We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best golf resort in the Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best golf resort in the Algarve”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second visit this year to Penina, it never fails to live up to our expectation, the staff are always welcoming and friendly and it is so nice that they keep the same staff year after year and they take great pride in their work.
Playing the golf course is a delight, the greens are really good and every hole is a different challenge and then on finishing having a welcome drink at the Henry Cotton is the end to a perfect round.
We eat at the Grill Room on our last night, the meal was the best we had eaten all holiday with a lovely choice of dishes and wine, what a lovely way to end our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithP342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We feel honoured when we read your review about our Resort: “Best golf resort in the Algarve”.

Thank you so much for having shared your positive experience on tripadvisor, and for having mentioned the details that contributed to a great stay: the golf, the restaurants, and the services provided by our staff.

We all look forward to greeting you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
PENINA GOLF RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    226
    131
    37
    10
See reviews for
141
235
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Travelled to hotel as part of a golf package. Excellent facilities and golf excellent.

Rooms are smallish but clean, probably the only thing that stops the hotel being a true 5* in my opinion.

Breakfast choice one of the best I have seen. Good choice of sandwiches/tapas in bar at lunchtime. Did not eat in hotel in the evening. Food and drink prices are excessive but as long as you are aware then it is your choice to pay them.

Pool area excellent. Golf course excellent and great service from the staff keeping bags, cleaning shoes etc.

Alvor 10 euros in a taxi with a wide choice of bars and restaurants to suit all.

Tip - Buy water for golf course in Alvor (.40 euro for litre bottle) - 2.60 euro for .25 litre in pro shop

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylemore186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

“Excellent” is a word you used a couple of times on your review, further to you recent stay at Penina Golf Resort, and we are most happy to realize that the golf, the breakfast, the pool area and the staff attentiveness were up to your expectations.

We would like to thank you for having shared your comments, and also for mentioning the details that could have been better, for example the size of the room which was allocated to you on this stay.

Thanking you once again for your feedback, we hope to greet you back soon. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal for any assistance or information.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We came here as 2 non golfers to sit by the pool and relax and that's exactly what we did. Service varied from excellent to poor especially at reception. Very pricey pool bar (can of coke 3.70 euro). Very clean but small rooms. Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

“Non Golfers” are most welcome at our Resort, and we are glad to learn that you visited Penina for a relaxing stay.

Many of our guests do not play golf, but enjoy the quiet atmosphere, the relaxing gardens, the huge pool, and the other hotel facilities. We usually receive good comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, and the services provided by our staff. We regret if in any occasion our reception did not perform with consistency.

We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been coming to Penina annually for nearly 10 years.

A very beautiful hotel with tranquil garden setting. Fantastic pool and poolside area which even at peak time never feel crowded and very attentive poolside staff.

The bedrooms are not very spacious but have been recently refurbished. The bed and bed linen was very luxurious and inviting.

The breakfast setting, service and quality of food is perfect (we stayed at another supposedly 5* hotel in Vale da Lobo where it was way below par). Majority of staff have worked at Penina for years and are always welcoming and willing to help.

You get what you pay for and whilst eating/drinking within the hotel can seem pricey you have to remember it is a 5* establishment and Alvor (local town) is only 10 minutes car journey away where you can stock up on water/essentials and visit great local restaurants.

The golf set up is perfect. The range, putting practice areas and of course the beautiful Championship course are well maintained and we never tire of playing the main course which is always challenging. Laurenzo the pro is a fantastic teacher and my game really improved after one lesson.

Penina is our favourite hotel in Portugal. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the room go back to reception and they will do their best to assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great to come back to where golf began in Portugal. Wonderful courses, so mature now the spirit if Sir Henry Cotton lives on in the clubhouse and fairways.
Brilliant food and services, staff all really pleasant. Ladies loved the spa treatments.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This review is biased because I just love this place. This was our 4th visit, this time for five days and it was just perfect. Delicious food (especialy breakfast which is outstanding, in the garden), a beautiful pool, an excellent (and keenly priced) beauty salon and heaps of areas to run/walk, sit comfortably and read, surf the web (with their free wifi) and relax. We took the shuttle to the beach one day - which was just lovely - and ventured into Alvor (which we know well) a couple of times too, to sample something different and more lively. The restaurant options are adequate at the hotel - an excellent Italian, Sagres (the buffet) which is family friendly and the Grill, which is more upmarket. The only disappointment really was the Club restaurant but maybe we were unlucky. The boys (one big, one small) played some golf, including using the driving range, so everyone was happy really. We are already planning our next trip. It is exceptionally family friendly

Room Tip: Pool view a must. Mountain view don't have a balcony which is a disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Penina, and for your 4 visits. We are extremely happy to read your positive observations about our facilities and services, and it is most rewarding to learn that you are already planning your next visit.

We have shared your review with our teams, since they all did a good job in the different areas of our operation: Restaurants, Pool area, Beauty centre, Beach club and Golf course.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is very comfortable! Standard room could have a little bit more space. The hotel is very clean , with good pool, pool area and grounds.The hotels location is not ideal as it is a little way to the beach. Free shuttle available only till September 30th as the beach club in Alvor is closing by this date.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having posted a review on tripadvisor, further to your recent visit to Penina, and for sharing your opinion on how comfortable our hotel was, and how pleased you were with the cleanliness, pool and grounds.

Our property is located only 4 km away from the beach, and many of our guests take the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel, and others prefer to drive when they have their own card, or rental car, since there are parking facilities near our beach concession. The shuttle is available from June to September, as our beach concession has the license to operate during the summer season.

We hope to greet you back next year for another most enjoyable summer holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,036 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
603 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing