We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Value”
Review of VitaSol Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VitaSol Park
Ranked #18 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in VSP for 2 weeks -end Aug/ Early Sept. The apartment was first class, very spacious, all facilities - including the " Kettle" for boiling water. Well maintained - twice weekly change of linen and cleaning. The staff were very helpful both in reception and the housekeeping staff. gardens and grounds were beautifully manicured - watered twice a day, place was swept on a regular basis - by hand. The swimming pool was lovely - nicely situated beside the bar . The lunch time snacks seem reasonable and moderately priced. See comments below re breakfast.
My only complaints - we booked the buffet breakfast in advance - A BIG MISTAKE. For the duration of our holiday the menu never changed - 10€ per head for cornflakes/croissants/coffee/juice- or continental ham and cheese with rolls. NO Tea , fresh fruit ,toast,yogurts - no variety. There was some attempt to povide fruit at one point - there seemed to put 5 lazy lemons - going green or limes going yellow together with 2 apples - one of which was rotten . When I asked at the counter if there was any choice - I got a shrug of the shoulder and told that she didn't understand. ! The juice was concentrate - always orange juice or apple juice ! The coffee from a dispenser was 2nd rate.
We booked the coach - in advance - big mistake - it tooke over 2 1/2 hrs on our journey from Faro to Lagos. On a hot day in a rickety bus. I was told afterwards that a taxi would have cost less and would take 50 minutes !

NOt withstanding the latter comments I would go back to the apartments - there is also a lillt mini-mercado on the fron of the complex which supplies fresh bread & croissants every morning.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment which proced to be an excellent choice - it had a balcony at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BISHBOY47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    124
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
120
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the Vitasol park from the 20th July for for 2 weeks,there was 10 of us in total!!.We all really enjoyed our stay at these apartments.The apts were very spacious and clean,the pool was really nice,the poolside bar served some tasty snacks (beer was very pricey!!!) but food was well priced.The gardens on the complex were kept immaculate (watch out for the sprinklers!).The walk to the marina and the Pingo Doce took about 10mins and the town centre was 20mins away.This was our first time in Portugal and we found Lagos was a brilliant place.We would definatley come back and stay at these apartments again in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyneandWearWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Vita Sol. I was a little wary, from viewing photos and google earth as it does not initially look very 'holiday' ish and on arrival the blocks of apartments do look a little municipal housing - but do not let this put you off. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment for 6. The apartment is large and the balcony even larger! The beds are a little hard but none of us found this to be a problem and the bedsettee was comfy. The kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker, washing machine and dishwasher. As we had read previous reviews we came equipped with washing tablets and detergent. We found a little coffee pot and lid which we used to heat water up on the hob - therefore no bother about the lack of kettle. we even made proper coffee using a sieve! The apartment and the whole complex was very clean. There were towels for the six of us (plus some spare) and enough loo rolls (they got replaced when the cleaners came in - twice in the week). The girl in reception was very friendly and spoke very good English. We gradually got used to the residential feel of the place and most people there do seem to be on holiday.
The gardens were immaculately kept and the area around the pool was particularly nice with small trees providing shade and grassed areas to sunbathe on. We always managed to find a sunbed (even mid-August) and noticed that many people leave the pool at lunch time anyway. The pool was lovely to swim in. My kids (age 15,13 and 8) did get told not to throw a beachball around in the pool but this didn't bother us. The lack of inflateables didn't seem to spoil their enjoyment as they were still able to dive /jump/divebomb!!!! You need to give a euro deposit for a pass to the pool but this is returned on the last day. We did not use the restuarant but they did not seem very friendly when I went for an icecream. There are toilets just behind the restaurant and also a shower which we found to be handy on our last day.
We used the little supermarket just outside the complex to buy rolls and fresh croissants, milk, eggs etc. We bought a sun parasol and 2 body boards from the paper shop next door (very cheap compared to other shops in Lagos). There is a very good supermarket within walking distance - turn right to go down the hill, then take the second right (at an angle) go down here, cross the main road at the bottom and the supermarket is a little walk to the right, over another road. In this supermarket we bought fresh fish and meat and had loads of lovely fruit and salad. It was very reasonable compared to UK prices. We only ate out twice - meals did seem very reasonable - about 7-10euros for main courses. There is so much choice in Lagos at night - the atmosphere was wonderful and still as busy at midnight as it was at 8pm.
We didn't have a car and managed perfectly well without one. The complex is about 10mins walk down the hill to the marina. The hill is much talked about on reviews for this place but we found it not as bad as anticipated - it is not a long hill and when you've walked in the heat from the beach it is a welcome sight as you know you are nearly home when you reach the hill!! The walk to preia meia beach is a long 20 mins in the heat - we found it useful to have a rest at the station as there is air con just outside the door plus loos. The beach itself was wonderful - a long stretch of clean sand and lovely sea - I can highly recommend the pedalos with slides. We also got the little train from outside the foot bridge on the marina - this takes you to the light house near the grottos over the other side of lagos and also calls at preia Camillo on the way and preia Ana on the way back. It costs 2.5 euros. Both these beaches are great for snorkelling but were impossibly crowded.
My daughter and I took a kayaking trip with days of Adventure - highly recommended - kayaking through the grottos - quite exciting and a beer on the way back.
We used yellowfish.com taxi firm - they were excellent - met us at the airport, spoke very good English and were reliable in that they turned up on time to return us to the airport. it cost 160 euros for the 6 of us.
Loved the holiday and would return to this apartment

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights at the end of July/ beginning of August. I found the reception staff to be extremely helpful and we quickly found our apartment.

We had a 2 bed apartment and it was one of the best self catering apartments we have ever stayed in. Really well equipped- yes, no kettle, but a saucepan with a handle which was fine for hot drinks. The beds were a little hard but no worse than other apartments we have stayed in. The second bedroom had plenty of room for my 5 yr old as well as a cot for my 10 month old. My only moan would be that for the last few nights we had a very noisy family above us. They were up late, running around etc which was pretty tedious when you're a family with young children but perhaps it's to be expected in apartments? The apartment was an excellent size.

The complex itself is fine. We liked the underground parking as it kept the car cool. The pool was fine and we rarely had problems finding a bed. I didn't find the pool too cold (especially as we'd been to praia de Luz beach and the water there was flipping freezing!) but the wind did get up a bit at times which did make it a little chilly occasionally. There is a nice playground which is within the pool fencing so you don't have to worry about your children wandering off ( obviously keeping an eye on them with the pool in mind!)

We did find it a bit of a trek in to Lagos with 2 small children but we still did it twice and lived to tell the tale! We ate in most nights so it wasn't really an issue for us. Some sort of children's entertainment would be the icing on the cake!

We had a super holiday and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We visited Vitasol park in June/July 2012 arriving in the early hours. To the left of the entrance opposite the reception office is a security office, the nice man with very limited English skills gave us our key and a map of this gigantic place. We did find our room pretty easily though, and found it to be clean and well equipped except for maybe a kettle! We used the microwave and the small pot on the hob. One thing I would suggest is for the management to replace the beds, we had two singles and a pullout sofa. The beds were pretty rickety and my partner brought in the sofa-bed in the end to sleep on as his was so uncomfortable!
The Apartments are located on what seems to be gigantic complex, with the swimming pool & bar in the middle with the apartments surrounding it. Previous reviewers had mentioned being charged for the pool but this was not the case for us. We paid 2 Euros for 2 passes that you swipe each time you want to get into the gated pool area, the Euros were returned to us as we left and returned the swipe-cards. One warning, the pool was freezing! To be honest we only spent 2 late afternoons here preferring a beach just outside of Lagos. The bar was reasonable, but I will say there is not any form of entertainment here on a night and does let Vitasol down, for those not wishing to go out. There is a couple of shops located just outside the entrance of the apartments and these were pretty well stocked and again reasonably priced, although the large supermarket - (right of the roundabout at the bottom of the hill) is much cheaper. I have to say all the staff seemed really nice and were completely pleasant. The hotel is based at the top of a hill which although we are pretty fit can be a trek in the heat. We noticed that most people had cars, which we hired for a short period later in the holiday, I feel that if you are staying here, a car is a must if you are elderly, have kids or generally unfit as otherwise the hill could be a killer.
I would say honestly that the complex is about 10 minutes to the marina and 20 from the town center. We walked to Praia Meia (closet beach) and this took us at least 20 minutes.
Personally I loved Lagos, but maybe I would stay somewhere closer to the town center as it did get tiresome after 10 days of trekking up the hill 2-3 times a day. . It would be ideal for a family, with a car that do not go out much on a night. I would stay here again as it had a really pretty setting but only with a car.
I will review Lagos in its own section

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited Vitasol park in June/July 2012 arriving in the early hours. To the left of the entrance opposite the reception office is a security office, the nice man with very limited English skills gave us our key and a map of this gigantic place. We did find our room pretty easily though, and found it to be clean and well equipped except for maybe a kettle! We used the microwave and the small pot on the hob. One thing I would suggest is for the management to replace the beds, we had two singles and a pullout sofa. The beds were pretty rickety and my partner brought in the sofa-bed in the end to sleep on as his was so uncomfortable!
The Apartments are located on what seems to be gigantic complex, with the swimming pool & bar in the middle with the apartments surrounding it. Previous reviewers had mentioned being charged for the pool but this was not the case for us. We paid 2 Euros for 2 passes that you swipe each time you want to get into the gated pool area, the Euros were returned to us as we left and returned the swipe-cards. One warning, the pool was freezing! To be honest we only spent 2 late afternoons here preferring a beach just outside of Lagos. The bar was reasonable, but I will say there is not any form of entertainment here on a night and does let Vitasol down, for those not wishing to go out. There is a couple of shops located just outside the entrance of the apartments and these were pretty well stocked and again reasonably priced, although the large supermarket - (right of the roundabout at the bottom of the hill) is much cheaper. I have to say all the staff seemed really nice and were completely pleasant. The hotel is based at the top of a hill which although we are pretty fit can be a trek in the heat. We noticed that most people had cars, which we hired for a short period later in the holiday, I feel that if you are staying here, a car is a must if you are elderly, have kids or generally unfit as otherwise the hill could be a killer.
I would say honestly that the complex is about 10 minutes to the marina and 20 from the town center. We walked to Praia Meia (closet beach) and this took us at least 20 minutes.
Personally I loved Lagos, but maybe I would stay somewhere closer to the town center as it did get tiresome after 10 days of trekking up the hill 2-3 times a day. . It would be ideal for a family, with a car that do not go out much on a night. I would stay here again as it had a really pretty setting but only with a car.
I will review Lagos in its own section

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've stayed at the Vitasol 3 times in 5 years and have always enjoyed staying there. The apartments are large, modern, and well equipped, although some of the furniture and fittings are starting to look a bit tired and could do with replacement. The sofas in particular are past their sell by date and I wouldn't fancy sleeping on one for more than a couple of nights.

Almost everything you could need is there including a microwave, toaster and iron, but be warned there's no hairdryer or kettle so bring your own if you need them. The selection of TV channels has shrunk and there's not as much choice compared to previous years, but you do get BBC World, CNBC and Eurosport Germany which was enough for us to keep up to speed with the start of the Olympics.

The swimming pool and grounds are lovely, and because the apartments are at the top of a hill overlooking the marina there are great views and it's quiet at night. It's only 10 mins walk to the nearest bars and restaurants, and about 20 mins into the centre which helps build up your appetite. If you don't fancy walking home a taxi only costs about 5 Euros. We've always hired a car and parking at the Vitasol is fine with allocated underground spaces. It's also very easy to find your way around the Lagos area and the beaches at Burgau or Salema are well worth driving to.

The only real negative was that we had to leave for our flight home at 8am and reception was supposed to be open for us to return our room and safety deposit box keys, but despite waiting 10 mins no-one arrived to open up and we couldn't wait any longer. We therefore had to leave the keys in a letter box and were unable to get our 20 Euros deposit back - not impressed!

We would definitely go there again and have always got a great deal viaTravel Republic, but I do think the apartments need some TLC in the near future if they're going to remain as good as they've been.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor apartment as you'll get better views and no noise from people dragging furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalban55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#22 of 52 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VitaSol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VitaSol Park

Property: VitaSol Park
Address: Rua Quinta do Landeiro | Alto da Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-302, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — VitaSol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitasol Park is a modern complex crossed by an artificial watercourse, on the top of the historical and bustling city of Lagos and the marina, providing unique views of the city, the beach of Meia-Praia, marina and mountains. Surrounded by large gardens and leisure areas, Vitasol Park is waiting for you for those relaxing holidays that you deserve! Composed by small blocks of 4 floors, all with lift, with spacious one and two-bedroom apartments with large balconies and equipped kitchens, Vitasol Park is the ideal place to pass your days in the most relaxing way, without leaving "home", enjoying our many facilities as pool for adults, restaurant, tennis courts and children's pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your VitaSol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitasol Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing