We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clube Porto Mos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clube Porto Mos
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We enjoy traveling southern Europe during the low season with our kids, now 7 and 8. Clube Porto Mos is directly on the beach (i.e. on one of the fantastic Algarve cliffs overlooking the beach). You can reach the beach either directly from the resort through a small stairway, or - if you have smaller children or are less adventurous - over the sidewalk around the front of the resort.

The beach is stunning, and - advantage of low season - we had it all to ourselves, for the ultimate feeling of exclusivity. Same goes, of course, for the resort. We had our choice of apartments and opted for a second floor unit on the first row (uninterrupted seaview), but we also looked at one of the higher rows and the seaview from there was excellent as well.

Our appartment, and indeed the entire resort, looked brand new. The kids enjoyed the small indoor pool - it was still too chilly for the outdoor pools - and, as we spent most of the day on the beach, did not use all of the facilities the resort has to offer. Front desk service, however, was outstanding; front desk manager Edna, who clearly has a passion for hospitality, was extremely helpful and quickly became our best friend in Portugal (and her colleague Patricia is equally cordial).

There is a nice little restaurant on the beach ("Antonio's"), so parents can indulge in fresh fish and the like while keeping an eye on their kids. Beyond the cliff at the far Eastern end of the beach, there is actually another, small, beach - like having your own Dona Ana Beach as a bonus. (The famous Dona Ana beach is actually a three minute drive from the resort).

Any downsides? We were lucky to enjoy the best of both worlds, i.e. warm weather during the low season; the experience with high season crowds might be different. Also, we noticed that our apartment had just one climate control unit, in the living room. Whether that's powerful enough to reach the bedroom in August (or in December) we cannot judge. In our case, both of these were theoretical; we absolutely loved the Clube Porto Mos!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    77
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here 4-8 August in apartment 1201.
Accommodation: It was lower level apartment with a lovely little garden which was great for the kids, a little home from home. It was very clean with picture postcard surroundings. 1201 was at the top of a hill which was a bit annoying but some of the apartments further down the hill weren't as private.

Location: a very peaceful location away from the centre of Lagos but a bus service just outside the hotel takes you into Lagos for 1.20 euros and a taxi coming back costs 5 euros. There is no local shops nearby,and its an uphill 20 min walk to the nearest supermarket. I would recommend going into Lagos ang going to the 'pingo' supermarket just across from the marina. Get everything you need there and pay the 5 euro taxi journey back but make sure you get a taxi tel number as the taxi rank is a fair trek away.

Beach: what can I say, the beach is to die for. Very clean and only a 2 min walk away from the apartments. The sunloungers are free (well no-one asked us to pay the three occasions we visited) and are close to the beach bar, which was a blessing for my husband. He sat at the bar while I lay in the sunlounger and the kids played in the water all in three different locations but in sight of each other. Everyone happy.

Eating Places: Only two places to eat and both are at the beach front unless you eat at the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel as we felt it wasn't value for money ie set menu was 22 euros and children 12 and over were charged an adult price. Our kids don't eat enough to make this worth while. We did try the two at the beach front and they were reasonably priced and the food was fine. For eating out you do have more choice in Lagos town.

Would I go back, in a minute!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k999Cbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by it considering we paid €100, and we were a family of four. The staff were warm and welcoming, and it has a large pool with a smaller one for children, as well as an indoor pool right beside in case you want to do laps, or shade the kids from the sun. The rooms are big and clean with a clean well equipped kitchen area. We had a great view of the sea and you can walk down the hotels beach path to get onto the beach (a moment away) where there is are two bars serving food, one more casual and one more upmarket 'Antonios' where the food is wonderful - if you love seafood try their Cataplana! I agree the only downside is their restaurant which is sterile and uninviting, but who wants to eat there anyway when there is Antonios with it views across and azure ocean anyway. Rooms closer to the beach are a little more expensive and have gardens for the kids. Hope this helps you chose.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MsP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
335 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I stayed with one friend in november, but we did arrive late and left the next day. I was not impressed with the restaurant at all, except for the fact that it was open at 9pm. It was very plain and uninviting.

The room was basic, plain and not much to it, but the price was also incredibly low (50 euro in november, sea view) so it was worth the cost. We had a sea view and slept with the windows open to hear the ocean.

I wanted to do one of the walks to the grottos as mentioned in the previous reviews from this hotel, but the lady behind the desk had no idea what i was talking about and just wanted to sell me a map. I said that i didn't want a map but just wanted to be pointed in the right direction, and she said she didn't know. I find that unacceptable, and therefore we weren't able to do that walk with the limited time we had available.

overall, the hotel was great for the price, but i would not pay higher for what we received during the summer months. The walk to town was nice, about 20 minutes but not well marked at all. We ended up taking a boat around the rocks and caves, and for that we would have been better staying in one of the cheaper places downtown.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

went with my adult daughter, we did a big supermarket shop on arrival and ate daytime in the spotless apartment. Evenings, after hanging round the pool all day, reading, we were glad of the 40 min stroll into town.(4-5 euros taxi) Pool cold initially, but only for a second, not a problem. Everywhere spotlessly clean.If you just want to unwind in total peace and quiet, this is the place

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterbabe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Just come back from a 5 day holiday at this hotel. The site itself is only about 5 minute drive from the city centre (or €5 in a taxi, which are regularly available), located on the cliff top overlooking Porto Mós beach. For all those thinking its walkable, think again, unless you really enjoy a 40 minute walk in 35 degrees! So car rental is a must!

Great looking surroundings, even if there is construction works just across the road (although we couldn’t hear any noise from the hotel). Swimming pool is lovely and never had problems finding a sun lounger. The apartment was clean and someone came every day to tidy it up and replace towels, etc. Reception was also very helpful, dealing with any problems we had very efficiently.

Lagos is a great city, boasting of a good atmosphere at night for all ages, quiet during the day and there is always something to do. Netherless to say, the beaches are amazing but just be prepared for the water to be a bit cooler than in the Med (as it is the Atlantic Ocean).

Overall though, a great experience and would consider going back again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdsre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

When arriving at Clube Porto Mos after a 2 hour flight then a 2 and a half coach there, the gentleman at the desk as very shocked to see us, maybe of our age?? 20. He seemed very stern and when he allocated us to an apartment he just pointed to the apartment, no offer to help us with our bags or even a cheery "have a nice time."
The apartment was lovely, very spacious and had all the equiptment you needed, apart from a radio which stated on the website they would provide. (website really does need updating) But you have to pay for the safe!!!!! 1.50 a day plus 20 deposit.
The nearest beach is 5 minute walk down the road, where 2 little restaraunts are also located. The 2 of them where very nice to eat in as you looked over their terrace watching the sun go down. But the water is freezing cold!!
The restaraunt in the hotel was very basic help your self food, if we were half board i would not have been happy withthe choice, also it was very expesive for drinks, 1 tia maria and coke and a white russian came to 12 euros!!!
Before the holiday i looked at tripadvisor to see if it was rather central, and most of the reviews say that it is about 10 minute walk to the shop and 20 minutes to the center which would be fine for us, but what a shock we had! We wlaked for 40minutes before finding a grocery store and then it would have been an extra 15 minutes to get to the centre of Lagos. So everywhere we wanted to go was by taxi, around 5 euros each way which does eventually add up. But Lagos is a lovely place with a marina and loads of lovely restaraunts not really a place for partying.
The swimming pool was lovely but very cold, but the inside facilities, (sauna,swimming pool and jacuzzi) were rather dirty and the indoor pool had ants running around the edge of it.
The staff are ok there was one inparticular lady who was lovely all the rest seemed to busy to deal with us.
The cleaners were in everyday and the rooms always had fresh sheets and fresh towels.
Over all we enjoyed the holiday as we made it but the hotel did not really impress me, as one day we had no water because of all the construction work going on.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neddyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Porto Mos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Porto Mos

Property: Clube Porto Mos
Address: Estrada do Porto de Mos | Praia do Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Porto Mos 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunplace Clube Porto Mos' magnificent location is undoubtedly one of its main assets. Right on top of a cliff, the Clube Porto Mos offers a unique view over the beach of Porto de Mos, one of the most charismatic in the Algarve. Your family holiday in the Algarve will definitely have the sea as its focal point, since it is just one step away from the golden, sandy beach of Porto de Mos. In close connection with the surrounding nature and with an architecture that is fully focused on the ocean, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is an excellent choice for an unforgettable family holiday in Lagos. Aside from being so close to the beach, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is only about 2 kilometers (1.4Mi) from Lagos' historical centre. The Town of Lagos is home to a vast history and offers visitors today a strong cultural component to add to their holiday list. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos includes holiday apartments in Lagos where guests can choose between studio (T0) and 1 bedroom apartments (T1), as well as apartments with Twin Rooms. The apartments in this resort are tastefully decorated and very functional. The way the units are architecturally displayed ensures the sea is always present, no matter your choice of accommodation. If you dream of a family holiday in the Algarve, where you constantly have the sea on the horizon, then Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is just what you asked for. The complex also offers a beautiful pool, strategically placed amid the green and well kept gardens. In Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos you will not only enjoy a traditional beach holiday but you will also be able to relax and keep in shape in the resort's Health Club, with facilities such as a jacuzzi, sauna, gym and indoor heated pool. Guests can also play tennis at the Vila Mos - Tourist Apartments, located nearby. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos has everything you need for an absolutely unforgettable family holiday in Lagos: the superb location, within walking distance from the beach of Porto de Mos, nice and comfortable apartments and outstanding quality facilities. We're expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clube Porto Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Porto-Mos Hotel Lagos
Clube Porto Mos Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing