We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent five nights in a junior suite in the Hotel D Carlos. room was very big and spotlessly clean with housekeeping every day. Tv a bit dated but we hardly used it. Caldas de Monchique is a beautiful place, so relaxing and quiet compared to the overcrowded beach resorts. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine, nothing special but everything you would want. We had dinner two night in the restaurant, food was good, service a bit casual for our liking especially with the prices, no "front of house" staff to be seen to ensure everything ran smoothly but food was good and a very good wine selection. I would say that this location does get a lot busier in the months of July and August, we were surprised at how quiet it was but it suited us perfectly. A car is essential, the town of Monchique is just stunning along with the scenery. Some very good local restaurants too if you decide not to dine at the Villa Termal. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ennis,

Thank you very much for your comment and kind words about our services. It was a pleasure to receive you in our Hotel!

Your feedback is so important for us to monitor what we can do better and we will take in consideration your opinion about our Staff in the Restaurant.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique, Spa Resort.

See you soon!

Best Regards,

Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Outside the area was dirty, pot plants dead, flower borders full of weeds inside the reception area was totally empty, could not find a member of staff, only cobwebs, cover that had been there forints. could not find any staff despite walking all round, inside and out. Pool was empty of water. VERY NOISY bottling factory next door. We did not check in.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Britespark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique.

We regret your negative feedback about your visit to Caldas de Monchique.

By your description we can assume that you were at our closed for the winter property near the botling factory.

The Villa Termal is located a couple minutes away with four charming lodging units, one restaurant, one wine & Tapas Bar, a convenience shop and a local craft exhibition shop and a small chapel.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope you have the chance to visit us sometime.

Best Regards,

Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel. We are a family of four, with two young children. The hotel staff on both occasions have been efficient, kind and welcoming, the rooms impeccable and the restaurant provided fabulous food. We have, on both occasions been very impressed with the level of attendance and attention to detail.
The location itself is beautiful, calm and on arriving there you immediately start to feel relaxed. The spa is well established with professional staff and excellent treatments and the thermal pool is great for body and mind.
I highly recommend this hotel as a place to relax and truly reinvigorate. The water is amazing and the experience is one we will hopefully repeat.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, depending on age, there are adjoining rooms available in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Mrs. Salwa K.,

It was a pleasure to receive you and your family in Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa Resort! We would like to thank you for your kind words about our services and staff.

We will always be available for any question and we will try to give you our best offer for your next stay!

Please contact us anytime you need!

Best Regards,

Villa Termal das Caldasde Monchique, Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great hotel with a village feel, with the exception of the large spa hotel the hotel is full of character with its own tiny piazza, tapas bar and beautiful grounds. Some lovely walks from here also. Shame it is not closer to Monchique itself

Room Tip: I would personally request one of the two older hotle buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_calvinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent a wonderful Christmas break in Thermal Spa last week - don't expect super luxury or ultra modern, it's a bit tired now BUT, the service was good, the staff very friendly & helpful, rooms big, huge bath, 1692 restaurant food excellent, spa treatments professional/relaxing and overall, I'd say you have a 4 star experience at a 2 star price!! Go with an open mind and be enchanted by the peacefullness of it all. There's no wifi in rooms, so you'll have to use laptops/iPads in the foyer, lounge or restaurant only........but that's no big problem!!

Room Tip: Main Hotel has most conveniently located rooms with some overlooking the tree filled square & Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank BrisvegasKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We took the 99 Euro deal which included 1 night in a double room, breakfast, dinner and use of the spa. The room was absolutely gorgeous (we think we may have been upgraded to a 'charming') with a view of the square and the mountains. Dinner was fantastic, with local specialities and delicious wine. I don't have much spa experience - I thought it was pretty good although we decided not to pay the mandatory 3 Euros each for a swimming cap so we didn't use the pool. It's not an old fashioned spa; it feels a bit like a leisure centre, but a very nice one. We were VERY impressed with breakfast, particularly the eggs cooked to order - best eggs we've ever had!

The service was very good, the receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful, always going the extra mile to ensure guests' satisfaction. Wi-fi signal was pretty ropey in the main building, the best place we found to use the internet was the wine bar.

This place is really beautiful, lovely to stroll around and an excellent base for mountain walks. It seems like it's also a popular area for rallies, so maybe check there isn't one happening during your stay!

Room Tip: Try and get on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank instadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mrs / Mr,

Many thanks for completing our guest comment; this feedback is so important for us to monitor what we can do better.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique, Spa Resort, and being of service to you.

We sincerely hope you had a safe journey home.
Best Regards,

Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a clean, well maintained hotel set in lovely surroundings. The staff are pleasant and helpful, especially the ones working in the restaurant at breakfast time, who kept the food topped up and nicely presented. There are some pretty walks around the grounds, and over the road and up the hill there is a track that leads to a really spectacular viewing platform looking out over the valley. You definitely need a car if you're staying here, but if you want to get out and explore the interior of the Algarve as well as the coast it's a great location. The only negative we found is that the wall between our room and the next was paper thin and we were kept awake on the first night by the people next door, but otherwise the hotel is very quiet and peaceful and the pool area is just gorgeous. Overall a lovely, restful place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main block above reception on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mrs / Mr,

Many thanks for completing our guest comment card; this feedback is so important for us to monitor what we can do better.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique, Spa Resort, and being of service to you.
We sincerely hope you had a safe journey home.
Best Regards,
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monchique
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
10 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#24 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pestana Algarve Race
Pestana Algarve Race
#34 of 76 in Portimao
120 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,621 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Address: Caldas de Monchique, Monchique 8550-232, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Price Range: £41 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the top of Algarve!Resembling a white village perfectly nestled among the Monchique Hills, Villa Termal features an outstanding Thermal spa using the only thermal waters in the south of Portugal . An indoor warm rich mineral water pool and exquisit facial and body treatments and massages by La Phyto are a welcoming card.The elegant and charming rooms distributed through 5 unique lodging complexes, are furnished with 18th- and 19th-century pieces.Guests of Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa Resort can enjoy some great tapas and a glass of local wine at the stone-walled bar " O Tasco". The 1692 Restaurant offers a grill menu and Portuguese cuisine with traditional delicacies from the Monchique region, including special meat dishes.The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by green garden and padded loungers. Besides relaxing in the sauna or steam bath, guests can enjoy walking and mountain biking tours in Serra de Monchique National Park. Other Nature related activities are available including canoeing, Climbing, Paintball, mountain bike downhill just 10 min away.Perfect for a relaxing getaway or an alternative holidays, the Villa termal das caldas de Monchique is 20 min away from the main stream locations, 25 min from the The best Algarvian beaches on the Atlantic, 40 min from the best wild Alentejo coast and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Hotel Monchique
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa And Resort
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa & Resort Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing