We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just back from Penina,9th year in a row.
8 golfers,of a sort.
Hotel & course s up to usual high standard,great to see so many friendly faces still there after all this time.
Staff all very welcoming & friendly,really is a delight to return here.
Cannot fault anything about the resort,really is a tremendous break.
Many thanks to all the staff for making this a fab resort.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your candid review on tripadvisor, mentioning the “Superb Break” you recently enjoyed at Penina.

We are very grateful for your feedback, since you have experienced golfing holidays at Penina over the past years, 9th visit in a row. Your comments were shared with our teams.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just back from our 10th annual trip for a golfing weekend to Penina and it never ceases to amaze and impress with the standard of service from faithful, loyal, caring and customer-friendly staff amongst truly 5-star surroundings. Nothing is too much for the team at Penina, from front of house reception staff to the staff in the golf shop, not to mention the very professional and talented restaurant staff. Assistance with organising our 4 day trip was first-class and as ever, they always deliver. Needless to say, we will be back, same time, same place, in 2015! Truly 5-star!!!

Room Tip: We always pick the pool-view rooms which also overlook the amazing gardens and the 9th hole. the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We have noted with great pleasure your observations on tripadvisor, regarding your 10th annual stay at Penina.

It is gratifying to learn that you are pleased with the facilities and the services provided at our hotel, but it is mostly rewarding to read your praise about our staff. Thank you so much for your comments!

Having visited us 10 times over the years, we sincerely appreciate and value your feedback.

Thanking you once again, we look forward to greeting you back next year, same time, same place, in 2015.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We experienced a great value trip for 4 guys playing golf, the hotel is tired looking no investment for a long time the staff however were extremely pleasent & helpful, drinks in hotel expensive 7 drinks (brandy/scoth) €70 which is a bit over the top, breakfast more than adequate.
The Championship Course is brilliantly laid out but needs a bit of TLC the resort course is very poor both condition & interest.
All in all a great value trip for golf the surrounding area is a little disappointing, Quita de Largo has more going for it, après Golf
Wouldn't recommend for non golfers

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We have read your impressions about your recent stay at our Resort, which you have shared through Tripadvisor. Many thanks for your comments on the brilliant lay out of Sir Henry Cotton`s Championship Course and on the services and friendliness of our staff.

There are always details where we may improve, and we are constantly investing in different areas of our operation and decoration of the hotel.

It was a pleasure to learn that all in all you had a great trip, and we sincerely hope that you decide to return to our Resort. If we may provide any recommendation for après golf, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Never disappointed with a trip to Penina, hotel and course is top notch. 10 golfers travelling from UK, check in was super fast, ( this has been slow for past 2 years) we wondered if standards had slipped as the hotel had changed hands recently but if anything the service had just got better.

Course rangers are a little over zealous about moving the play on when there is really no need as course didn't see that busy as all groups including our own moved along nicely on all 3 days, they could probably do it with a bit more courtesy but nonetheless it is a minor comment.

Facilities are in best order, putting green and driving range are fantastic. Pool area great and well kept.

Third time in Penina, will we go again, without a doubt !!!!

Thank you. Penina and staff

Room Tip: Mountain view are fine, views of the course would be more interesting but we go there for golf and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Your review “Always on top form” has deserved our best attention, and makes us proud to read that your stay at Penina was up to your expectations as usual.

It is great to see that you were pleased not only with the Golf Course, but also with the putting green, driving range and pool area.

Our Rangers have a challenging task when the Championship Course is busy, but we are glad that you did not experience slow play and all groups moved along nicely.

Thanking you once again for your kind words about Penina, and our staff, we look forward to greeting you back for your 4th visit.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've just returned from a weekend break at this beautiful hotel. All staff were welcoming and attentive, the hotel was spotless and the gardens and surroundings were beautiful. We ate in the Italian restaurant overlooking the pool one night and had a gorgeous meal.
The beach area is also very well kept, sunbeds, shades and towels are all provided for guest use. No courtesy bus was in operation while we were there despite the weather being great for the beach so if you don't have a car it's a bit expensive at 10 euro per trip.
The only downside for me is that the hotel now seems to market itself to the lads golf package trips market evidenced by the '3 beers for 2' in the bar and the subsequent language and behaviour of some of the guests. We were woken at 2am by a loud argument between 2 'lads' in the next room accompanied by some disgusting language. It's not what I would expect from guests of a 5* hotel nor is it the Penina I remember.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank curioustraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to provide you with some relaxation moments.

Our Italian Restaurant L´Arlecchino, and the earlier opening of our Beach Concession and Beach restaurant Dunas were mentioned on your review and have also been praised by other guests recently. It is also a great joy to read your comments about the attentiveness and welcoming attitude of our staff.

Although it should not be the responsibility of the hotel to tell guests how to behave, we do not tolerate that the behavior or language of some persons causes inconveniences to other guests or staff members, and our security may be alerted to take action if necessary. However, we assure you that this is not a usual occurrence at our hotel.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to greet you back soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have just spent 3 nights at Penina for a golfing break with a friend. The hotel was better than I expected with rooms in good condition and excellent golfing facilities. This was my first golfing trip to Portugal so I don't have anything to compare it against, but I would be more than happy to return here again both for the quality of the hotel and the quality of the golf courses. The staff were extremely helpful from the very start to the very end of the trip and the breakfast buffet had a great selection. A minor point, but the experience could be improved by offering a better range of bar snacks later in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments about Penina and about this first golfing trip to Portugal.

We were most pleased to realize that our hotel and our golf courses were up to your expectations. Friendly staff and buffet breakfast were also ingredients of an enjoyable stay, which we also hope was the first of many.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break at Penina,where we have stayed many times and thoroughly enjoy our stay. The courses are superb, and accommodation is always very well kept.
The staff are all very nice and polite.
Our only slight complaint this time was when the porter stopped my wife as we were taking water into hotel for our room for tea and for golf. He gave her a card and said no food or water to be brought into hotel .He said it was hotel policy. My wife was a bit upset at his manner, as we met many people doing the same thing over the 5 days, and never saw anyone being pulled up for it.
we were told we could buy it in hotel ,which is very expensive!
We do love Penina and will return though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We read your review “relaxing golf break”, and we thank you for your preference for Penina over the years.

The accommodation, the golf courses and the services provided by our staff were to your satisfaction as usual, which makes us feel our mission of providing enjoyable holiday experiences is accomplished.

When food or beverage are brought from the outside, they are not transported or stored under the conditions required by law. The Food safety is a concern for every hotel, and our restaurants and bars are compliant with the Health & Safety HACCP requirements.

It is for us most rewarding to read that you love Penina, and that you are planning to return. If we can be of any assistance, to ensure that your next stay will be again a most enjoyable one, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
2.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
4.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 76 in Portimao
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
929 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: £89 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing