We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is our first visit to Portugal for some considerable time so didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival our cases were taken out of the car, golf clubs sent to the pro shop and the car was parked by Carlo. What pleasant service!! The check in was fast, efficient and a welcome glass of Port or soft drink was very welcome.
The room, a deluxe one, overlooked the pool and golf course and it is well worth paying the extra for this.
The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom adequate.
The price of drinks and food are expensive and we felt that if these had been more reasonable we would have spent more time using the facilities instead of going out every night and seeking a local restaurant but that experience was good as we had some excellent food.
The breakfast offers a vast choice for every diet and enjoyed dining there every morning.
The staff are attentive without being overbearing and have time to chat to you without reducing the service to other guests. The hotel manager walks the floor and that is always goog to se in a hotel as the place runs like clockwork.
The two golf courses are challenging and well maintained. The weather left a lot to be desired but that did not spoil our enjoyment although we all dropped a few shots because of the wind a rain.
Would certainly recommend and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and course. The rooms at the back of the hotel, whilst overlooking the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakwoodclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great delight to acknowledge your review about our Hotel. Our team is most pleased to provide you with genuine Portuguese hospitality, and Carlos on arrival is indeed most attentive and professional.

We have read that this was your first visit to Portugal for some considerable time, and we feel proud that we have met your expectations, that you would recommend and you intend to return.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    215
    127
    37
    10
See reviews for
138
222
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We went here as a group playing golf for a week. The first impression of the hotel was not good. We went in and was asked to go outside and wait a quarter of an hour, we was served welcomedrinks. This was nice service, but when we went to check in our luggage except my suitcase was gone. Mine was left unnateinted in a room. We went to the room in case the luggage was there, no luggage... We went back, and the answer we got was that it was in the room... The people could have explained that the suitcases would be soon or later put in the room to keep of the frustration of where are they. Its easy to wonder what is happening when my suitcase is in the receptionarea but the others are gone. We found the last suitcase in the room later, and the golfbags in the proshop. If the hotelstaff explain whats going to happen with the luggage, the service wouldnt be misunderstood. The next thing is no info about the resturants and reservations in the room. It started with poor service in the bar by the reception. In the buffet the food was expensive and poor. They did most of the time mix up the different bills, people who didnt drink wine, had to pay for it. They did fix after much back and forth, but not to everyone satisfaction. In the grill resturant the service was excellent, they even when full of guests fix a table for use, a big plus. The food here was excellent. The service in the bar and buffetresturant did change with the staff. Dani in the bar was very servicemanded. The three waitress in the buffet under the brasillian show. 2 men and a lady with glasses, i have a picture but sadly not their names. This three was friendly and servicemanded. The rooms was nicely cleaned, a minus for the beds, 2 separet beds which was very hard. The colfcourses was nice to play, but a little worn out pavements. A big minus for the steep prices on energydrink (powerade) in the proshop, they took 5 euros per bottle. All over we did enjoy the time here, because of the small things like the 4 people who actually did to there job and was servicemanded. I am not sure if I want to revisit the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We have noted that you have visited Penina Hotel with a group for a week, and we thank you for having chosen our resort for your golfing holiday.

On arrival, we have invited your group to the terrace, where we have prepared a special welcome drink, as it was a beautiful day with wonderful Spring weather. We do have a luggage service, and our luggage attendants take the bags to the guestrooms, and take the Golfbags to a storage area in the Golf department.

Your positive note on the Golf Courses, the service and food quality at Le Grill, were shared with our teams. We have also noticed your compliments on the friendly service, especially the attentiveness provided by Dani.

Unfortunately the buffet was not entirely to your satisfaction, and we regret to learn that splitting the bill caused misunderstanding.

We had a daily contact with the group leaders, having received an overall positive feedback, and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to greet you back at Penina.

If we can be of any assistance in order to ensure that your next stay is a most enjoyable one, please contact us directly, at: penina@jjwhotels.com.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Having just got back from 3 days of great fun and enjoyment I wanted to show my delight at the facility's and hospitality.
Friend staff excellent rooms and great buffet breakfast was helped by perfect weather.
plenty of local harbours to enjoy amazing local fish and excellent steaks.
only complaint was £5 for a energy drink in the pro shop was a bit over the top.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your review “Golf resort heaven”, and we feel motivated to realize that you were happy with the Golf Courses, with the friendliness of our staff and the buffet breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not control the weather, but it is great to see that the weather was perfect and you were able to enjoy our usual spring temperatures.

Your comments about the costs of energy drinks was shared with our Golf department, as our guests` feedback is a most valuable help in order to understand not only their satisfaction but also what could be even better.

We hope we will have the pleasure to greet you again at Penina,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Whent for a golf weekend last week 14th march. Rooms clean,beads really comfortable, good service,great breakfast
Disappointed the pool was closed and the bar near the tenth hole as we were gasping for a drink of water or something
Course is fantastic
Take a trip to fishing village in Alvor for restaurants and bars 8 euros or priada da rocha 12 euros

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor, and for sharing your positive experience at our Resort, with regards to the Golf Course, the cleanliness, comfort of bed, service and quality of breakfast.

We are sorry to learn that you had difficulties in having a drink at the golf course, as we have a buggy bar that covers the area of the three golf courses. Although our pool gates were not open on some raining days, now that the weather has improved a lot, the pool is available and open every day.

“Golf course amazing” is indeed a most rewarding comment, and we hope that you will decide to enjoy it again soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have visited Penina several times over a long period and it has never disappointed. The ownership of this great hotel has changed , but the quality endures. Long serving staff ensure that everything runs smoothly. The food, especially the buffet breakfasts, is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxing. The pool-view rooms are worth paying for and a "happy hour" each evening ensured good value pre-prandial drinks. We will return.

Room Tip: Pool-view rooms worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epicurus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having regularly visited our Resort, and for your positive comments on tripadvisor about the hotel, staff, quality of food, and excellent breakfast.

Indeed, we have Happy Hour now in Bar Monchique, and a variety of gastronomic events, such as the wine pairing dinners at Le Grill, and themed Buffets with Live Music in Sagres Restaurant.

It will be a great please to greet you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

On a golfing trip as a four ball and stayed here for 5 nights.
Friendly staff, including reception.
Rooms a bit dated but fine
Breakfast good choice of both hot and cold
Plenty of choices for evening meals, ate in the grill one night and it was excellent, both variety, service and quality of food and wine.
Nightly entertainment with either singer or festival nights, happy hour in bar early evening.
This alongside a fantastic championship golf course that we never tired of playing makes this hotel a good choice.
Only downside which not within control of hotel is only pool is outside which makes it not suitable for maybe only 5 months of year, unless they could cover it in.
Good location as well only 10 euros in taxi to Alvor with its many restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRIAN782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your review and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort.

Good breakfast, variety of evening meals, quality of food, challenging golf and friendly staff were some of the ingredients of an enjoyable stay.

We appreciate the fact that you are sharing the positive experiences at Le Grill, and at Bar Monchique, which has been very lively with the happy hour and live music every evening.

Our team hopes to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great location for a golfing trip. The main course is challenging and well-maintained. The greens are good and the rest of the course in good condition. Plenty of water and ditches to catch the errant shots. However, it cannot be described as a memorable course - there are no signature holes. The 9 hole resort course is also challenging but suffers from clearly being second in line for investment of maintenance time and money. Although the greens are just as good as the main course the rest of it is scruffy and under-maintained with clover flourishing in the rough and a generally unkempt feel about it. I would recommend you only play it once.

The hotel is good with reasonably sized rooms and adequate bathroom facilities. There is a choice of restaurants. We, a group of golfers, ate in the buffet restaurant twice. The hotel is keen to keep such groups in the hotel for dinner and we had been offered a complimentary half bottle of wine each. There was an excellent amount of choice and the food was good. Breakfasts were in the same restaurant and offered an extensive choice that would satisfy the most picky of people. My one complaint would be that although the omelettes are cooked in front of you, the fried eggs are not - just left out on a plate. Each of the three days the eggs were at best lukewarm.
For a change from the hotel a visit to Alvor (12 euro trip by taxi) is worth it with an array of restaurants and bars to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wychdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

“Great location for a golfing trip” is indeed a good way to describe Penina! Thank you for having visited our Resort, and for having shared your experience.

We have 3 golf courses on property, at a walking distance, for all types of golfers, from beginners to experienced golfers. As far as the restaurants are concerned we do our utmost to provide variety as you have mentioned, and there is a choice of buffet, fine dining, Italian, snacks and light meals. The happy hour at Bar Monchique has been “applauded” by many of our guests.

We trust you will decide to return again soon, with your golfing group or as an individual traveler. For a short break we recommend contacting us to enquire about the hire of Golf Clubs, to avoid the charges by many of the airline companies.

We hope to greet you at Penina again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards from sunny Algarve(20ºC today)
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
11.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing