We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa da Moura
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villas D. Dinis(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Lagos Hotel(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lagosmar Hotel(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
87
54
22
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
54
22
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoorish stylefirst floorcooked breakfastsmall poolsitting areaevery morninghotel is locatedenjoyed our staybeachesapartmentadriannacasa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We really enjoyed the stay here. We stayed for a week and thought it was a great spot. We had no problems with the air conditioning, but we agree with most of the comments about how the front desk wasn't manned often to ask questions - also the evening manager didn't speak English which made that tough. They arranged transportation for us to and from the airport and the driver was punctual and very helpful! We also enjoyed the breakfast a lot, we are not morning people and don't usually wake up for breakfast on our trips, so when we went most mornings that says a lot. Fresh fruit, cereals, yummy cheese and eggs made to order. Yum!

Our one complaint is that there is a local dog that woke us up several of the mornings around 6:30am barking for over an hour. My husband was looking around the hotel for someone who works the front desk to see if they could help out with the dog situation and didn't find anyone there. Also, this dog had a tendency of pooping right outside the hotel and nobody was around to pick it up - gross!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the hotel and had mixed feelings.

Pros
Our unit had 2 spacious rooms

While the breakfast was not the best I had in Portugal, it still had a nice selection of cheeses, sausages, baked goods, and fresh orange juice.

The theme was a nice touch

The hotel is reasonably quiet for being inside the city walls and is convenient to restaurants and the beaches

Water bottles were frequently provided

Great views from the terrace

Cons
Needs some upkeep - we had burned out lights in our room, several items really could use a good painting, tile was definitely showing its age,and things were starting to look a bit shabby

Our room was on the bottom floor. There was a small AC unit on the opposite side of the unit, but it was inadequate to cool the unit off - especially the bedroom. While there was a nice cool breeze at night, I was not comfortable sleeping with large, low windows open. You really needed 2 windows open to get the breeze. One opened directly into the courtyard and pool area; the other directly into an alley (while access seemed a bit restricted, it still looked easy for someone to hop over the far wall).

Staff was sometimes hard to find and did not speak much English

Our bed for 2 people was just 2 twin beds pushed together. If anyone laid between them, they would start to push apart.

While the square has several parking spots, it was usually full in July during midweek. Luckily there was an open spot when I showed up and I did not move the car during my stay. I would not count on an open spot during high season.

I thought it was a bit cheesy to leave some food in my room when I checked in, but to remove it when cleaning it the first day. I went to get some food only to find it had since been removed.

The full breakfast was not usually set up until about 15- 20 minutes after it was supposed to start

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Nice B&B, only 8 rooms. The reception staff didn't speak much english so it was a struggle to communicate. Breakfast was nice, although struggled to have the cooked breakfast how we wanted (ie hard boiled eggs). The aircon broke in the room and very too hot for one night, repaired within 24hours. Reception not always manned, so it was difficult to borrow items like iron, they only had 1 to lend out & was taken when the room was cleaned. Rooms cleaned daily and lovely little kitchen area. Was given a bottle of champagne when we arrived, but disappointed to find the available to everyone for breakfast every morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffypinksoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Absolutely one of our favorites of all the places we've stayed. Dark, cool, and calming, with the most amazing views of Lagos. Breakfast is on a terrace that overlooks the city. It's a small hike to get to the hotel but totally worth it! My husband and I were traveling the Algarve and attempted to cancel our hotel in Sagres to stay at Casa da Moura for another night, we loved it that much. We'll definitely make this a "return to" place for our travels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A wonderful little guest house near the wall of the old city. We stayed for 5 nights on our honeymoon. We gave it 4 stars due to the amazing friendly staff that made us feel at home, the wonderful breakfasts that were served every morning (truly a highlight) and the spacious room with moorish décor – lovely. It's a 5 minute walk to the centre and there's parking at the end of the block (it's not just for the guest house, but there was always a spot). It's a very comfortable understated place to relax.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying on the second floor at the back if possible and moved upstairs on our second night, fantastic. They're bigger and not at street level.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews