We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be wary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loule Gypsy Market

Loule Gypsy Market
Ranked #13 of 26 things to do in Loule
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be wary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Went to this market on a day trip, not very impressed with the Gypsy Market some of the items overpriced for what they were, we negotiated for 2 jackets for 40 Euros unfortunately this was not enough for the stall holder whom, after we thought a price had been agreed, decided to be greedy and demanded more money and got quite aggressive I eventually tossed another 30 Euros to shut her up. I would not recommend this as a day trip as we believed we had been ripped off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    75
    46
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not as much here as the Wed market in Quarteria . Visited Loule castle and wandered into town where good selection shops, eating places and staff in shops greeted you and were helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 327Sally17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went for a half day trip to Loule, the Gypsy Market is ok for a 30 mins walk around but most of the stalls are selling the same thing. We then explored Loule which is a nice place with some nice shops. The local indoor food market is great, loved mixing with the local people. This market is much better really enjoyed looking round and getting a few bargains! I would recommend going for a nice half day trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TRACY117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“loule market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

loule has changed in the last few years & i was disappointed this visit. it used to have wonderful handmade stuff now generic tourist tat. loule itself being modernised and the old buildings slowly disappearing. sadly. but still worth a visit if u like markets

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went to this Gypsy market cause we thought they would have things at bargain prices, but it was not all that cheap & if you didnt want a handbag or Portuguese embroidered table cloths well then there was not much else!! Over all were a bit let down, but it was a good day out & the scenery on the way there was nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loule Gypsy Market also viewed

Loule, Faro District
Loule, Faro District
 

Been to Loule Gypsy Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing