We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf, good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on SEa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great golf, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Check in is a little long although you are offered a welcoming glass of port or orange juice.
We had a distant mountain view room which was north facing, so we did not get any sun, I would advise paying extra for a golf view room. Rooms are clean and you get a choice as to whether you wish for linen and towels to be changed daily. All staff seem attentive but not too friendly.
We booked a golf package which included breakfast and four dinners in a choice of two restaurants however, on certain days only one of these was open and fully booked leaving only the Clubhouse as a dining option. The clubhouse is ok for lunch but it is bar and not really suitable for evening dining unless you want to watch football. The food in the Grill and the Italian is good. Breakfast offers the largest display I have ever seen. The lady chef who cooks the eggs etc. looks very unhappy in her job!
Had lunch on the club patio a few times. Our friends ordered a portion of chips each. They came up................ two small dishes came up, about the same size a a McDonalds kids meal, 5e's EACH
Drinks are quite expensive here a 40cc lager costing 4.70e gin and tonic 7.90e but happy hour most evenings has a two for one option in the Monchique bar. Lager in Alvor can be had for 0.90e
The golf arrangements are very good, free bag and shoe storage.They also load up your trolley or buggy prior to your game.
Recommend the Cotton course, it's more difficult than it looks but the resort course is not very well maintained.
All in all would recommend this hotel for a golfing break.
Check my reviews of restaurants in Alvor which is approx a 10e taxi away.
Overall we would recommend and will almost certainly be returning.

Room Tip: If you like any sun on your balcony, choose a golf course facing room, NOT a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojaveLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review “Great golf, good hotel”, on tripadvisor. It is great to read that you were welcomed at Penina with a glass of Port wine, and orange juice. We believe it is the right way to start a holiday in Portugal!

We have thoroughly read your comments about our hotel, the facilities, restaurants and golf courses. Your observations were shared with our management team, as we consider that our guest’s feedback is an opportunity to praise and motivate the teams that are doing a good job, but also a valuable tool to help us fine tune some details of our operation.

You have kindly finalized by writing that you would recommend our hotel and you would certainly return. We hope you will keep your promise and look forward to welcoming you again at Penina.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    215
    128
    37
    10
See reviews for
138
223
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly, well serviced, quality accomodation in this 5 star hotel and golf resort. Stayed bed and breakfast with balconied well furnished comfortable room overlooking well manicured gardens. Buffet breakfasts offer wide variety of good quality fayre in light and aired restaurant. I have no hesitation in recommending the Penina.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Eborwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your review, and we thank you for having shared your positive experience on tripadvisor.

We appreciate to learn that you have no hesitation in recommending Penina, and we do hope to greet you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messines
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

For Valentines day we returned for a special event organised for the first time that day and it was surprising. A bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries was announced but the delicious cream came on top. Also we were offered the home made pastry with our coffee.
Later at night we enjoyed the welcome drink before dinner near the swimmingpool and had a nice menu with quality wine.
The beds were confortable as always and the pillows to dy for.
If there were not these (the same holland arrogants) noisy drunken? men passing the floor at 5:00 am ...
At the elevator is an appeal to be serene and silent but unfortunately not every one is able to read or educated.
The hotel changed from SPG to JWW but the staff is the same and we had the impression that they love their work more than before. They were already dynamic, helpfull and sympatic but maybe happy with the new head manager.
Every month (except summer months) is a wine and foodpairing event and we intend to take part again soon.
Drinks too expensive ? Now there is happy hour time !
Like most of the guest, we like to stay there overnight, even living only 30 minutes by car from there.
After a stressfull week, its fine to meet the staff, relax, have a good meal and a cloud to sleep.

Room Tip: A room at the left side vieuw garden to hear better the birds at dawn and sunset is in my opinion t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancineMessines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review and for choosing Penina once again. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed this stay with us and that we were able to create great memories that will remain in your hearts.

Your comments about the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff were shared with our teams, and we feel motivated to see that the attitude of our staff was noticed in such a positive way.

Regretfully you have experienced inconveniences caused by other guests, and we would like to assure you that this is not a repeated occurrence at Penina.

We hope you will return soon for another memorable dining experience. We take this opportunity to inform that our next Food & Wine pairing dinner will be on 28th March.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night with a round if golf included. The room was decent, ample for what we required. There is free Wifi in the bars, requires you to enter your room Buber and booking number. In your room you have to pay for the internet! Surprised to find out they don't have an indoor swimming pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dive_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having visited our Resort, and for your review “OK hotel”. Your positive comments about the hotel rooms have been really appreciated.

Indeed, Wifi is free in the Bars, but also in the business centre, lobby, terrace, gardens and outdoor swimming pool. With regards to our facilities, we have a great sauna in our Beauty Centre, but an indoor pool is one of our priority projects.

We hope you have enjoyed your round of golf, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire,england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed 30th Dec 2013 for 7 days....This was our 23rd (I think) trip to Penina over the past 20 years....how sad is that!!!! We had been informed that the ownership had changed in September 2013 so it was with a little trepidation that we arrived on 30th December....but our fears of major changes soon vanished when we were met by all our friends on the staff...who assured us that it was business as usual......I think that they also need reassurance from the new management that their jobs will be safe.......we have known many of them for 15 or 20 years and they are the best in the business..Sonia in Guest relations has been such a great help to us over the years and she is always on hand to assist with any minor issues.
The food is always of the highest standard, whether it is served outside the clubhouse, by the pool or in the Sagres and the grill room......drinks are a little expensive which is why the bar is not busy most evenings......a lot of guests eat out in Alvor on one or two occasions during their stay, and maybe they could be tempted into the bar on their return for a nightcap...especially the drivers!!
The golf is well organised and strictly managed to ensure a comfortable round for everyone, the championship course is a good test for low handicappers but comfortable for mid to high handicappers if you are prepared to "lay up" on certain holes and think your way round. The resort 9 holes across the road is generally much quieter and a pleasant walk round but there are 2 or 3 tough holes where being able to draw or fade the ball is a big advantage!!
Apres golf outside the clubhouse sitting in the sun is a joy....especially with a large beer and maybe a snack. If you want a change I recommend the newly rebuilt course at Palmares which has 27 holes...tip....play holes 1 to 18 (The alvor course)...it is fantastic with views to match...
Back to Penina..
The rooms are not large but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean....full marks to housekeeping......the rooms overlooking the pool and golf course are worth the extra money as they are in the sun all day... and the views from the balconies are lovely.
New Years Eve was a great success...there was a buffet to die for in the Sagres and an a la carte in the grill...and a large area in between for dancing later....it was a truly international evening with many Portugese families staying.
Over the years we have tried other golf resorts, Aphrodite Hills in Cyprus, Abama in Tenerife...but none of these compares with Penina. We are returning again in a few weeks and looking forward to it already....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to have you as our guests for the past 20 years, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at your “Portuguese home” for many years to come.

Thank you so much for your for having shared your experience on tripadvisor, giving other guests an overview about the restaurants, the food quality, the facilities, the golf and the sun shining on your balcony.

New Years Eve was indeed special at Penina, and we are already planning the events and program for next Christmas & New Year. It will be a great pleasure if you decide to join us again.

Thanking you once again, we will meet soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I visited here last week, and despite some variable weather, thoroughly enjoyed my stay, with one caveat.

The hotel really couldn't be faulted, and the staff were all extremely professional and helpful. The golf courses had suffered with the wet weather, and it is a slight concern that late in the day some bunkers hadn't been raked - if you've a championship course you need to do better than that.

Our final day was ruined for me by the arrogance and rudeness of some Dutch guests (they called themselves Iron Shirt). From the start where they teed off late, announced their groups wouldn't be letting anyone through irrespective of how slowly they played, to their ageing hippy organiser holding up his hand to demand silence on the tee, these guys were a disaster.

Following them, we were held up on every shot, taking two and a half hours to play the first seven holes! After that the rangers speeded them up, but the round still took five and three quarter hours - simply not acceptable (the following morning four of our group went round in four hours)

Will I go back to Penina? Yes, with one proviso: I will check out the Dutch group's website first, as I never want to be on a golf course again with such arrogant and inconsiderate people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitingbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen our resort for your golfing holidays, and for your plans to return again soon.

We appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our services, facilities and attentiveness of our staff, whom you have descried as extremely professional and helpful. Thanks!

On the other hand we are sorry to learn that you have experienced some slow play and less positive interaction with other golfers. This matter has already been discussed with our management team and golf department, and our rangers indeed have a crucial role is keeping the pace of game.

The sun is shining again, and our golf courses are benefiting from those favourable conditions. We look forward of greeting you at Penina again in the not too distant future,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Please note this is a review of the first two weeks in February, it will be a world away from the busy heart of summer.
We loved our stay here, hotel, staff and golf was fantastic. Better explain we are hight handicap players however we never felt out of our depth on the championship course as it's wide and forgiving. It can also be very difficult and challenging if you tried to beat it but that was far beyond our ability lol
We have never seen so many friendly faces in one hotel, they would do anything to help make your stay more enjoyable. The only bad point of our stay was the snobby and ignorant Norfolk couple who were members of the course and made it quite clear we as high handicap players should not be there lol We were just unlucky getting them, it didn't spoil our break and it certainly wasn't the hotels fault.
The resort course was very challenging and very long but so much quieter and very enjoyable as you could just stroll round at your own pace. It's 9 holes so if you fancy 18 go round again

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to escape our wet winter weather for a nice break, first class service, first class food and if you go for the sunny pool side a first class room. Nothing better than finishing a round then sitting on the balcony soaking up the hot winter sun. Try not to empty the mini bar on the first night lol

if you fancy a little change in the evening pop down to Alvor. It's a nice place with lots of seafood restaurants

Thanks everyone at the hotel, from the glass of port welcome to the golf staff setting up our clubs on the trolleys and buggies. We will return next year.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your comments, and smiled with satisfaction when we realized how much you have enjoyed your stay.

You have left wonderful comments about the services, facilities and friendliness of our staff, from the welcome drink on arrival to the attentive service at the golf department. The Resort Course was also designed by Sir Henry Cotton, and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed playing it.

You have mentioned Alvor, for a little change in the evening, and we also take this opportunity to mention that we now have Live Music every night in our Bar Monchique, and a daily selection of the freshest fishes at our restaurants.

On behalf of our team, thank you so much, and we look forward to greeting you again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
11.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing