porto-Mos Hotel Lagos
Clube Porto Mos Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing