We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vilafoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vilafoia
Ranked #1 of 9 Monchique B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Small hotel with personal touch from staff makes you feel at home. Stephanie and Leila made us feel very welcome. Surrounded by cork trees and a view on the Portimao (from a spacious balcony). Breakfast is included with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cerials, bread and a variety of meat and cheese. Orange juice is freshly squeezed in the morning. No dinner possible, but a restaurant (good, simple food) on 15 minutes walking distance. A flash light may come into handy if you are walking back at night, however we did without it a dark & rainy night.
Rooms are clean, bath robes, pool towels, fresh fruit and water provided for the first night, and availability downs staires of a small fridge, wine glasses etc are available if you want to enjoy BYO. Perfect place if you want to do some hiking, sight seeing and want to go to the beach. A car is no luxury as it is somewhat secluded.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollipop3397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Vila Foia B&B in the hills near Monchique is a little gem. The hotel is nestled along a small road off the main one, but lots of signs made it easy to find our way. Friendly staff makes you feel welcome and takes care of a nice breakfast in the morning. Nice rooms each with great views all the way to the Algarve coastline! Definitely worth a return trip when visiting the Monchique area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GVancollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a hotel with a difference. OK, it's a guest house really, but the very personal service matched the very different setting. It's a delightful, modern building set in a beautiful and peaceful forest exclusively of cork oaks. These old trees are interesting and beautiful, rendering the hotel's surroundings peaceful and tranquil. Yet you have a great view over the valley towards the sea in the distance, at Portimão and Lagos.

Yes, there is a stone quarry on the opposite side of the valley but it is not intrusive and I should think that the industry is an important one for the Portuguese economy.

Stephanie met us and showed us around the guest house, the lovely gardens, the pool and relaxing areas, inside and outside, and our room. This was spacious, luxurious and a lovely place to relax after some of the walking we managed in our 3 days in the area. But it was Laila who looked after us for most of the time, making excellent breakfasts, tidying the hotel and our rooms, giving us tips for exploring the area and lending us a book on wild flowers in the area.

We left the Vila Foia very relaxed and happy. We will try to get back there . . .

Room Tip: They are all good, but we were in Room 5 on the middle floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saintfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose Vila Foia because it is located near the village of Monchique which is a good location for walking in the surrounding mountains. The Vila was easily found with good online directions and was well sign posted. Vila Foia was opened in 2010 and consists of six en-suite bedrooms, all with south-facing, glass-fronted balconies. These give stunning views over the wooded slopes for some 20 km down to the Algarve coast.

The stay includes beautifully presented, delicious breakfasts with a range of cereals, bread, fruit, cold meats and cheese as well as the option of a cooked meal. Although no evening meals are provided there is nearby a local restaurant, O Luar da Foia, which provides excellent local cuisine. Beware the size of the generous portions, we found that one main course was more than adequate for us both.

Our stay was much enhanced by the friendly service from all of the staff but especially from Laila who did so much to make our visit really enjoyable and memorable. She was a fount of local knowledge which she freely shared with us for example in advising on local walks, fauna and flora, festivals or where to buy a good bottle of port or olive oil. We loved it so much we plan to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar and have the same magnificent aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Vila Foia it's a fantastic rural hotel.
Heated pool, beautiful view to all algarve since Foia mountain.
Very good breakfast (but light/diet)
The employees and the owner are friendly.
Only detected a problem.
We went on a Sunday and Monday was a holiday, when we were told that there would be cleaning the room for a holiday.
However, we found rooms to be prepared for new guests ... because not all clean?
It is a suggestion.
Everything else is 5 stars to relax.
Highly recommended (couples, romantic, relax, after a few days on beach...)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed in the top floor studio 50 yards from main building, for 4 days. Very new and well presented with a balcony, fridge, small ceramic hob & comfortable bed .
In a wonderful spot in the hills and cork oak woodland just outside Monchique. Pretty Landscaped gardens and pools still in development.
Host, Lalia was very helpful with tips of interesting things to do and made us a delicious breakfast every morning.
A few teething problems with a new hotel; hot water unreliable, internet only just reached the studio and the very steep drive from main hotel to studio might be a problem.

Room Tip: Main hotel would avoid the steep drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherryClift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monchique
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Monchique Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
11.2 mi away
Monte do Cardal
Monte do Cardal
#3 of 15 in Aljezur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Spa d'Alma
Spa d'Alma
#3 of 4 in Monchique
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vinha do Gaio
Vinha do Gaio
#1 of 7 in Monchique
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
57.8 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 30 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilafoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilafoia

Property: Vilafoia
Address: Corte Pereiro Apt 241, Monchique 8550-257, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Monchique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilafoia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non smoking guesthouse ViLAFOIA is situated 500 m above sea level in the Monchique mountains, surrounded by cork trees and offers lots of comfort with 6 double rooms, 1 suite, 2 family rooms and 2 selfcatering studios. ViLAFOIA is built with organic and sustainable materials. The building and the salt walter pool have solar heating.From every room you can enjoy a fantastic view to the atlantic ocean. Faro Airport is 60 min. Drive away. The center of Monchique is 3 km away and the next restaurant only 1,2 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Vilafoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilafoia Monchique, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing