We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just 'okay' - will not come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boavista Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was just 'okay' - will not come again”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The golf course itself is well maintained but everything else is lacking. We stayed in one of the 4 bed villa overlooking the first hole. The villa itself was lovely but not cleaned when we arrived or after further visits from the cleaners - dirty linens are a big no no. Used to be two different restaurants but the nicer of the two has closed down. The clubhouse restaurant is very average especially considering its a golf course. Spa/gym facilities were nice but the indoor pool attached is not supervised and full of kids playing without parents while the outdoor family pool and other child pool sit empty. It, like many parts of Lagos and other nearby towns, seem to have suffered from the recession as development has stopped in the available plots in the resort. Quite a trek to Lagos - car or taxi required.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbowbrite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    85
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
142
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a very pleasant week staying at this lovely golf resort.
We had a two bedroomed apartment overlooking the second green of the golf course. The accomodation was first class with all you could possibly need. Cleaners in every day! The golf course and surrounding gardens were kept to a high standard as was the Club House and everyone was very friendly. You need a car to get about to near Lagos which we enjoyed. Went to some lovely restaurants. The beach at nearby Salema is a must. It is our first time to this area of the Algarve, we will definitely be back to Boavista.

Room Tip: choose a room nearest to clubhouse santa catarina block is well placed. Grounf floor units have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here in a friend's apartment for the fourth time recently for a golf break. The standard of maintenance of the grounds is very high as is the accommodation. We went to another resort to play on one day which was nowhere near as well maintained. It makes such a difference. Staff are very friendly and helpful and a lot of familiar faces which is also a good sign. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but its still very good. As others have said, no need to be a golfer to enjoy Boa Vista. It would make a good base for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Think you could rely on getting a nice unit practically anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auch, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom Apartment in Fairviews, quite near the indoor & outdoor pools, bar & resturant (only open Thursday to Sunday when we were there) Took them 3 days to replace 3 light bulbs that were "out" when we took over the property & part of the en-suite door lock was missing so we could not shut the door, not good while on the loo!! The engimne called shruged & left & the door remained open. The apartment was fine but small balconys, gardens well kept & fairly quiert apart from the none-stop dogs at nights!!! Need a car to get to the town or beach, but easy to get to from the motorway. (Fuel in Portugal exspensive as are new road tolls). If you want beach or town in walking distance this is not for you. Fine if you like golf. Cost was high for the time of year we stayed, discovered we could have got a much better deal at other complexes. Lagos is loverly & will go again but not to this site.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Peaceful golf resort ideally located on the outskirts of Lagos and within 5 mins drive of Praia da Luz. Property we stayed in was rented privately and was of a high standard. On site facilities are luxurious, well maintained and staff are efficient and friendly. Highly recommended - you don't need to be a golfer to enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed with a friend and kids at a beautiful villa here. It had everything you could want. Was only here for 5 days so stayed local and the clubhouse food was excellent ate there most nights and even got a take away from there one night. Fab relaxing time was had by all.indoor pool and facilities excellent too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morningside22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our end of row villa from Owner's Direct was fantastic;air con,sky TV & Sky sport,very clean and with really spacious garden with olive trees.Our pool was Lakeview which was very generous in size & plenty big enough, and the surrounding terrace was huge with plenty of sun loungers.Even though the signs say no inflatables or ball games there was plenty of both,and everyone was happy with this.The resort is kept immaculate by the staff.The Spa has lots to offer but we paid 8 euros for a 1/2 day's use of the gym, jacuzzi/steam rooms,indoor pool & sun terrace.We golfed several times, 95 euros for 2 players including a buggy, a decent price for Europe.And yes, you must have a pitch fork for the green's but that's only because it's a great course with a high level of maintenance. And no, under 17s can't drive the buggies but that's common practice too.Short game practice facilities are an excellent standard.The supermarket is a 3 minute drive away in Lagos.Luz is about 5 minutes the opposite way,a lovely place.Sagres with it's lighthouse & spectacular cliffs is worth the drive down the coast.
The Crawfords, Northumberland.

Room Tip: Try the Owner's Direct website for lots of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueNorthumberland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,156 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.4 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boavista Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boavista Golf Resort

Property: Boavista Golf Resort
Address: Quinta da Boavista SA, Lagos 8601-901, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Family Hotel in Lagos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boavista Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boavista Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boavista Golf Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing