We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful gypsy market - don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Loule Gypsy Market

Loule Gypsy Market
Ranked #12 of 26 things to do in Loule
Attraction details
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful gypsy market - don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We caught the train to Loule not realising that it was a good 5kmfrom the train station! Hailed a taxi, who took us for about 10€ each way to the gypsy market! It was awful - like a shanty town! Most stalls selling identical items of tat! Not to be recommended !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    75
    48
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hedensted, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saturday market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went to the market a Saturday and did buy a few things, but the market is not really that good. There are quite a few stalls, but they all sell the same things: Shoes, T-shirts, caps, toys and there were also a few food stalls.
The police was present at the market, but we were still offered drugs two times, during our one hour there. We thought this was rather disgusting considering we were walking around with two young children.
The market is OK, but prices are the same as a few hundred meters up in the city...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersHMikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Let's not confuse the Local Market with the Gipsy Market ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited the Loulé market and the Loulé Gipsy market twice in the past couple of years. But be aware: these are two different markets at different locations in Loulé.

The local market in the city center (a red/pinkish moorish building at the Praca da República) is definitively worth a visit, enjoyed it every time. You can see locals selling produce as well as the best food from around the region. Enjoyed that market a lot!

The Gipsy market however is, in my opinion not worth the trip.

Some of the recent pictures added by others to this post are of the Central Market: at the Praca da República.

The gipsy market however, is a 10 minute walk away of the central market, out of the city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Emiel_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice wee market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good fun haggling with sellers. Selection of handbags, clothes, sunglasses, jewellery, tea towels etc. Waiting on bus we got a lovely freshly squeezed orange juice at café next door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“do not waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

All they sell is fruit, veg and very smelly fish. Full of crippled beggars and people on stilts. Waste of time and euros.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loule Gypsy Market also viewed

 
Loule, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Loule Gypsy Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing