We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with superb staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with superb staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This year we returned for our second stay at this resort and again we enjoyed every minute of it from the moment we arrived.

After our drive down from Lisbon to the Hotel were we would stay for nine nights, we were greeted by very friendly and helpfull frontdesk staff. I had three different reservations due to the fact that I used some of my SPG points and this was not available on all days. The staff had already upgraded us to a suite so that we didn't have to change rooms during our stay. We were offered a welcome drink while they finalised the check-in.

The room was amazing, very comfortable bed, clean bathroom, all the aminities you need, free bottles of water (daily refilled) and two Pastelles de nata were waiting for us. The room had a balcony overlooking the pool. There is free WiFi available in the hotel public areas. If I had to point out something negative about the room, then it would have to be the rug on which the bed is standing. This should have been replaced a while ago, it looked dirty. I guess even one of the cleaning staff was ashamed of this and put floor towels next to the bed so that we didn't have to stand on the rug with our bare feet. Very thoughtfull!

Most rates at this hotel have breakfast buffet included. The buffet has a good selection on offer, maybe not completly authentic Portuguese but nevermind. We were offered complimentary breakfast due to my platinum SPG status. The staff in the breakfast room are very helpfull, if something you want is not there, they will do their best with your request. And if you don't like the weak coffee they offer, ask your waiter for an espresso. They are more then happy to help.

The frontdesk staff had noticed that my partner had her birthday during our stay at the hotel. So on her birthday they had a suprice waiting for her in the room. A chocolate cake with a bottle of Portuguese bubbles with a friendly note wishing her a happy birthday. A very nice guesture from the staff.

The hotel has a private part on the beach of Alvor. You can get there by complimentary shuttle bus offered by the hotel. At the beach they offer towels, beach chairs and an embrella for free to guests. There is also a restraurant available. It's actually a short work to the centre of Alvor from the beach.

On to the dinners. We are in Portugal, so we did not have dinner at all at the hotel. The hotel has to cater for guests from all over the world, so I understand that the food is not authentic Portuguese. Go to Alvor, a village next to the hotel. Loads of restuarants there for everyones taste and budget. Or go to Portimao and eat grilled sardines in one of the restaurants next to the Rio Arcada.

Back to the hotel. The pool is amazing, especially after a hot day at the beach. My partner also used some of the Spa services, which were actually cheaper then offered locally where we live. She was really pleased with the service provided and again superb staff. There are many more facilities at the hotel which we didn't use, such as the 3 golf courses, a childerens club, tennis, etc.

We love this resort and the staff, they really make you feel at home. Our stay was just wonderfull, the perfect relaxing break we needed. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

In the name of all the staff at LM Penina, thank you so much for your comments on tripadvisor!

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write your feedback about our hotel, especially being an SPG Guest with Platinum status. The rooms, the pool, beach club, spa and the friendly and helpful attitude of our staff were part of your experience, which we hope you will want to enjoy again very soon.

You have mentioned the surprise on your partner`s birthday, and we hope our small gesture helped to make that day a special and memorable occasion for both of you.

We will pass your comments to our teams here at the Hotel. Thanking you for your preference and looking forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    222
    130
    37
    10
See reviews for
139
229
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at this resort many times over the years and each year the standard has improved each time.staff where friendly and helpful.the grounds and pool area are immaculately maintained giving a very relaxed feeling.standard of food is of a high quality especially in the grill restaurant .golf and tennis a must.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Spongebob1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for being a frequent visitor of LM Penina over the years, and for having shared your most enjoyable holiday experience in tripadvisor.

It is most rewarding to read your positive remarks on the good conditions of grounds and pool area, the standard of food, especially in Le Grill, the facilities such as tennis and golf, and on the friendly and helpful staff.

Thank you so much for your preference, and we hope to greet you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Arrived. Reception/lobby area not clean. Poor reception service. Standard rooms are very small. Hotel took reservation from agent for four people (two adults, two children) in a standard room!

Food expensive. Not high quality at all. Children's selection uninspiring. Chips and sandwich no salad, vegetables etc.

Internet expensive and not even wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londontripman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Further to your review on tripadvisor, which we have thoroughly analyzed, we are very sorry to learn that you were not entirely pleased with your visit to our resort in this occasion.

We would like to clarify that we do have free wifi in all the public areas, restaurants, terrace, gardens and swimming pool area. In the rooms, we currently have wired internet for a fee, and we are currently working on a project to extend the wifi to the entire building.

Some of your remarks were somewhat surprising for us, because we receive many good comments on the cleanliness, quality of food, and Le Méridien Penina has one of the highest Guest Satisfaction level among Le Méridien Brand.

Our main objective is the full satisfaction of our guests, and we would like to address you in private, not only regarding this stay but also having in mind your satisfaction in future visits, and kindly ask you to contact us at: guest.penina@lemeridien.com.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Second visit. Last one was 10 years ago. Was good then and is good now. Service is really very, very good and the rooms, we were upgraded to a Suite from a Junior Suite, are excellent. They get it all right. Comfortable beds with goose feather duvets, soft pillows and good shower with a second bathroom - just right for husband! Staff go out of their way to help and the breakfasts are lovely too. Try Room 315 - is good!

Room Tip: Suites are good overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We read your review and are most pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Penina, for the second time, and 10 years after the first visit.

Sometimes, it can be disappointing when we visit a hotel or a town after some time, and we are very happy to know that you had another good experience, not only because of the rooms, but also due to the good service, quality of breakfast and the attentive attitude of our staff.

We hope to see you again very soon at our Resort!

Kind regards,
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Our fourth annual golf trip to Penina, and we weren't disappointed. In fact, we thought it was the best yet.

We upgraded to a pool view this time, and it was worth the extra money because the view was fantastic! I can only imagine how great it must be to be in a studio or suite!

The hotel was in great condition, the rooms are spatious and well looked after. The balcony is a great size for sitting out on. The golf course was in particularly good condition this year. A test for all abilities, and to my mind one of the best I have played in Portugal. The pool area is great. The shuttle bus to Alvor beach is great, and the hotel has its own part of the beach with free loungers, towels, etc.

Breakfast was super - loads of choice and everything fresh.

Went onto Alvor for evening meals (which is heartily recommended) so didn't have dinner at the hotel.

As ever the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful, especially the porters, locker room attendant, golf shop staff, and reception staff. The reservation staff were also very helpful in booking our break directly with the hotel.

Yes, it's more expensive than other hotels, but it's excellent quality and you get what you pay for. I like staying in top quality hotels, and this definitely fits the bill.

Highly recommended,

Room Tip: Pool view on a high floor is worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clearwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor further to your 4thy annual golf trip to Penina.

We have read with great satisfaction that you were most pleased with the hotel, facilities and golf course. Your kind comments on the courteous, friendly and helpful attitude of our staff were forwarded to the teams.

We are very grateful for your preference for Penina and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another challenging experience at our golf course!

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just returned from Penina on a golfing holiday with 15 others. We found the hotel and course up to our expectations of what a 5 star resort should be. Along with a top class course the good facilities and a very relaxed atmosphere made this a most enjoyable holiday. We also found the staff both polite and helpful which also added to our enjoyment. All in all I would definitely recommend Penina as a good place for a golfing holiday. Just one downside, the stupid system for paying tolls on the A22 which will cause huge problems in the high season and I am sure will cause the Algarve to lose a lot of repeat business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave9_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at our Resort, with a group of 15 golfers.

It is great to learn that the hotel and golf course were up to your expectations, since it is our main objective to provide enjoyable experiences.

Thank you so much for your preference and for recommending Penina as a good place for a golfing holiday! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Hopefully the toll payments for the A22 will soon be more flexible, and many of the rental car companies have already installed transponders, which makes the payment much easier.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Travelled with 2 young children (under 4) and spent several days in the kids club, which was excellent. It is the best club I have seen of the 4+5 star hotels I have been to. everything u could think of including bouncy castle, pool, toys galore, activities, sand pits, climbing frames, football pitch, bikes, etc. they cater for everything and staff were great (also lots of staff) We stayed with children as minimum age to be left was 3 but we had lovely days at the club as the kids loved it and cried when we left! (kids pool a bit chilly but fine once u get used to it and it was so hot anyway it was nice!) we also took kids in the adult pool which was warmer.

Hotel: awesome, really can't fault the hotel, staff are excellent, service excellent, grounds beautiful, and the pool; awesome!

I didn't play golf but friends husband did and said it was agood course.

Out room was a suite (sir Henry cotton suite) which comprised of 3 rooms including the living area and had 4 bathrooms and 3 balconies. View from balcony was right over the pool and could see golfers playing. It was lovely.

Breakfast, excellent, great selection and service. Food was very good.

I'd go back again happily as hotel suits couples, golfers, families equally. A really classy hotel with very friendly and professional staff.

Apparently the beach club was also very good (we didn't go as had the baby) but it was a free 20 min shuttle away.

We were all sad to leave, which considering our different interests and the children shows the hotels appeal.

Pool facing rooms recommended, and def get a balcony, although most don't get the sun unless u are top floor.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnakebab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review and see that you and your family had a great stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments about our hotel, Kid Club, restaurants and services.

It is very rewarding to read that the staff was friendly and professional and we have shared your comments to our teams. Our Kids Club supervisor was especially thrilled, and motivated.

We hope to greet you back soon!
Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
3.8 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing