We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This review is biased because I just love this place. This was our 4th visit, this time for five days and it was just perfect. Delicious food (especialy breakfast which is outstanding, in the garden), a beautiful pool, an excellent (and keenly priced) beauty salon and heaps of areas to run/walk, sit comfortably and read, surf the web (with their free wifi) and relax. We took the shuttle to the beach one day - which was just lovely - and ventured into Alvor (which we know well) a couple of times too, to sample something different and more lively. The restaurant options are adequate at the hotel - an excellent Italian, Sagres (the buffet) which is family friendly and the Grill, which is more upmarket. The only disappointment really was the Club restaurant but maybe we were unlucky. The boys (one big, one small) played some golf, including using the driving range, so everyone was happy really. We are already planning our next trip. It is exceptionally family friendly

Room Tip: Pool view a must. Mountain view don't have a balcony which is a disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Penina, and for your 4 visits. We are extremely happy to read your positive observations about our facilities and services, and it is most rewarding to learn that you are already planning your next visit.

We have shared your review with our teams, since they all did a good job in the different areas of our operation: Restaurants, Pool area, Beauty centre, Beach club and Golf course.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    222
    130
    37
    10
See reviews for
139
229
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is very comfortable! Standard room could have a little bit more space. The hotel is very clean , with good pool, pool area and grounds.The hotels location is not ideal as it is a little way to the beach. Free shuttle available only till September 30th as the beach club in Alvor is closing by this date.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having posted a review on tripadvisor, further to your recent visit to Penina, and for sharing your opinion on how comfortable our hotel was, and how pleased you were with the cleanliness, pool and grounds.

Our property is located only 4 km away from the beach, and many of our guests take the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel, and others prefer to drive when they have their own card, or rental car, since there are parking facilities near our beach concession. The shuttle is available from June to September, as our beach concession has the license to operate during the summer season.

We hope to greet you back next year for another most enjoyable summer holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good Service and very helpfull Staff; Big and clean pool;Breakfast on the average level; but considering the size of the room wasdefintely to small; that means the hotel is overprized.It´s a place, where golfers would come for a few days to a week to play an old traditional Golf course
with a very competent, friendly and helpfull Staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are not only a bit small they are definitely to small for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizi1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We have read your review and it was nice to see that you were pleased with our large and clean pool, the golf course, and the services provided by our staff, that you have described as competent, friendly and helpful.

The size of the room was not up to your expectations, and although our rooms have in general a similar size, some are more spacious, therefore we kindly ask you to contact us directly prior to your next visit, and we will do our utmost to allocate you a different room.

Looking forward to greeting you again in the near future,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and once again had a brilliant time. Bedrooms are an average size, comfy beds and lovely soft linen, - pillows on the soft size. Rooms were kept clean and bedding changed every other night. View was lovely from balcony, pool and golf course. The balcony has no light which is a shame if you want to sit out in the evening after daughter had gone to bed though we did more the floor lamp outside which was perfect!
Breakfast is very good and there is lots on offer - smoked salmon would of given it a five star!!
Pool is fantastic, very large and very clean. Lots of sun loungers and free towel service. Kids club was well organised which my 9 year old loved and made lots of new friends. Staff are really friendly and helpful, recognised lots of staff which means they hang onto them, this is good.
Restaurants have lovely menus and the food is really good, though is a bit on the pricey side, we went into Alvor a lot in the evenings and there is fantastic fish restaurants along the beach front which really should be sampled.
The free wifi in hotel is a bit sketchy, drops in and out which is a shame.
Cannot comment on the golf course as don't play but recommend mosquito spray as a lot of people were being bitten out there (not a problem in hotel though) the gym has been improved since my last visit, moved to a different location with more room and new equipment.
The grounds the hotel is set in is beautiful, it is quiet and peaceful here and I would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view - otherwise you overlook the car park. Move lamp outside at night if si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your review on tripadvisor, we would like to thank you for having stayed at our resort recently on your second visit, and for having shared this wonderful feedback.

We have noted with a feeling of “mission accomplished” your positive comments about the comfort of our beds, cleanliness of rooms, lovely views, fantastic pool, well organized kids club and friendliness of our staff.

Our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests (all ages) and it is great to learn that both you and your 9 year old had a good time. We appreciate also the fact that you have shared the details that were not perfect, and that could have made your stay even better.

We do hope to greet you back again soon for another visit, and hopefully your daughter will meet some of her new friends at the kids club next time, since many families return every year.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very nice & big hotel with a huge pool. Room was a bit small, friendly staff & food outlets could have been more varied and less expensive. Handy shuttle bus (short ride) to the beach with free sun beds, towels etc. the penguin kids club was awesome with several activities planned through out the day. The staff in there were very good & spent a lot of time with all the kids, they even had their own pool & bike track. An hour an a half from Faro but worth the journey. There are several nearby villages in Portimao, Alvor, Prai de rocha etc to visit for dinner & drinks with fairground rides, shops and water parks etc. an ideal family location......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfonseca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen our Resort for your family holiday!

We have read your review and it is a great pleasure to realize that overall you and your family were happy about the hotel, the facilities for our guests, and the entertainment and dining options in nearby villages.

Our team from the Penguin Club was extremely motivated, and they thank you enormously for having appreciated their dedication.

Looking forward to greeting you back soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Portugal for many years and find this part of the Algarve to be less hectic with the beach at Alvor, the best in the Algarve. Penina has been here for many years , a place, where golfers would come for a few days to a week to play an old traditional Golf course designed by Sir Henry Cotton. However, recently with some investment in the property, the hotel is full with families from England, Spain, Germany and France and there is a nice vibe to the place. Last night, we had visit the hotel and he was very good did sound like the King.

We were in a studio room and had a nice view of the pool and golf course. The only downside to the room, no light and table for sitting outside at night. The drinks and food are typical of this kind of quality hotel but there are several supermarkets in the area. Breakfast is worth getting up for and whether you want a full English or a freshly made omelette made in front of you by one of the chefs.

The staff in the hotel are very friendly and very accommodating. The pool is great and is large with a sufficient number of beds for the guests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted with your review on tripadvisor, and we thank you for having shared your honest feedback about your positive holiday experience with us.

Our hotel is still a place for golfers, but also, as you mention, a great hotel for families, especially because of our facilities and activities for kids at the Penguin Club. During Summer we have dedicated entertainment for families and children, and there is a good ambiance as you have described.

A Buffet breakfast is indeed a good way to start your day, and our Chef at the omelet station is at your service. The large pool makes many of our guests very happy, whilst others prefer taking the shuttle to the beach in Alvor, your favourite beach in the Algarve, and ours too!

Your comments about the friendliness of our staff were also most appreciated, and your review was shared with our teams.

Thank you so much for your preference, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The standard rooms are really small but recently renovated , bed and linen top noch. If you stay longer is not very pleasant as they are facing the main entrance and you don't have any view. Safety box was not working and there was no one to fix it.
Breakfast was really good. Overall was a pleasant stay but not a option if you want a beach resort, only for golf.

Room Tip: Book a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your review, we are happy to know that overall you had a pleasant stay.

We have noted that your stay was for one night, and we hope you had the opportunity of enjoying the hotel facilities. Although we are a golf hotel, we have an Olympic size swimming pool which is most appreciated by our guests, and from June to September we have a beach concession in Alvor, 4 km away, and a complimentary shuttle service. Non-Golfers are most welcome, and have plenty to do in the hotel and local area.

We regret the issue with the safe situation you have described, and if it was not possible to fix it in that evening, the following morning our maintenance team was informed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
3.8 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing