We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good location, friendly and helpful owner.”
Review of Casa Paula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Paula
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

A beautiful and charming house very near to Batata beach. Good location in the old town.
Very clean. Very kind and helpful owner/ manager, although not speaking english.
The kitchen is poorly equipped. It lakes many important utensils. The stew is old.
There were 2-3 families with children who played and swimm in the small pool junt in front of ower room. They make alot of noise all the day. The house needs clear ruels concerning noise and peace in the house. All guests must be informed strictly about that.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana Omer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Casa Paula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Situated only a few minutes walk from the centre of Lagos, Casa Paula is a really convenient place to stay. The quality of the accommodation is excellent, the location means you don't get the noise of holiday makers staying up late in the town centre and the beaches on the south side of Lagos are very close.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Just be aware that if you take a taxi here, it's a nigtmare to find if driving (narrow streets and one way systems) and you might just learn a few Portuguese swear words!

Next time I stay in Lagos I will hope there's a room free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdDargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in October for 3 nights. The apartment was clean and had enough space and amenities (free wifi, microwave, toaster, refrigerator, two-burner stove) for our needs. The decor was basic and a bit dated, but adequate. The apartments have a rooftop terrace with tables and chairs, which is an added bonus. The only negative was the shower - the curtain rod was placed too far in from the edge of the tub, which did not leave much room without having to touch the shower curtain while you were showering.
The apartment location was ideal: a short walk to the nearest beach, Praia de Batata, and the old town (within 5 minutes). It is an uphill walk to get to the apartment, but not unmanageable. We did not rent a car but had no difficulty walking around town or to the beaches (though some of the sights like Ponta da Piedade are a bit farther - we walked all the way there and back and stopped at some beaches along the way in one afternoon).
Overall, the price was reasonable for the apartment and a good place to stay if you are looking for something basic and clean and planning on spending most of the time outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here in October for 8 nights and the apartment was clean, charming and has everything for cooking and eating. The little pool is a bit cold, but out of the wind, in the sun. The apartment is only 2 minutes from the beach and also 2 min from the first restaurants in the charming old part of Lagos. The only down side that it is located on a little hill, but doable for almost everybody.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A great stay--very spacious studio-style apartment with a kitchen (with microwave, refrigerator, and two-burner stove) and private bath. Adorable little courtyard with (small) pool and chairs, as well as a cute rooftop area (great for watching the sun set over the city!)
Pros: Location could not be better, IMHO--right in the middle of the "old town", quiet and a few steps away from the super-touristy streets, and only about a 5 minute walk to the beach. (Batata beach, the one nearest the city. The really pretty beaches, including Dona Ana, are anywhere from a 20-40 minute walk from the city center of Lagos.)
Having a fridge/kitchenette was convenient--I certainly didn't do any cooking but it was nice to be able to have cold tea/juice/wine!
There are some beach mats/umbrellas/toys/books in various languages that were convenient to borrow.
The lady who cares for the place during the day doesn't speak much English (and I don't speak much Portuguese) but was very friendly and we somehow still managed to communicate.
Cons:The wi-fi signal in the apartment was rather weak--mostly had to go out to the pool area to use it. The decoration of the room was somewhat dated, and beds were fairly spartan--two double beds pushed together. It's not for those who need luxurious linens, room service, and high-end design. Personally, I loved it, and will absolutely go back the next time I'm lucky enough to get a break in Lagos!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Lagos was my first stop in Portugal and Casa Paula was the accommodation that got booked through booking.com by the bf. A disclaimer, if booking through booking. You may need to call for someone to answer the door as knocking on the door for the address given did not yield a response. The lady does not speak English so communication can pose a problem for those who do not speak Portuguese.

The apartment itself has a full kitchenette if you plan to stay in and cook often which I found impressive. It was generally clean but the bathtub should have gotten a good scrubbing before it was showed to us. There is NO housecleaning as the apartment is treated as your own home which was fine for us.

The pool is quite small but the marina and "beach" is very close. That said, the good beaches are not "5 mins away".

Wi-Fi works well and is free.

They prefer payment upfront which could be the standard for Portugal? The map given is not very informative for a tourist but show's the location of the casa quite well. You're better off going to the tourist center for a better map.

Overall, sleep quality is excellent. There are no loud noises or bars nearby as it is situated away from the center of town. It's a bit of a walk in any direction to go anywhere but if you just need somewhere to sleep, this place is a good bet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ju-jubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good, basic accommodation in a very central location. If you're not planning to spend much time in the apartment and just need somewhere basic to sleep and shower then it's perfect. Very close to the marina and main restaurant and nightlife area. It's just a 5 minute walk but it is up a cobbly hill so might be a struggle for some older people or families with prams. Small pool is ok for a quick dip to cool down. Plenty of hot water in the shower and the air-con was ok. If you have a car you need to just find somewhere to park nearby on the street. Be warned that the streets are very narrow! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventureplease37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#39 of 52 in Lagos
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paula

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda n. 23, Lagos 8600-608, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: £42 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing