We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great golf break”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here in late April with friends on a golfing trip. Fabulous hotel and golf course and excellent breakfast. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. However there was only one thing we did complain about and that was in the bar during happy hour we had ordered a gin and a vodka and before we poured our mixers in we tasted the drinks and they were very watered down. I took my drink back to the bar and they poured me another which tasted much better. Just thought the management should be aware off this. This did not however spoil a wonderful trip and we are hoping to return next year.

Room Tip: View rooms offer a fabulous view over the pool and surrounding golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have chosen our Resort for a golfing holiday in April with your friends, and we have noted with satisfaction that you were pleased with the hotel, the staff, and the views from the room.

The situation you have experienced at the Bar has been shared with the management team, and we are glad to learn that the bar attendant immediately responded to your request.

Thanking you for sharing that this was a wonderful trip, we look forward to welcoming you back next year,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    226
    131
    37
    10
See reviews for
141
235
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Penina. We've stayed at this superb hotel several times and will return again and again. The staff are the hotel's greatest asset - they make you feel like an honoured guest and cannot do enough for you.

The Championship course is a jewel. Very tough. The Resort course is definitely worth playing for a change. It's a 9-hole course in very good condition. Much tighter than the Championship course. The Academy course is a par 3 training course and well worth a go. A couple of the holes would grace any course in the world with Island greens. Obviously, the green staff work hard to present all the courses in good condition.

The on-site restaurants are not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Great food and wines.

It was my birthday whilst we were there this time, and the hotel did me proud.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: If you want sun and heat, book into the side overlooking the Championship course. We prefer our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISB157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having posted your comments on tripadviasor, and for your great feedback about your repeated visits to Penina.

We have shared your motivating observations with our teams, since the general efforts of all our departments is what makes a difference. We are glad to learn that we made you feel welcome, and it is also great to see that we had the opportunity to contribute to an enjoyable birthday commemoration.

“Great Golf, great food and wines”, we hope you will decide to return soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Here for the last week in March on a golf holiday and it lived up to the reviews and our expectations.

If you want an all-in golf break, everything is laid on for the perfect week here. The Championship course was in very good condition, the greens very fast and true. The course itself is very flat, but the hazards are perfectly placed so as to make a good test for all levels. We also played the Resort course and this also has greens of a simililar ilk but is a little rougher around the edges in other parts, but still worth a go.

We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast is very good with plenty of choices. If you eat and drink in the hotel outside of your board basis, food and drink can be a little dear. We took a cab to Alvor most evenings where food is much cheaper and there is more to do.

Rooms are tidy and well maintained, with dily maid services.

Overall a very good resort and would recommend for golf trips.

Room Tip: Golf course views recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is for us a great proud to read your review “Great for an all in one place golf resort”, since you have summarized in just a few words that a golfer is able to find everything he needs within our Resort.

On our property you may find a choice of 3 golf courses, for the different levels of handicaps, and our golf facilities are at a walking distance from your room, or from the breakfast room.

We are glad to inform that there is no need to spend money on a taxi to Alvor, because we have now a Happy Hour in the Bar, and Live Music every night. A few changes have been implemented with regards to the dinner options and prices, starting from a light meal at the golfers bar, a buffet or a special evening with a meal at our fine dining restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another golfing holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent one night before moving into a local apartment.
Came back to play golf and had a number of very enjoyable lunches in the Henry Cotton Club - Eggs Benedict a particular favourite for us all.
Friendly staff in the restaurant and in the Golf Club. The golf course was in great condition - all helping to kick start my golfing year back in the UK. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Duck_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your candid review on tripadvisor, mentioning the great stay you recently enjoyed at Penina.

We were happy to learn that you were pleased with the Golf Course Conditions, which allowed you to prepare for the golfing year at home. It is most rewarding for us to read the staff was friendly and the meal experiences were satisfying, especially the eggs Benedict.

You wish you had a longer stay, and this can easily be arranged for your next visit. Either for a week or only a weekend, we would be delighted to greet you back.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is our first visit to Portugal for some considerable time so didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival our cases were taken out of the car, golf clubs sent to the pro shop and the car was parked by Carlo. What pleasant service!! The check in was fast, efficient and a welcome glass of Port or soft drink was very welcome.
The room, a deluxe one, overlooked the pool and golf course and it is well worth paying the extra for this.
The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom adequate.
The price of drinks and food are expensive and we felt that if these had been more reasonable we would have spent more time using the facilities instead of going out every night and seeking a local restaurant but that experience was good as we had some excellent food.
The breakfast offers a vast choice for every diet and enjoyed dining there every morning.
The staff are attentive without being overbearing and have time to chat to you without reducing the service to other guests. The hotel manager walks the floor and that is always goog to se in a hotel as the place runs like clockwork.
The two golf courses are challenging and well maintained. The weather left a lot to be desired but that did not spoil our enjoyment although we all dropped a few shots because of the wind a rain.
Would certainly recommend and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and course. The rooms at the back of the hotel, whilst overlooking the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakwoodclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great delight to acknowledge your review about our Hotel. Our team is most pleased to provide you with genuine Portuguese hospitality, and Carlos on arrival is indeed most attentive and professional.

We have read that this was your first visit to Portugal for some considerable time, and we feel proud that we have met your expectations, that you would recommend and you intend to return.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We went here as a group playing golf for a week. The first impression of the hotel was not good. We went in and was asked to go outside and wait a quarter of an hour, we was served welcomedrinks. This was nice service, but when we went to check in our luggage except my suitcase was gone. Mine was left unnateinted in a room. We went to the room in case the luggage was there, no luggage... We went back, and the answer we got was that it was in the room... The people could have explained that the suitcases would be soon or later put in the room to keep of the frustration of where are they. Its easy to wonder what is happening when my suitcase is in the receptionarea but the others are gone. We found the last suitcase in the room later, and the golfbags in the proshop. If the hotelstaff explain whats going to happen with the luggage, the service wouldnt be misunderstood. The next thing is no info about the resturants and reservations in the room. It started with poor service in the bar by the reception. In the buffet the food was expensive and poor. They did most of the time mix up the different bills, people who didnt drink wine, had to pay for it. They did fix after much back and forth, but not to everyone satisfaction. In the grill resturant the service was excellent, they even when full of guests fix a table for use, a big plus. The food here was excellent. The service in the bar and buffetresturant did change with the staff. Dani in the bar was very servicemanded. The three waitress in the buffet under the brasillian show. 2 men and a lady with glasses, i have a picture but sadly not their names. This three was friendly and servicemanded. The rooms was nicely cleaned, a minus for the beds, 2 separet beds which was very hard. The colfcourses was nice to play, but a little worn out pavements. A big minus for the steep prices on energydrink (powerade) in the proshop, they took 5 euros per bottle. All over we did enjoy the time here, because of the small things like the 4 people who actually did to there job and was servicemanded. I am not sure if I want to revisit the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We have noted that you have visited Penina Hotel with a group for a week, and we thank you for having chosen our resort for your golfing holiday.

On arrival, we have invited your group to the terrace, where we have prepared a special welcome drink, as it was a beautiful day with wonderful Spring weather. We do have a luggage service, and our luggage attendants take the bags to the guestrooms, and take the Golfbags to a storage area in the Golf department.

Your positive note on the Golf Courses, the service and food quality at Le Grill, were shared with our teams. We have also noticed your compliments on the friendly service, especially the attentiveness provided by Dani.

Unfortunately the buffet was not entirely to your satisfaction, and we regret to learn that splitting the bill caused misunderstanding.

We had a daily contact with the group leaders, having received an overall positive feedback, and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to greet you back at Penina.

If we can be of any assistance in order to ensure that your next stay is a most enjoyable one, please contact us directly, at: penina@jjwhotels.com.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Having just got back from 3 days of great fun and enjoyment I wanted to show my delight at the facility's and hospitality.
Friend staff excellent rooms and great buffet breakfast was helped by perfect weather.
plenty of local harbours to enjoy amazing local fish and excellent steaks.
only complaint was £5 for a energy drink in the pro shop was a bit over the top.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We read your review “Golf resort heaven”, and we feel motivated to realize that you were happy with the Golf Courses, with the friendliness of our staff and the buffet breakfast. Unfortunately, we do not control the weather, but it is great to see that the weather was perfect and you were able to enjoy our usual spring temperatures.

Your comments about the costs of energy drinks was shared with our Golf department, as our guests` feedback is a most valuable help in order to understand not only their satisfaction but also what could be even better.

We hope we will have the pleasure to greet you again at Penina,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
1.8 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,035 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing