We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A SUPERIOR ROOM AT ALL ,, VERY VERY UNHAPPY”
Review of Clube Vilarosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clube Vilarosa
Reviewed 4 July 2014

WE booked a superior room much to our horror we opened the door to the apartment to a very old worn out room ,, when we told reception, the answer i was given was I because the room had air conditioning its superior,,,

The mattress in the sitting room was full of holes I slept on cushions in the floor because they didn't have any single beds ,,,

The pool area was lovely , BUT YOU COULD HAVE NO PIECE AND QUIET ,AS THE PLACE WAS OVER RUN WITH KIDS PLAYING FOOTBALL , THERE WHERE SIGH NO BALL GAMES BY THE POOL BUT NO ONE TOOK A BLIND BIT OF NOTICE,,

I had been to this hotel before, BUT WILL NEVER VISIT AGAIN

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Clube Vilarosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for a week and like most people reading the reviews was a bit apprehensive about location.
I need not have worried
If you do as i did and look at the map and area . It looks like a good bit from the beach.
But its NOT .
It REALLY is only a 10min walk to the main strip and beach .
HONESTLY i timed it .
Yes the footpaths aren't great but its really not that bad.
The apartments were lovely and big with all you need .
We had a 2 bed right in front of the smaller pool with a private garden which was great.
The apartment its self could do with been modernized but spotless clean .
Maids in every day.
Satellite Tv With tons of channels was great for the couple of hours you just like to chill and for the kids.
Layout of the Pool is really nice and bar food was lovely and CHEAP .
Great place to stay with kids because of the safe grounds and things to do .
Plenty of gorgeous restaurants on the strip for nice evenings out

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked the superior apt and it was! Very nicely laid out and equiped perfect for self catering and cleaned every day. Very friendly and helpful staff and we would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.
A little bit of a walk to the beach, Praia da Rocha, and if you have mobility problems then walking there would be a problem. However there are several busses running regularly which cost around 1.50 euros per person.
All in all a very pleasant week and a big thank you to everyone involed with Clube VilaRosa

My only gripe (with Portugese hotels in general) the room was not ready on the first day until around 3pm which was a bit annoying because we did say we would be arriving before midday. The hotel were good, they allowed us to store luggage when we arrived. I can handle that, just more beers in the bar but if you have kids or traavelling some distance you may want to take that into account

Room Tip: Go for the superior appartment worth the small additional amount. The only thing I would say is the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAndJay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I found the hotel staff to be very helpful and my families stay in the hotel itself very enjoyable with the local beach absolutely stunning.
my one travel tip to folks looking to stay here is not to allow the receptionist to book you into a room overlooking the street next to the entrance - there are a number of dogs in private villa's across the small street that will drive you nuts with the amount of barking they get up to late into the evening.
the walk down to the local beach is OK but the foot paths are in a total mess and you will have to be reasonably fit to make it back up the hill to get back to the hotel.
We booked a car rental with Hertz for our 10 day stay, listen to this for a laugh!!
you have no choice but to bring the car back with an empty tank but here's the rub, they charged me an additional 30 euro for their staff to fill it up (absolute daylight robbery)
As if that wasn't bad enough HERTZ then stuck on an additional 30 euro miscelanious charge which there customer service agent was unable to explain.
you will only find out about all of this carryon when you get your visa bill and have to call them to find out what ta hell is going on.
totally discussing behavior from a supposedly respectable company like HERTZ.
on the plus side the car was brand new.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked this just three days before arrival, booked through Sunshine.co.uk stayed for 5 nights we had booked a Superior 1 bed apartment, requesting top floor pool view and that's what we got. The apartment was nice, spacious with a large balcony. Kitchen well equipped plenty of pots, pans etc required for simple self catering, full oven, hob and extractor, microwave, toaster and coffee maker, only bad point is that they do not provide an elec kettle and the one on the hob takes forever! Spacious lounge/dining area with leather sofa, much comfier than ones we have had in other apartments. Double bedroom with plenty of storage, single beds, pretty comfy.
The complex offers 2 pools, one large one with bar/snacks, large lawned area, loads of sun beds and plenty of parasols, this pool was quiet for the majority of our stay, there is also a smaller pool with small bar(only open in high season), still a nice area.
Approx. a 10 min walk out the back of the complex (under the pink canopy) and you are in he centre of Rocha, on the `strip` and cliff overlooking the beautiful beach.
We had a lovely break away from the rain of the UK, very lucky with the weather 30 most days!
Great apartments and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we have just visited this hotel for 7 days and overall had a very nice time. As some of the other reviews have noted the pool is excellent (although cold due to the time of year...) and the complex facilities are pretty good. The room we stayed in, though, was towards the far end and in a shared block - i.e. tourists and locals. The communal corridors on our floor smelt very unpleasant but the room itself was ok. The bathroom was dated and the balcony almost non-existent (go for the superior room if you value sitting outside) but the room overall was clean and a good size.

This hotel is in the midst of a small residential area and a welcome break from the high rises that define this resort. On that note I was disappointed with Praia da Rocha - it's very dated and the walk up the hill from Vila Rose take you past several apparently deserted housing/hotel blocks blighted by graffiti.

That said the locals as always shine through - there are some really nice restaurants at the far end of the strip including an excellent pizza/pasta place where the service is fantastic. The main drag is defined by Irish bars and snack joints with a few restaurants dotted in between. It's a real shame as it seems the Portuguese business owners are trying against the odds to give a good experience for the tourists but are frankly unsupported by the local government with decaying infrastructure and poor 'pop-up' additions all over the place which look out of character and cheap.

The hotel, on balance, was worth what we paid but the resort is not one I would visit again.

Room Tip: go for the superior!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL8376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just returned from 7 nights here. Pool, bar and reception lovely, staff great. We were in a block outside of the complex which seemed to be shared with local residents. Very odd. Our room however had no balcony and a view of the car park. bathroom constantly smelt of urine and the beds were so uncomfortable. Cleaners came every day to make beds and mop but clearly missed the stench in the bathroom! The toilet, bath and shower curtain were ancient but think they could be in the process of updating. Overall I wouldn't stay here again unless I was guaranteed a pool view with balcony. The distance to pria da rocha is a 15 min walk, the walk back however is uphill we were glad we hired a car! The location of hotel and room we had definitely let it down.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fhunt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.1 mi away
Vila Rosa Hotel
Vila Rosa Hotel
#13 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,031 reviews
17.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Vilarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Vilarosa

Address: Lote 1 Rua da Vila Rosa, Portimao 8500-782, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Portimao
Price Range: £32 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Vilarosa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clube Vilarosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Vilarosa Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing