We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Churrasqueira Leonel
Ranked #26 of 123 Restaurants in Loule
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just love the food here, cheap, my opinion the best piri piri chicken ever, staff don't go out their way to welcome you, but, it's not the UK! Just enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We tried this place off the back of rave reviews on TA. It was ok but nothing more. The chicken piri piri I had was tiny. I've never seen such skinny chickens.
Service was just about ok.
Value for money is good.
We eat at Marufo regularly and a number of TA reviews claim Leonels is better food and cheaper. To be honest, Marufo is much better. It's a tad more expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itravelroundabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Bárbara de Nexe, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

A group of us visited this restaurant for an impromptu meal. We were greeted by warm and friendly staff. We all ordered Chicken piri piri, the best we had ever tasted. The meat was so succulent and juicy and there was ample salad and french fries to complement the dish. The food was delivered quickly to our table, very hot. A large bread basket was put on the table with a generous amount of lovely crusty bread and olives and pate. The owners kept on coming with more without us asking for it. We could not believe the price we were charged, in fact we asked if they had made a mistake! Excellent value for money and would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best chicken and chips in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is just the best restaurant for chicken and chips in the area! Excellent value for money, excellent food always busy lunchtimes and evenings with locals, no need to say any more. If you are in Loule, do not miss out on this gem of a restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quintsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Agree with other reveiwers that Leonels is great value. Busy restaurant with lots of local families, couples . Good atmosphere. Food is excellent value-good portions well cooked and reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churrasqueira Leonel also viewed

 

Been to Churrasqueira Leonel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing