We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here at the last minute due to bad weather.
we were offered a great deal for October - E99 for a lovely double room, dinner and breakfast and entry to the spa .
the room was delightful, large and spacious . all the rooms in the main house are different . Some very nice free shower gels too!
Dinner was a real pleasure - the food was all superb and we even got a free bottle of wine with it. Possibly the best quality meal we had all holiday.

the spa is less beautiful as more modern and a little more basic than we expected. A bit more institutional.
The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool and gardens and is sitting in a lovely tropical gardens.

thoroughly recommend a visit here if you fancy a change from the coast.

Room Tip: We had the basic room called unique but was very nice. Unless you want a balcony these rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mrs / Mr,

Many thanks for completing our guest comment card; this feedback is so important for us to monitor what we can do better.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique, Spa Resort, and being of service to you.
We sincerely hope you had a safe journey home.
Best Regards,
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Good to stay if you need to rest from loud cities. The room is spacious, breakfast is really great. And you almost don't notice that there are other people besides you. Impossible to get there without a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent our family vacations for the first time at the Hotel das Termas in Monchique and we were all happy in the end. The Hotel and the rooms were simple but with all the comfort. The Resort itself is beautifully laid in the mountain with lush gardens and the forest surrounding us.

The pool area with a large pool and a kids pool was just perfect with the morning sun taking great care of out tan. Breakfast at the Outdoor Terrace was nice with good choice in the Buffet.

The Activities where a good option and we even did bread! From 1 pm we all went to the Beach and it was a great pick! Some days to the Mediterranean Algarve other days to the Atlantic Algarve at Costa Vicentina.

The Massages at the SPA were excellent, a real professional masseuse. We will be back!

Room Tip: Do not miss the Breakfast in the Outdoor Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent a week in Villa Termal this September. Good points about the hotel...firstly the scenery is quite beautiful, the whole area has a lovely traditional untouched feel to it, and its very quiet and relaxing. Our room was really lovely, high ceilings with antique furniture, it was spotlessly cleaned each day. The pool area was also great, lots of sunbeds and cushions to laze around on, and this was also kept spotless and not too busy. You could have your breakfast in the central courtyard which was a really nice area to eat in. Breakfast itself was nice, fresh fruit and juices, jams, cheeses, meat and toast were there everyday, but did start to get a bit samey by the end of the week. There are also two mountain bikes on reception which you can use free of charge, I'd highly recommend trying a trip up the mountain, the views are breathtaking, but it's very steep, and watch out for the guard dogs!

Now bad points, maybe because we were there in September but there was VERY little to do. Transport links are very poor. You can get a bus to the neighboring town of Monchique, or to the larger town of Portimoa, but they are irregular and quite expensive at 4.25 Euro single. In the end we had to get a car otherwise we would have gone stir crazy with boredom. We had dinner at the restaurant one night, which was nice but nothing special and quite expensive, we found a much nicer place on the main road, about 300m left from the main entrance. We also went to the spa, which was pleasant, but needs a bit of a refurb. The main problems we had were the staff. They were very reluctant to give information, and some were just plain rude and dismissive, apart from the housekeeping staff, and one nice girl at the pool bar, staff really didn't seem to want to interact or speak to guests at all, and when we asked one girl on reception what to do, and where we could visit she told us we should just stay on complex. There were a few event going on, like an outdoor cinema, and walk of the local area, but these were hardly advertised, and we only found out about them after they had happened. Even finding out about being able to take the bikes out only happened because I remembered someone mentioning it in their review. This seemed to be more of a place were Portuguese people would go for a day or two for the spa treatments, or where daytrippers would come for a visit. At night it was deadly quite, they had one nice bar there called O Tasco, with a lovely outside seating area, but on more than one night we were the only people there.

In summary I think this place could be something quite special with a few improvements, and on the whole I'd rather go somewhere unique like this then your average cheap touristy resort. Both me and my boyfriend agreed we would go back, but that 3-4 days was all you really need see the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, the view down the valley is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elcy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from celebrating our wedding at villa Termas and what a great celebration it was.The day was more than perfect and we couldn't give one fault of the whole day.

We stayed a few days before the wedding so we got to experience everything the place has to offer. The facilities at the hotel were great and everything was clean, there were lots of places to eat and the breakfast had more than enough options with even the choice to order your own eggs any way you wanted them.

The wedding day itself was the icing on the cake, from start to finish the staff at Villa Termas were on hand to help whenever needed and the day ran without fault. The location is beautiful and the chapel is one of the most beautiful we have ever seen. We have not yet seen a photograph of the day which does not look picture perfect.

We also want to say a special thank you to Tiago and Ana who helped with the planning and everything on the day. They helped with every request we had and provided everything we asked for and more. The day would not have been as great if they had not been involved and we will never be able to thank them enough. We will always remember our day here and always look back on it with only the best memories.

We could not recommend this place enough and I could not think of a better place to have a wedding than here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarabamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at Villa Termal for 4 nights, absolutely loved it, staff at pool bar and tapas bar were so friendly' offering fresh fruit during morning and evening.
Rooms were spotless cleaned everyday.
Water aerobics available 2 mornings a week and Zumba 2 evenings a week.
The live entertainment at weekends at restaurant 1692 was fantastic.
Can't fault it at all, loved every moment will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful green valley, far away from all the tourist crowds. It is the perfect spot to relax! The garden around the swimming-pool is very well looked after and it is great to spend your day there! Even in August and during the high season, you can relax and enjoy! The location is also great because it is not a long drive from the hotel to the South coast, nor to the West coast.
In the Villa Termal where we stayed, breakfast was served on the fourth floor and it was possible to sit outside on a very nice terrace!
However, I would like to point out:
- we stayed in the part of the hotel complex called Villa Termal, just next to the factory that is producing the mineral water "Monchique". The water pumps of the factory can be heard all day and night and it is impossible to sleep with an open window (which would have been perfect in the green valley!), so you will have to keep the windows closed and the air-conditioning on all day and night.
When we booked the hotel, we were not aware of the different buildings in the hotel complex. So when you are booking it might be worthwhile to check in which part of the hotel complex your room will be located, there seem to be big differences in quality and quietness.
- there were lots of ants in the room (between corridor and bathroom), which we pointed out to the receptionist. She came and sprayed the room and said she would check again the next day and we could change the room if it stays the same.
The ants were back the next day and we pointed it out again to another receptionist, which did not seem to be aware of the problem. She noted it down but nothing changed.
We also did not insist to change the room, as we were not too worried about the ants, but if somebody is allergic or just does not want to have ants in the room, please ask beforehand.
- There was no hair dryer in the bathroom, the shower cubicle was tiny and not up to the standard of this hotel.
- No WiFi in rooms.
- The coffee at breakfast was a real disappointment.
- On the first night we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant on a beautiful terrace under old trees. The location was excellent but the value for money of the food was not good, it was well over-prized.

Advice:
Just down the road (when coming up from Portimao, just before getting to the roundabout) there is a nice little restaurant and souvenir shop. In this restaurant you can sit on the terrace overlooking the whole valley with the buildings of Portimao in the distance. The food is excellent and the prices, too!

All in all we had a wonderful time there, due to the natural location of the hotel, its surroundings, gardens, swimming-pool area, service, and we would also book it again! However, I think the hotel is sometimes not up to the standard that it pretends to be.

Room Tip: Ask in which part of the hotel complex you will stay and try to avoid rooms that have the window tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monchique
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#21 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pestana Algarve Race
Pestana Algarve Race
#34 of 76 in Portimao
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
10.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
6.1 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Address: Caldas de Monchique, Monchique 8550-232, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Price Range: £33 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the top of Algarve!Resembling a white village perfectly nestled among the Monchique Hills, Villa Termal features an outstanding Thermal spa using the only thermal waters in the south of Portugal . An indoor warm rich mineral water pool and exquisit facial and body treatments and massages by La Phyto are a welcoming card.The elegant and charming rooms distributed through 5 unique lodging complexes, are furnished with 18th- and 19th-century pieces.Guests of Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa Resort can enjoy some great tapas and a glass of local wine at the stone-walled bar " O Tasco". The 1692 Restaurant offers a grill menu and Portuguese cuisine with traditional delicacies from the Monchique region, including special meat dishes.The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by green garden and padded loungers. Besides relaxing in the sauna or steam bath, guests can enjoy walking and mountain biking tours in Serra de Monchique National Park. Other Nature related activities are available including canoeing, Climbing, Paintball, mountain bike downhill just 10 min away.Perfect for a relaxing getaway or an alternative holidays, the Villa termal das caldas de Monchique is 20 min away from the main stream locations, 25 min from the The best Algarvian beaches on the Atlantic, 40 min from the best wild Alentejo coast and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa And Resort
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Hotel Monchique
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa & Resort Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing