We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay extra for a pool view... you get what you're given!”
Review of VitaSol Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VitaSol Park
Ranked #19 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We traveled here in September 2012, we booked 2 apartments and paid extra for a pool view, 4 adults and one 8 year old. I think we paid about £930 Total! That is for flights accommodation and transfers, bargain, we booked with Travel Republic.

The journey from the airport to the apartments seemed to take hours (it was probably 3 hours) We know the area as we have visited Portugal a few times and believe me we went in circles dropping everyone off. My advice is pay extra and book a private taxi, the shuttle was a nightmare! It should only take an hour maximum.

On arriving at the Vitasol (used to be called Marina Park) we went to reception and received our room keys, we later realised that we had not got the rooms we paid for :-( we were tired so we went back to reception and asked if it was possible to change to the pool view rooms we had paid for the lady told us it was not possible today but to come back tomorrow and she would see. I think the lady on reception was called Suzanna she was very nice and helpful.

The rooms we were initially given were fine but did not have the pool view we requested and also had ants everywhere, the next day they moved us and we were more than happy and we had the large balcony and pool view which we paid for. Whilst in reception I overheard another couple complain they had not received the upgraded rooms they paid for however they would not move them! BE AWARE.The apartments are huge, clean and even have washing machines! the sofa beds are not comfortable but we used the pull out bed for Ryan (who is 8)

There was no entertainment on the whole of our stay, the food was basic but nice and reasonable at the pool restaurant/bar. The food elsewhere was very nice but they did not seem to do deals like they do in Albufeira.

We also rented a car... I highly recommend this to visit the areas around Lagos such as Portimao, Albufeira, Vilamoura Marina(Highly recommended) Sagres (not much here unless you are interested in History). Use Luzcar, they are in Lagos Town centre, they are brilliant, very reasonable, we wish we had hired one for the whole of our stay.

Lagos has a beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk down the hill and the main marina is just before the beach, you couldn't really be closer to the main attractions, you can book trips from the main marina.

We found Lagos quieter than Albufeira and a little bit pricier but generally we had a lovely time and would recommend these apartments.

If you go in September it can be very cold at night, take a jacket and ladies take some jeans, it is too cold for dress's and skirts, we did have a bit of bad weather for about 4 days but it did not spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

These apartments are brilliant self catering apartments the only thing I take is a kettle we have been going to the vitasol park for the last 8years large fridge freezer washing machine iron ironing board staff are all excellent pool is brilliant in the 8 years we have been going its still as clean as it was first time we went shop just as you go in to the vitasol fresh bread EVRY day and prices are brilliant then at the bottom of the hill turn right or little way down the hill turn right looks like slim road quaint little houses down there takes you to the supermarket pingo doce steep but nothing to bother you unless walking is a problem but the staff on reception will call a taxi about 5euros ) pingo doce brilliant super market I think little cheaper than home but take your own wash powder as I think it's dear 14 of us went this year 24th July UNTILL 8th August WE LOVE IT there is steps down to the pool the only thing we find SO DIFFICULT IS TO BOOK as ALL THE APARTMENTS ARE privately owned we managed to book this year with sunshine apartments are large we have had 1bed 2 bed 3. Bed all with plenty of room on suit in the 2 and 3 and another shower room lagos town soooooo lovely zoo marine brilliant jeep safari brilliant zoo in Lagos not big my son sed can go round in an hour probably not worth the money but the little 3yrs old enjoyed it boat trips the marina is fantastic the pool at vitasol is brilliant and the baby pool and its so private excellent in EVRY way security reception cleaners pool staff shop staff EXCELLENT fantastic location train station near the marina 10 15 min walk trains are cheap and there's a lovely little local cake shop in town wow fantastic COFFE and cake MMMMM some lovely places to eat Chinese on the marina Indian in town big one on the corner in town does evrything steak pittza home made soup wow just lovely just go and see for your self you will love it can't wait for next year from all us here in (. GRIMSBY United Kingdom )

Room Tip: EVRY appartments I have had as been brilliant haven't had one over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POULA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Reading through many of the reviews on tripadvisor there are many correct ones, but also many that are quite misleading.... so put your trust in me, here is the real story:

We stayed there from the 30/7/13 to 6/8/13.
Vitasol (used to be called Marina Park) IS at the top of a hill. But this hill is only about 150 metres long. It is steep but takes all of 2 minutes two walk, maximum.
The apartments are huge. They are not your usual holiday "apartments"... they are actual flats, as you'd find in England, the new-build type.
Each block of apartments is three to four stories high and the lowest floors have larger balconies. The majority of the balconies face the small road that runs through the Vitasol Park development. This road is quiet as it is used only by people staying in Vitasol Park and has hardly any cars driving on it.

The apartments are well equipped. Very well equipped. They have a washing machine, microwave, iron, dishwasher, TV, power shower, cooker, a full electric hob (4 hobs, not the usual 2 hob). Kettle is available on request.
I'm not sure about the one bedroom apartments, but the two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms... one en-suite with bath, shower, sink, toilet.. and one normal bathroom with shower, toilet, sink. Both are medium sized.
The living area is huge, with a sofa/sofabed, two arm chairs, dining table.
Bedrooms are both medium to large and one has a double bed and the other two singles.
The bed is comfortable enough but the pillows are quite hard and narrow.
The sound proofing could be better but is far from terrible. As long as your neighbours are half considerate then you shouldn't have any problems with noise.

Some balconies overlook the two tennis courts and the pool area, but they are far enough away not to be disturbed by noise from early morning swimmer/tennis players.
I recommend asking for blocks 26 and 27 as they are positioned very well for views over the park/pool areas of Vitasol Park.

The pool area and surrounding grassy areas are very well kept and there is plenty of room for sunbathing. Arriving at the pool area (which is only accessible using an entry card gained from reception for a returnable 1 euro deposit) from lunchtime onwards means you'll probably find that all sun loungers are occupied. But because the surrounding grassy area is a slight hill laying on a towel is fine until you see a free sun lounger.

Two nights a week they do karaoke in the pool-side bar. This starts at about 9pm and goes on until midnight... and is LOUD. Forget about getting an early night on these nights, unless you're a heavy sleeper or are in a bedroom not facing the pool area.

Sarah on reception is a real gem. She really cares that you enjoy your stay, is very friendly and will give you all the time needed to explain things to you.
We had a leaky washing machine and half an hour after reporting it to reception the onsite repair man turned up with his mate and fixed it. He is also a good guy. Very friendly and keen to explain everything that he is doing.

The apartments are in very good condition (at least ours was) and I can't fault Vitasol at all, and I'm pretty fussy.


The apartments are a two minute drive from the beach (Praia Meia, which is the largest beach in Lagos and has plenty of free parking) or a 15 minute walk (no more than a mile walk, probably less). I recommend buying a sun parasol for 5-10 euros as the sun gets intense as the day goes on, and as it gets to late afternoon the wind really picks up too.

The closest supermarket is Pingo Dole (Portuguese chain) is about 15 mins from the apartments too, and prices are not much different to UK prices.
There is a larger (french) supermarket, Intermarche, but that is a lot further away (2-3 miles) so wouldn't recommend going there unless you have a car. There is also a Lidl about 1.5 miles away.

Talking about car hire... I highly recommend this. Use Luzcar (google them, they have a website). They are brilliant. You pay what you see on the website and you are covered for EVERYTHING except losing the keys. There are no hidden costs like most of the other car hire firms, large and small. In the event of an accident or any damage to the car you are fully covered and won't be ripped off for any money.
We collected the car, which was a brand new Citroen C3, at Faro airport when we arrived and drove along the A22 motorway for about 40 mins to Lagos. When collecting the car the luzcar representative takes you around the car explaining things, gives you directions to Lagos and map if you need it, pointing out various places to go and see in the Algarve. You pay him cash or by card for the hire of the car and off you go.
We also returned the car to Faro airport at the end of our holiday and you just park the car in the airport carpark, put the key in the sunvisor and leave the car unlocked. No inspection of the car, no questions asked, no nothing. Excellent.

Having a car is useful in Lagos so you can travel. There is a zoo (Lagos zoo, which isn't really in Lagos) which is a 20min drive. Its very nice but a little pricey at about 50 euros for two adults and a child. They have a good range of animals... apes, birds, bats, etc... and a petting/feeding area with goats, sheep, etc.

There is also a waterpark called Slide and Splash in Lagoa, which is about 30-40mins drive on the A22 motorway. There are two main waterparks, this one and Aqualand. Slide and Splash is the better one. Its closer to Lagos and has more slides etc.
You can buy your tickets in advance from the florist in Pingo Doce supermarket and receive a 15% discount, plus you get a couple of vouchers to receive a 4 euro discount on food or stuff bought in the waterpark over 15 euros. I highly recommend Slide and Splash, it was probably our best day out.

There are plenty of places to eat in Lagos, most of which are in the town centre on the opposite side of the marina. Get there early or you'll be queuing for a table for a while.
I recommend Casa De Pasto Oze restaurant, which is at the beginning of the town centre by the taxi rank. Adega da Marina is ok, but the queue is ridiculous.

All in all you can't beat Lagos for a family or couples holiday. The food is great and portions are huge, its not too pricey, it's pretty mixed with lots of English, Irish, Spanish, Portugues, german, french. The place is clean and friendly and doesn't feel like your usual British holiday resort as it has held on to quite a bit of its Portuguese-ness.

Basically, if it's Lagos or the Algarve that you are going to then look no further than Vitasol Park (and Luzcar for your car hire).

Room Tip: "Straight over roundabout to beach and marina" "Turn right at roundabout for superma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are a family of four with 2 teenage children that had a week at Vitasol in July 2013.
I can only agree with all the previous comments - lovely location on a steep hill (but really not that bad!), huge apartments, excellent power shower, lovely and helpful staff and 10 mins from the town and beach. So I have decided to give you some helpful tips instead:
1. If you are travelling with children, or you are more than 2 people, you have to book a 2 bedroom apartment. The sofa bed in the lounge is terrible! We asked for an extra mattress to be put on top as it was so thin. This was no problem at all and the beds were made up within half an hour. But the bed squeaked terribly and consequently, our children did not sleep very well.
2. Ask for a ground floor apartment. You get an enormous terrace and you can close it off with blinds if it gets too hot or too windy.
3. It does get quite windy in Lagos, so take a cardigan for the evenings.
4. Remember there is free underground parking if you have a rental/own car.
5. Yes the hill is steep, but it really isn't that bad. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the old town and I am not a fit person.
6. If you have a car, there are som really big supermakets in the town where you can stock up.
7. The little shop next to the complex is not too dear. We priced the essentials against the bigger supermarkets and the prices were generally the same. You can also buy international newspapers and fresh baked bread.
8. We had a week at Vitasol and the rooms were cleaned and changed twice.
That's it. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Poz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Vitasol is located atop a hill. It's a 15 min walk to the nearest beach, which is the best beach, and a 15-20 min walk to the town. It's about 10 min to the largest supermarket in Lagos (which is great for getting your money's worth from the apartment). The unfortunate part is that while you ll be enjoying the walk down the hill, you ll be hating the walk back up (especially if you're carrying heavy groceries).

The apartment was dated, and this was most noticeable in the lack of comfort provided by the bed and it's pillows. However, the apartment was large and the bathroom was great. The pressure for the shower was excellent and there was always hot water.

The best part of Vitasol is the manager, who was extremely nice and accommodating. He helped us tremendously, and was a pleasure to deal with.

Overall, I recommend Vitasol to budget travellers. Moreover, save your money on the stay, and spend it on the excursions. Dolphin watching is a must (25€), and surfing with Andre (55€) was actually the best thing ever (all day and excellent lesson!).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranklinTheJokester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just come home after a week self catering. The apartments are huge. They are supplied with everything needed apart from a kettle. We asked reception for one and it was brought within half an hour. There is a good washing machine, electric cooker and a huge fridge.
The bedroom was very nice, comfy double bed and aircon/heater.
The beds were changed 3 times in the week.
The towels were very white, soft and plentiful. These were changed daily.
The apartment was very clean and the balcony was nicely furnished and large.
The areas around the apartments were beautifully kept.
Bad points!
They are situatated at the top of a very steep hill. Its half an hour walk down to Lagos centre and a good hour walk back due to the hill. There are only 2 shops on the complex which are very expensive.
The pool area is very nice but down a hill with lots of steps back up. The bar was closed due to arguments as to ownership, so no drinks or food was available around the pool area. Awfull !!
Taxi from Lagos centre to the apartments cost 5 euro one way, which we did for the first few days. We then hired a car form LUZ cars since we spent a second week in ALVOR. LUZ cars were the cheapest and very good, fully comp and no hassel. They can be found behind the garage opposite the marina in Lagos.
Would I go back? Cant fault the apartments themselves but found them a bit isolated, so NO.
Also the reception is only open 9-1 then 3-7. We arrived at 1.30 and had to sit outside waiting since there is nothing close by to have a drink or even a sit down area. Not a good start to a holiday.
Also there is no internet available unless you stand outside the reception area.

Room Tip: There are lifts to the apartments. Also a garage for any car hire. We had a 3rd floor apartment and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Arrived home today after 7 days at Vitasol Apartments. I travelled with my daughter and grandchildren. The apartment was enormous, somewhat palacial. After 2 days with sun until 2.pm we requested a sun terrace in the evening and were transferred to another apartment.
The staff were most helpful. I would highly recommend this complex to any one. The only negative is that the gas hob did not shut off automatically and could be potentially dangerous.
Washing machine,dish washer more than I have at home.
Fantastic apartments.

Room Tip: If you like to see the sunrise choose an east facing balcony. If you prefer sun in the evening pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#18 of 53 in Lagos
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#23 of 53 in Lagos
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#29 of 53 in Lagos
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VitaSol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VitaSol Park

Address: Rua Quinta do Landeiro | Alto da Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-302, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: £26 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VitaSol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitasol Park is a modern complex crossed by an artificial watercourse, on the top of the historical and bustling city of Lagos and the marina, providing unique views of the city, the beach of Meia-Praia, marina and mountains. Surrounded by large gardens and leisure areas, Vitasol Park is waiting for you for those relaxing holidays that you deserve! Composed by small blocks of 4 floors, all with lift, with spacious one and two-bedroom apartments with large balconies and equipped kitchens, Vitasol Park is the ideal place to pass your days in the most relaxing way, without leaving "home", enjoying our many facilities as pool for adults, restaurant, tennis courts and children's pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VitaSol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitasol Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Hotel Lagos
Marina Park Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing