We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful charming hotel”
Review of Casa da Moura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa da Moura
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here a few years ago in a beautiful suite adjacent to the pool where the patio doors opened to the pool area. The rooms were beautiful with touches of Moroccan décor. The breakfast was served on the rooftop which included all sorts of fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juice. The owner as well as the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. If I return to Lagos, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This small place is a wonderful place to stay. Really great service and so many little things they do to make you truly welcome. Very customer focused, comfortable and well located. Unbeatable at the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited the Casa da Moura in September 2013 for 10 days. From the moment we arrived to the very moment we left we were so impressed. From the very personal touches, flowers on arrival for my girlfriends birthday to the bringing forward of breakfast by 30 mins on the last morning so we could eat before we left for our plane home. The room was huge and rustic with a large balcony. The breakfast like previously stated was fantastic. Fresh orange, you squeeze it yourself, Fresh fruit, large selection of cheeses and meats and even cake, a new one most mornings. I really cannot recommend this hotel enough. A huge thank you to all the staff for making our holiday a great one.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Casa da Moura is decorated with Moroccan style. Everything is beautiful and attention was payed to alldetails... everything is impecable. It's located in the old city center, within the walls and from the roof (where breakfast is served) you have a great view. At our last day we've lost our car keys and the staff was extremely helpful trying to solve that huge problem that almost finished our vacations! Without them we wouldn't probably make it. We are very thankful to them. I highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RicardoIspra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We really enjoyed the stay here. We stayed for a week and thought it was a great spot. We had no problems with the air conditioning, but we agree with most of the comments about how the front desk wasn't manned often to ask questions - also the evening manager didn't speak English which made that tough. They arranged transportation for us to and from the airport and the driver was punctual and very helpful! We also enjoyed the breakfast a lot, we are not morning people and don't usually wake up for breakfast on our trips, so when we went most mornings that says a lot. Fresh fruit, cereals, yummy cheese and eggs made to order. Yum!

Our one complaint is that there is a local dog that woke us up several of the mornings around 6:30am barking for over an hour. My husband was looking around the hotel for someone who works the front desk to see if they could help out with the dog situation and didn't find anyone there. Also, this dog had a tendency of pooping right outside the hotel and nobody was around to pick it up - gross!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the hotel and had mixed feelings.

Pros
Our unit had 2 spacious rooms

While the breakfast was not the best I had in Portugal, it still had a nice selection of cheeses, sausages, baked goods, and fresh orange juice.

The theme was a nice touch

The hotel is reasonably quiet for being inside the city walls and is convenient to restaurants and the beaches

Water bottles were frequently provided

Great views from the terrace

Cons
Needs some upkeep - we had burned out lights in our room, several items really could use a good painting, tile was definitely showing its age,and things were starting to look a bit shabby

Our room was on the bottom floor. There was a small AC unit on the opposite side of the unit, but it was inadequate to cool the unit off - especially the bedroom. While there was a nice cool breeze at night, I was not comfortable sleeping with large, low windows open. You really needed 2 windows open to get the breeze. One opened directly into the courtyard and pool area; the other directly into an alley (while access seemed a bit restricted, it still looked easy for someone to hop over the far wall).

Staff was sometimes hard to find and did not speak much English

Our bed for 2 people was just 2 twin beds pushed together. If anyone laid between them, they would start to push apart.

While the square has several parking spots, it was usually full in July during midweek. Luckily there was an open spot when I showed up and I did not move the car during my stay. I would not count on an open spot during high season.

I thought it was a bit cheesy to leave some food in my room when I checked in, but to remove it when cleaning it the first day. I went to get some food only to find it had since been removed.

The full breakfast was not usually set up until about 15- 20 minutes after it was supposed to start

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Nice B&B, only 8 rooms. The reception staff didn't speak much english so it was a struggle to communicate. Breakfast was nice, although struggled to have the cooked breakfast how we wanted (ie hard boiled eggs). The aircon broke in the room and very too hot for one night, repaired within 24hours. Reception not always manned, so it was difficult to borrow items like iron, they only had 1 to lend out & was taken when the room was cleaned. Rooms cleaned daily and lovely little kitchen area. Was given a bottle of champagne when we arrived, but disappointed to find the available to everyone for breakfast every morning!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffypinksoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.3 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 53 in Lagos
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#27 of 53 in Lagos
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Moura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Moura

Address: Rua Cardeal Netto 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £37 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Moura 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historic manor in Lagos, these apartments are a 10-minute walk from a sandy beach. The complex has an outdoor pool with sun-lounger terrace and offers air-conditioned accommodation with balconies and panoramic views.Casa da Moura apartments feature terracotta floors, woven rugs and Moroccan décor. They include a living area with a sofa and satellite TV and a kitchenette with cupboards for storage.In the morning, guests can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrace. Offering a wide range of quality products with part of the offer being alternated every second day.Several restaurants serving local cuisine are situated less than 2 km away.Guests can benefit from the laundry and ironing services. A car hire service is available and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property.Casa da Moura is a 5-minute walk from the Church of Saint Anthony and is 500 meters from Meia Praia Beach Lagoon. Free public parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Casa da Moura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Moura Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing