We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, but a bit dated”
Review of VitaSol Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VitaSol Park
Ranked #19 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super location, but a bit dated”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are a family of four with 2 teenage children that had a week at Vitasol in July 2013.
I can only agree with all the previous comments - lovely location on a steep hill (but really not that bad!), huge apartments, excellent power shower, lovely and helpful staff and 10 mins from the town and beach. So I have decided to give you some helpful tips instead:
1. If you are travelling with children, or you are more than 2 people, you have to book a 2 bedroom apartment. The sofa bed in the lounge is terrible! We asked for an extra mattress to be put on top as it was so thin. This was no problem at all and the beds were made up within half an hour. But the bed squeaked terribly and consequently, our children did not sleep very well.
2. Ask for a ground floor apartment. You get an enormous terrace and you can close it off with blinds if it gets too hot or too windy.
3. It does get quite windy in Lagos, so take a cardigan for the evenings.
4. Remember there is free underground parking if you have a rental/own car.
5. Yes the hill is steep, but it really isn't that bad. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the old town and I am not a fit person.
6. If you have a car, there are som really big supermakets in the town where you can stock up.
7. The little shop next to the complex is not too dear. We priced the essentials against the bigger supermarkets and the prices were generally the same. You can also buy international newspapers and fresh baked bread.
8. We had a week at Vitasol and the rooms were cleaned and changed twice.
That's it. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    124
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
120
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Vitasol is located atop a hill. It's a 15 min walk to the nearest beach, which is the best beach, and a 15-20 min walk to the town. It's about 10 min to the largest supermarket in Lagos (which is great for getting your money's worth from the apartment). The unfortunate part is that while you ll be enjoying the walk down the hill, you ll be hating the walk back up (especially if you're carrying heavy groceries).

The apartment was dated, and this was most noticeable in the lack of comfort provided by the bed and it's pillows. However, the apartment was large and the bathroom was great. The pressure for the shower was excellent and there was always hot water.

The best part of Vitasol is the manager, who was extremely nice and accommodating. He helped us tremendously, and was a pleasure to deal with.

Overall, I recommend Vitasol to budget travellers. Moreover, save your money on the stay, and spend it on the excursions. Dolphin watching is a must (25€), and surfing with Andre (55€) was actually the best thing ever (all day and excellent lesson!).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklinTheJokester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just come home after a week self catering. The apartments are huge. They are supplied with everything needed apart from a kettle. We asked reception for one and it was brought within half an hour. There is a good washing machine, electric cooker and a huge fridge.
The bedroom was very nice, comfy double bed and aircon/heater.
The beds were changed 3 times in the week.
The towels were very white, soft and plentiful. These were changed daily.
The apartment was very clean and the balcony was nicely furnished and large.
The areas around the apartments were beautifully kept.
Bad points!
They are situatated at the top of a very steep hill. Its half an hour walk down to Lagos centre and a good hour walk back due to the hill. There are only 2 shops on the complex which are very expensive.
The pool area is very nice but down a hill with lots of steps back up. The bar was closed due to arguments as to ownership, so no drinks or food was available around the pool area. Awfull !!
Taxi from Lagos centre to the apartments cost 5 euro one way, which we did for the first few days. We then hired a car form LUZ cars since we spent a second week in ALVOR. LUZ cars were the cheapest and very good, fully comp and no hassel. They can be found behind the garage opposite the marina in Lagos.
Would I go back? Cant fault the apartments themselves but found them a bit isolated, so NO.
Also the reception is only open 9-1 then 3-7. We arrived at 1.30 and had to sit outside waiting since there is nothing close by to have a drink or even a sit down area. Not a good start to a holiday.
Also there is no internet available unless you stand outside the reception area.

Room Tip: There are lifts to the apartments. Also a garage for any car hire. We had a 3rd floor apartment and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Arrived home today after 7 days at Vitasol Apartments. I travelled with my daughter and grandchildren. The apartment was enormous, somewhat palacial. After 2 days with sun until 2.pm we requested a sun terrace in the evening and were transferred to another apartment.
The staff were most helpful. I would highly recommend this complex to any one. The only negative is that the gas hob did not shut off automatically and could be potentially dangerous.
Washing machine,dish washer more than I have at home.
Fantastic apartments.

Room Tip: If you like to see the sunrise choose an east facing balcony. If you prefer sun in the evening pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epping
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

11/5/13-19/5/13
These apartments are top grade,roomy modern & large,block 24/25 has great outlook over pool & park, only problem was cleaning only twice in the week.We had half board this was continental
breakfast which was brought to you at 9am with fresh hot rolls every morning.Evening meal you went to A MATILDE Restaurante about 10 mins walk which you had a fixed menu which had about 10 meat 4 fish,omlettes & salads to choose from soup of day 4 sweets & a free drink could not get much better and the husband & wife really looked after you.Aparts were about 15 mins walk from beach up hill coming back.Pool area was surrounded by trees & grass it was great holiday ( weather never played the part wind strong rain & some sun).

ROY & family
EPPING

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EppingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This place offers fantastic value for money. The apartments were originally built to be lived in permanently and as a result, are spaciuos, well equipped (for example, washing machines are provided), and the standard of finish and decoration is excellent.

We were incredibly lucky to have a balcony on the top floor of the corner of one of the blocks overlooking the sea to the left, with the town ahead and the football stadium and airfield to the right. The views from this private balcony were fantastic and it offered a peaceful place to sit and relax. I should also point out that the balcony was approximately half the size of the open-plan lounge/kitchen area and so it was definitely not cramped!

Aside from the finish of the apartment, the rest of the site was clearly well-maintained and the pool with seating offered a nice alternative to the trek to the beach! My only negative is the cost of drinks from the bar seems a tad expensive, but then again that's to be expected from a hotel bar!

In terms of service, the lady on reception could not have been more helpful and was lovely to deal with. Also the cleaners were very friendly and attentive and all crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils had clearly been dishwashed prior to our arrival.

This is a fantastic place to stay and represents good value for money.

Room Tip: For far-reaching views and tranquility, request an apartment on the top floor overlooking the footba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The vitasol park was a great holiday there was 14 of us in total!!! Poolside was kept very clean pool checks every so often to check the chloreine levels,very trust worthy with your belongings a few robberys were made beside the pool including an iphone, so keep posessions in your bags at all times when you are not using them.Food was lovely, there is always a sunbed so you don't have to go down early in the morning to grab them quick.Rooms were kept clean maids can every 2 days. There is a refrigerator an oven a microwave one twin room (two single beds with two single wardrobes, ironing boards and iron,dustpan and brush.drinks were pricey. our faverourite cocktail bar was the one that was at the marina and the barmans name was carlos. there is alot of reasturants to go to, especially if you are brithish you have to go to the only fools and horse bar as it has reasonable prices, and if you want a taste of britain that's the place to go.I am going next year on the 17 of august for two weeks and a day.Overall i think the vitasol park deserves a 10/10 and five stars from us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magpie-mad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#22 of 52 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VitaSol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VitaSol Park

Property: VitaSol Park
Address: Rua Quinta do Landeiro | Alto da Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-302, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — VitaSol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitasol Park is a modern complex crossed by an artificial watercourse, on the top of the historical and bustling city of Lagos and the marina, providing unique views of the city, the beach of Meia-Praia, marina and mountains. Surrounded by large gardens and leisure areas, Vitasol Park is waiting for you for those relaxing holidays that you deserve! Composed by small blocks of 4 floors, all with lift, with spacious one and two-bedroom apartments with large balconies and equipped kitchens, Vitasol Park is the ideal place to pass your days in the most relaxing way, without leaving "home", enjoying our many facilities as pool for adults, restaurant, tennis courts and children's pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your VitaSol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitasol Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing