We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non Golfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Non Golfers”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We came here as 2 non golfers to sit by the pool and relax and that's exactly what we did. Service varied from excellent to poor especially at reception. Very pricey pool bar (can of coke 3.70 euro). Very clean but small rooms. Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

“Non Golfers” are most welcome at our Resort, and we are glad to learn that you visited Penina for a relaxing stay.

Many of our guests do not play golf, but enjoy the quiet atmosphere, the relaxing gardens, the huge pool, and the other hotel facilities. We usually receive good comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, and the services provided by our staff. We regret if in any occasion our reception did not perform with consistency.

We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    228
    132
    38
    10
See reviews for
145
236
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been coming to Penina annually for nearly 10 years.

A very beautiful hotel with tranquil garden setting. Fantastic pool and poolside area which even at peak time never feel crowded and very attentive poolside staff.

The bedrooms are not very spacious but have been recently refurbished. The bed and bed linen was very luxurious and inviting.

The breakfast setting, service and quality of food is perfect (we stayed at another supposedly 5* hotel in Vale da Lobo where it was way below par). Majority of staff have worked at Penina for years and are always welcoming and willing to help.

You get what you pay for and whilst eating/drinking within the hotel can seem pricey you have to remember it is a 5* establishment and Alvor (local town) is only 10 minutes car journey away where you can stock up on water/essentials and visit great local restaurants.

The golf set up is perfect. The range, putting practice areas and of course the beautiful Championship course are well maintained and we never tire of playing the main course which is always challenging. Laurenzo the pro is a fantastic teacher and my game really improved after one lesson.

Penina is our favourite hotel in Portugal. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the room go back to reception and they will do their best to assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great to come back to where golf began in Portugal. Wonderful courses, so mature now the spirit if Sir Henry Cotton lives on in the clubhouse and fairways.
Brilliant food and services, staff all really pleasant. Ladies loved the spa treatments.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This review is biased because I just love this place. This was our 4th visit, this time for five days and it was just perfect. Delicious food (especialy breakfast which is outstanding, in the garden), a beautiful pool, an excellent (and keenly priced) beauty salon and heaps of areas to run/walk, sit comfortably and read, surf the web (with their free wifi) and relax. We took the shuttle to the beach one day - which was just lovely - and ventured into Alvor (which we know well) a couple of times too, to sample something different and more lively. The restaurant options are adequate at the hotel - an excellent Italian, Sagres (the buffet) which is family friendly and the Grill, which is more upmarket. The only disappointment really was the Club restaurant but maybe we were unlucky. The boys (one big, one small) played some golf, including using the driving range, so everyone was happy really. We are already planning our next trip. It is exceptionally family friendly

Room Tip: Pool view a must. Mountain view don't have a balcony which is a disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Penina, and for your 4 visits. We are extremely happy to read your positive observations about our facilities and services, and it is most rewarding to learn that you are already planning your next visit.

We have shared your review with our teams, since they all did a good job in the different areas of our operation: Restaurants, Pool area, Beauty centre, Beach club and Golf course.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is very comfortable! Standard room could have a little bit more space. The hotel is very clean , with good pool, pool area and grounds.The hotels location is not ideal as it is a little way to the beach. Free shuttle available only till September 30th as the beach club in Alvor is closing by this date.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having posted a review on tripadvisor, further to your recent visit to Penina, and for sharing your opinion on how comfortable our hotel was, and how pleased you were with the cleanliness, pool and grounds.

Our property is located only 4 km away from the beach, and many of our guests take the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel, and others prefer to drive when they have their own card, or rental car, since there are parking facilities near our beach concession. The shuttle is available from June to September, as our beach concession has the license to operate during the summer season.

We hope to greet you back next year for another most enjoyable summer holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good Service and very helpfull Staff; Big and clean pool;Breakfast on the average level; but considering the size of the room wasdefintely to small; that means the hotel is overprized.It´s a place, where golfers would come for a few days to a week to play an old traditional Golf course
with a very competent, friendly and helpfull Staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are not only a bit small they are definitely to small for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizi1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We have read your review and it was nice to see that you were pleased with our large and clean pool, the golf course, and the services provided by our staff, that you have described as competent, friendly and helpful.

The size of the room was not up to your expectations, and although our rooms have in general a similar size, some are more spacious, therefore we kindly ask you to contact us directly prior to your next visit, and we will do our utmost to allocate you a different room.

Looking forward to greeting you again in the near future,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and once again had a brilliant time. Bedrooms are an average size, comfy beds and lovely soft linen, - pillows on the soft size. Rooms were kept clean and bedding changed every other night. View was lovely from balcony, pool and golf course. The balcony has no light which is a shame if you want to sit out in the evening after daughter had gone to bed though we did more the floor lamp outside which was perfect!
Breakfast is very good and there is lots on offer - smoked salmon would of given it a five star!!
Pool is fantastic, very large and very clean. Lots of sun loungers and free towel service. Kids club was well organised which my 9 year old loved and made lots of new friends. Staff are really friendly and helpful, recognised lots of staff which means they hang onto them, this is good.
Restaurants have lovely menus and the food is really good, though is a bit on the pricey side, we went into Alvor a lot in the evenings and there is fantastic fish restaurants along the beach front which really should be sampled.
The free wifi in hotel is a bit sketchy, drops in and out which is a shame.
Cannot comment on the golf course as don't play but recommend mosquito spray as a lot of people were being bitten out there (not a problem in hotel though) the gym has been improved since my last visit, moved to a different location with more room and new equipment.
The grounds the hotel is set in is beautiful, it is quiet and peaceful here and I would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view - otherwise you overlook the car park. Move lamp outside at night if si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your review on tripadvisor, we would like to thank you for having stayed at our resort recently on your second visit, and for having shared this wonderful feedback.

We have noted with a feeling of “mission accomplished” your positive comments about the comfort of our beds, cleanliness of rooms, lovely views, fantastic pool, well organized kids club and friendliness of our staff.

Our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests (all ages) and it is great to learn that both you and your 9 year old had a good time. We appreciate also the fact that you have shared the details that were not perfect, and that could have made your stay even better.

We do hope to greet you back again soon for another visit, and hopefully your daughter will meet some of her new friends at the kids club next time, since many families return every year.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
982 reviews
2.8 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
7.4 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing